$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

3 stars
87, Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
38 reviews
Great place

We stayed the previous night of departing for cruise next morning from Bayonne New-Jersey. The is... See full review

  • YLMA
  • Dec 25, 2011
A wonderful trip

The hotel was spotless and the staff was very friendly. I couldn't have imagined a more relaxing... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 14, 2009
Newark airport/Jersey Gardens hotel with pool and free Internet

Sophisticated, sleek and full of thoughtful touches, Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth makes a Newark airport stopover a pleasure. New Jersey's largest outlet mall is within walking distance and Manhattan a short commute. The guest rooms here provide streamlined style and comfort with free high-speed Internet luxury bedding and spacious work desk. Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth also features an indoor pool and fitness center. Travelers take advantage boarding pass print station and weather/airport update board. A healthy-dining restaurant is on-site.

Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Unwind with Courtyard by Marriott's indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center
  • Free parking
  • On-site restaurant
Location

Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth is located just outside of Newark Liberty International Airport, within walking distance to Jersey Gardens and a short drive to Lower Manhattan. Nearby Newark and Jersey City feature worthy cultural attractions ranging from the New Jersey Performing Arts Center to Ellis Island and Liberty State Park.

Rooms

Guest rooms at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth bring a touch of elegant mod, with blonde-wood furniture and sleekly trimmed decor. Choose from smoke-free standard, double deluxe and junior suite rooms. All rooms include free high-speed Internet access, luxury bedding and cable TV with premium channels and pay-per-view movies. Catch up on work with an in-room work desk (plus ergonomic chair). Additional conveniences include voicemail, coffee-maker, hair-dryer and air conditioning.

Features

The hotel's state-of-the-art lobby offers inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, plus free Wi-Fi and a GoBoard which offers the latest news, weather and airport updates. Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth also offers coin operated laundry facilities, safe deposit boxes and valet dry cleaning services.

Dining

Courtyard features its signature The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., a healthy-choice American-cuisine restaurant serving breakfast, dinner and cocktails. The hotel also offers local restaurant dinner delivery. Nearby dining includes Ruby Tuesday's, Boulder Creek Steakhouse and Chili's Too.

Recreation

Courtyard by Marriott Newark provides guests with an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center.

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Newark Penn Station (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Attractions
  • Jersey Gardens (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Prudential Center (6.4 mi/10.4 km)
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (6.9 mi/11 km)
  • Newark Museum (6.9 mi/11 km)
  • Manhattan (14 mi/22.6 km)
  • Giants Stadium (14.9 mi/24 km)
Business
  • Business services available at front desk
  • Fax service (fees apply)
  • 4 meeting rooms for up to 38 guests

Hotel Map

40.6633 -74.1772
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
Newark, (EWR), 4.00, S, Mile; New York/JF Kennedy, (JFK), 40.00, W, Mile; New York/La Guardia, (LGA), 30.00, W, Mile
Area description
Airport, Location Type: Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrisburg, PA
May 11, 2009

Clean room, good location

I stayed there for two days with my wife and two girls (1, 4 yrs). The staff was nice. The room? That was perfect. It was very clean. Our room was one king bed with foldable couch and bed. Microwave and refi were not there, but you may use micro at the lobby level. As you know, this hotel is located at very near the Newark airport. Airplanes were taking-off every 2-3 minutes. It was really noisy at the outside of hotel. We had to close our ears. However, in the hotel room, the airplane-noise was almost (80% ?) gone. Also, this hotel is located not so far from New York City. That was around 2~30 minutes driving distance. Globally, I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Apr 10, 2011

good place

I just transfered there. So what I need was only easy to connect with the airport. I thought they did very good. They have free shuttle bus 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Jersey Garden Outlet Mall

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tedi Kat
Newark, NJ
Mar 15, 2010

Great Time's!!!!!!!!!

The Pool was great!!!!!To get a lil jump start for Spring.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Jersey Garden Mall is right across the street.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 25, 2008

location

The hotel itself was fine but the location was limited to a Ruby Tuesdays, a diner and room service for dining within walking distance. Also, there were no convenience stores closeby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Raleigh, NC
Sep 9, 2010

Nice hotel

Large clean room, TV was kind of small but nice. The bathroom was large and the bed was very comfortable. You are a short drive from the Airport and only 15 minutes from NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

NYC and airports are only a short drive!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rasheda
VA
Oct 4, 2011

Great Stay!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The only negative was that there wasn't a microwave or refrigerator in the room. The staff was fantastic and the hotel was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Jersey Gardens is a huge outlet mall within walking distance.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 14, 2009

Courtyard in Elizabeth

Rooms very clean despite construction at the premises. Advised front desk of no phone nor internet access 2 hrs after check in and was advised they would check it out. Advised front desk on second day of having same issue (no one checked advised of having checked issue before)and was assured it'd be taken care of. By the time I checked out, no one had come to resolve the issue.Left note with front desk of my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Jersey Gardens Mall

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit Mi
Jul 20, 2010

The service was not that good.

I think that the rooms were in good condition. The clean up was good,but the coffee pot was not cleaned after we used it. The thing that bothered me the most was that the bartender or waiter behind the counter was not friendly and claimed that he never had anthing that we tried to order. I observe him serve a person in front of me and then tell me that he was closed. He also stated that he didn't have any meat to make me a hamburger sandwich.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lakewood co
Oct 2, 2009

Marriott

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angel82
NJ
Jan 7, 2013

Great quality but expect to pay for extra things

Once I paid in advance I figured that was all. Expect to have them hold $20 per room even though in my situation it was $40 per room for some reason. When I mentioned it, they blamed my bank. Also, expect to pay $11 per car for overnight parking. The food there is extremely overpriced so I wouldn't advise eating here either. The other hotels next to this one offers the same quality without all the extra costs..I don't plan on staying here again. The hotel was great but all the extra price tags made my deal online pointless. Besides that, the staff was very nice but I just don't understand all the extra costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IHOP offered quick service plus it's a short distance away.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search