$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Knights Inn South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area

1 star
410 Route 46 West, I-80 Exit 64, S. Hackensack, NJ 07606
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
15 reviews
Good starting point

Breakfast ok, very friendly staff, good starting point for visits to New York. NJ Transit (often... See full review

  • Django Susi
  • Sep 19, 2013
ok

just for sleeping as i used it, was ok... nothing to complain about See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 4, 2013
North New Jersey hotel close to NYC attractions offers free Internet
Guests of the Super 8 Motel - South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area hotel enjoy a quiet suburban setting with quick and easy public transportation access to New York City and North New Jersey attractions. A short bus ride lands travelers in Midtown Manhattan. New Jersey attractions like the Garden State Plaza, Continental Arena and Meadowlands Sports Complex are each less than six miles away. Super 8 Motel - South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area hotel guests enjoy free wireless Internet access, a continental breakfast buffet and outdoor parking.
 
Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free SuperStart continental breakfast buffet and coffee
  • Prime location near shopping, restaurants and bus line to New York City
  • Free parking

 

Rooms
The Super 8 Motel - South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area hotel boasts extremely spacious guest rooms decorated traditionally with patterned bedspreads and warm color palettes. Each room features a 25-inch TV with extended cable channels and free HBO, hair dryer and clock radio. Local phone calls and high-speed wireless Internet access are included. Guests of the Super 8 Motel - South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area hotel seeking extra relaxation upgrade to a Jacuzzi suite.

 

Features
Guests of the Super 8 Motel - South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area hotel begin each morning with a complimentary SuperStart continental breakfast buffet and a cup of coffee, which also is available 24 hours a day. Ample outdoor parking is provided free for registered guests. Several affordable restaurants are located within walking distance of the Super 8 Motel - South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area hotel.
 
Transportation
  • LaGuardia Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.9 km)
  • JFK International Airport (26.8 mi/43.2 km)
  • NJ Transit train (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • NJ Transit bus (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • NJ Transit light rail (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • PATH train (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Amtrak station (13.9 mi/22.4 km)

 

Attractions
  • Continental Arena (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (4.9 mi/8 km)
  • Garden State Plaza (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Yankee Stadium (9.3 mi/14.9 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • Empire State Building (11.7 mi/18.9 km)
  • Times Square (11.7 mi/18.9 km)
  • Central Park (12.8 mi/20.5 km)
  • Coney Island (27.8 mi/44.8 km)

 

Business
Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access

Hotel Map

40.8559 -74.0472
Area description
Business district

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Knights Inn South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
2.9
Value:
2.5

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Knights Inn South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miami15
Miami
Dec 13, 2011

Never again

The website says it's close to Manhattan and the Giants/Jets football stadium but it's not close at all! And it's very complicated and it takes a lot of time to take a bus ride to go there. The staff wasn't able to answer my only question- how can i go back to NYC? In the neighbourhood there is a Subway and some other fast food and that's it (but the Subway staff was very friendly and helpful with my questions) It's good enough if you want to stay in Jersey and nothing to do, but if you want to see New York it's better to stay away from this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Knights Inn South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
caught out there
VA
Oct 8, 2012

is this a joke

smelly small unclean and not a family place, although it is a good location if traveling to NYC and the rates were very reasonable, it really wasn't worth it if one was with their wife and children

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Knights Inn South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ivana Fox
Business
St. Petersburg, FL
Nov 20, 2012

Rooms rented by the hour...

I am really not picky when it comes to hotels but this place was easily the most disgusting hotel I've ever stayed in. The floor outside of the bathroom was soaking wet, the molding was chewed up and falling apart, there was a hole in my door from rust having eaten completely through... And there was a sign at check-in with by the hour pricing. Eep! The staff were nice enough and the location was convenient for my trip (visiting hospitals in the Bronx and Paterson, NJ), but I would definitely pay more for a place that seemed a little cleaner and less skeevy next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cubby's BBQ restaurant is a couple of miles away. It's a well-known restaurant recently featured on NPR. The food was good but a bit expensive.

Review of Knights Inn South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mthiebold
madison,in
Oct 24, 2013

bad experience

hair dryer broken, bedding appeared unclean. heating/ac unit didn't work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Knights Inn South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K-vo
Grantham, PA
Apr 19, 2010

Not what I expected...

I was frustrated with several things about our stay. I typically don't complain, but I was so disappointed, that I think it is worth it for this experience. 1) The address given on the website does not differentiate that there is South Hackensack and Hackensack...but GPS' do. So, I could not find the location of the hotel. And when I called, twice, they could only give me one cross street...which, again, had to be entered as South Hackensack. It took an extra half hour of driving around, with a GPS and mapquest before we could find the hotel. 2) I realize that it was "near" New York, but it was still almost a half hour bus ride and the price was very high for the condition of the hotel. I was not pleased. 3) It says right on the website that there is transportation to and from the city via the bus for $3.10...the bus does not run on Saturday evenings. We had no way of knowing this and were stranded out in a cold NY night at 10:00pm and ended up having to catch another bus (after a 45 minute wait) and then still walk almost a mile back to the hotel. And the cost of the ticket is $3.40 each way. 4) It says breakfast is from 7:00-10:00. At 9:50, when we went down, it was all put away. The hotel personnel showed us where things were and told us we could "help ourselves", which we did...to a bagel...the only option. 5) They told us we could stay until noon to check-out and then at 11:45 they knocked on our door and told us to leave and then called us a few minutes before noon. There is no way that I would return to this hotel for the price that I paid. I would not have expected to pay more than half the price for the service and amenities we received, even in New York City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

You have to go into NYC to do much of anything. Make sure you know the bus schedule, it is not very consistent.

Review of Knights Inn South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DC_fireman
Maryland
May 27, 2010

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER

The room was not too bad for the price and the location, but the toilet was clogged and it did the worst experience I ever had with my family. The morning after I went to have my breakfast in the lounge it was awful, very small and bad looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Knights Inn South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gabriel
Winnipeg
Sep 5, 2011

Hotel destroyed by fire (as of September 3rd 2011)

After getting lost and trying to phone the hotel (the number was disconnected), we finally found the place. It looked decent for a Super 8, but when we got to the office, there was only an older man sleeping on the floor in front of the counter. He told us to go away, saying "no rooms" in broken English. DO NOT BOOK AT THIS HOTEL UNTIL THE FOLLOWING PROBLEM IS RESOLVED: We learned later from the couple running the Dunkin' Donuts across the street that the hotel had succumbed to extensive fire damage many months ago and was completely out of operation. Please, do your research before booking here. Call and confirm that it's been rebuilt. Our experience was awful, and we were left roomless for the night (absolutely everything else in New York and its area was booked solid on the Saturday of Labour Day weekend). I do acknowledge that this review might be outdated. Please note that my stay was supposed to be on September 3rd, 2011. NOTE: Orbitz was very gracious about it and didn't charge me a cent when I phoned them and informed them what happened. Great service from Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Knights Inn South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling man59
Business
Florida
Mar 9, 2014

Stay away.

Poor quality. Tv remote did not work. No towels in bathroom. No one seemed to care. To expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Knights Inn South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
prandj
Business
Virginia
Sep 21, 2012

good room for the money.

That room was clean, could do better with the continental breakfast. Door would not close right, so could not lock with dead bolt. Has a wendys next to the hotel. I thought that the light bulb for the sink area was bad, but turned out that I was not turning on the right light switch which I did not see. I called the front desk and maintenance came up very quickly. They provided free wifi. There is nothing fancy here, but if you want to save a few bucks for a clean room. Then this place would be a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Knights Inn South Hackensack NJ/NYC Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Dec 22, 2009

Super 8

Overall a good experience with the hotel, but I believe it is not the best hotel for someone visiting New York City. The location is not all that great and if you didnt drive the bus doesnt take you close and you have to walk at least a mile!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search