$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2015 Check-out: Apr 19, 2015

Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

2 stars
View map of 21 Second Street, Jersey City, NJ 07302

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Minivanman
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 20, 2012

Great location

Generally a good experience and a good value, The main negative was a noisy party next door that kept us up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

use the PATH for going to NYC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hihi
Business
atlanta, ga
May 20, 2012

newly renovated

awesome hotel but not sure for the value since i am from the south and the price seemed kind of high; but since right across the river from NY, it is probably reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

river boardwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scotch On Da Rocks
Business
Jersey City, NJ
May 7, 2012

Great for the price!

Staff was helpful. Rooms were clean. Location was perfect for NYC....just 15 mins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MrsW
Business
Laval, QC, Canada
Apr 16, 2012

Great location

This place was great. We were 4 in the room, which was essentially a small apartment. We had a full kitchen w/ a pull-out couch and separate bedroom. Even with 4 adults it didn't feel too crowded. Only steps from the PATH, we were downtown in a matter of minutes. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my closest friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex T
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Nice weekend hotel

This hotel was a great place to stay when visiting a nearby friend. I didn't spend much time there, but it was quiet and the staff was very helpful. Its also very close to the PATH train allowing you easy access to manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Dorians up the street is a very nice bar, good selection of beers and whiskeys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Insomniac
Business
Leicester
Mar 25, 2011

Recommended

The product would best suit relatively self-sufficient business and independent travelers looking for a well maintained, secure and quiet spot with quick and easy access to Manhattan, Hoboken, public transport links and Newark International. A good selling point is the 'normality' on offer; pleasant staff, no packs of loud guests in the corridors, short wait times for the lifts, and none of the 'tourist trap' nonsense you'll find at the large midtown Manhattan hotels. On the other hand, there is no grandeur, ceremony or sense of luxury - the room was well equipped, the stuff in in could have been quieter and newer, but everything was in order and there was no sense of being chiseled or duped. Comfort level was good. Sleep was easy. Space was sufficient for up to 2 people. Self-catering is very possible using the fully equipped kitchen area. I've stayed in bigger and better but when you open the door you won't think, 'What have I done now?'. So I liked the place and I'd recommend it with the caveats mentioned above (we're talking about a no service hotel otherwise on a par with a UK 3 star). What works best is the location. This part of Jersey City is virtually on the Hudson. Hundreds of millions of dollars have been poured into the redevelopment of that waterside, so your immediate environment is not just secure but actually quite enviable. You cross the road from the hotel to get to the new boardwalk, which gives you a postcard view of Manhattan. It is a whole minute to get to the LRT (tram); do go to Washington Street, Hoboken (it only takes 10 minutes to get to what in tourist terms is an unspoilt historic gem). 5 minutes along the boardwalk gets you to Exchange Place. The PATH train will have you at WTC soon thereafter. Or walk a couple more minutes to Paulus Hook ferry (unmissable) and make the tourist free ride up to 37th Street. You don't get these options if you're stuck in Times Square. I haven't mentioned Newport Mall (large and generic, 4 department stores and a big food court for all you hardened shoppers). That's a quick tram ride or a 10 minute walk. Grove Street is the close-by shopping neighbourhood with a good choice of independent stores and food. And downtown Jersey City is another lo-rise older neighbourhood that balances out time spent on 5th Avenue nicely. Is at all wonderful? No. The waterside scheme includes a mini mall, bars and restaurants, but only opens Monday to Friday. While a train journey from Newark airport is cheap and fairly quick, you have three transfers, and you're on your own pretty much tackling the tickets, route and local geography. It's about $39 for a cab against $15 on the train so 2 people should get the cab and save energy. The hotel is fine. The location is great. There are several new hotels in the area and I'd certainly recommend looking at these as well. Or call the Candlewood direct and haggle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grove Street, cafes, food, and an off-license to die for

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Dec 1, 2010

Just fine

The room was fine, with all the accoutrements of home. Some of the furniture was a little worn, and the hotplates gave off a strange odor when turned on, but otherwise my stay there went smoothly. I enjoyed the food area and the workout room. The staff was very nice, kindly, and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very near two light rail stations and the PATH to WTC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester NY
Nov 27, 2010

Average hotel

Pros: - close to two PATH train stations to NYC - close to NJ light transit trains - really nice staff - clean room - mini kitchen Cons: - room was not sound proof - the room was old, needed a few things fixed (eg. bathroom door was hard to shut)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

PATH train stations, the one south of the hotel takes you to the world trade center subway station, and the one north of the hotel can take you all the way to penn station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trvaveler
Business
Hartford, CT
Oct 18, 2010

Candlewood Suites, Jersey City

I enjoyed the ease of being near my conference, yet paying much less. Having a full kitchen enabled me to eat healthy and save money. This hotel is conveniently right on the light rail line and relatively close to Liberty Park. The staff are very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeetesh
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 2, 2010

Excellent for everything....

Very good hotel. Friendly staff. Great location. In hotel convenience store. Free parking and shuttle. 24 hrs staff. Bathroom wasn't so good I was expecting. Room furniture requires updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

close to Pavonia/new port and Exchange place PATH station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top