$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

3 stars
87, Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
67 reviews
Beautiful

It was great! The hotel and workers were great only thing is you had to pay for parking and no... See full review

  • Jade7
  • Mar 14, 2013
Great choice!!

I loved staying at this hotel.. Minus no vending machines and no free parking.. It was a great... See full review

  • Jade7
  • Mar 10, 2013
Newark airport/Jersey Gardens hotel with pool and free Internet

Sophisticated, sleek and full of thoughtful touches, Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth makes a Newark airport stopover a pleasure. New Jersey's largest outlet mall is within walking distance and Manhattan a short commute. The guest rooms here provide streamlined style and comfort with free high-speed Internet luxury bedding and spacious work desk. Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth also features an indoor pool and fitness center. Travelers take advantage boarding pass print station and weather/airport update board. A healthy-dining restaurant is on-site.

Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Unwind with Courtyard by Marriott's indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center
  • Free parking
  • On-site restaurant
Location

Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth is located just outside of Newark Liberty International Airport, within walking distance to Jersey Gardens and a short drive to Lower Manhattan. Nearby Newark and Jersey City feature worthy cultural attractions ranging from the New Jersey Performing Arts Center to Ellis Island and Liberty State Park.

Rooms

Guest rooms at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth bring a touch of elegant mod, with blonde-wood furniture and sleekly trimmed decor. Choose from smoke-free standard, double deluxe and junior suite rooms. All rooms include free high-speed Internet access, luxury bedding and cable TV with premium channels and pay-per-view movies. Catch up on work with an in-room work desk (plus ergonomic chair). Additional conveniences include voicemail, coffee-maker, hair-dryer and air conditioning.

Features

The hotel's state-of-the-art lobby offers inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, plus free Wi-Fi and a GoBoard which offers the latest news, weather and airport updates. Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth also offers coin operated laundry facilities, safe deposit boxes and valet dry cleaning services.

Dining

Courtyard features its signature The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., a healthy-choice American-cuisine restaurant serving breakfast, dinner and cocktails. The hotel also offers local restaurant dinner delivery. Nearby dining includes Ruby Tuesday's, Boulder Creek Steakhouse and Chili's Too.

Recreation

Courtyard by Marriott Newark provides guests with an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center.

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Newark Penn Station (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Attractions
  • Jersey Gardens (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Prudential Center (6.4 mi/10.4 km)
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (6.9 mi/11 km)
  • Newark Museum (6.9 mi/11 km)
  • Manhattan (14 mi/22.6 km)
  • Giants Stadium (14.9 mi/24 km)
Business
  • Business services available at front desk
  • Fax service (fees apply)
  • 4 meeting rooms for up to 38 guests

Hotel Map

40.6633 -74.1772
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
Newark, (EWR), 4.00, S, Mile; New York/JF Kennedy, (JFK), 40.00, W, Mile; New York/La Guardia, (LGA), 30.00, W, Mile
Area description
Airport, Location Type: Airport

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gobegee
New Castle County, DE
May 12, 2009

Convenient Location

We only used the hotel for one night, as I had a college reunion during the day at Kean University. It was very trafficky near the hotel, as it's right next to the airport and a large outlet mall, but that's to be expected. The staff was very friendly. I'm afraid we didn't avail ourselves of the hotel's amenities, except for the parking. We drove to Elizabeth's NJ Transit station to go into NYC for dinner and it was very convenient. There was a stained sash on the bedspread, but we pulled that off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the Elizabeth NJ Transit station, instead of Newark Penn or the Newark Liberty International Airport, if you're going into Manhattan.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jade7
Elizabeth, nj/ airport area
Mar 14, 2013

Beautiful

It was great! The hotel and workers were great only thing is you had to pay for parking and no vending machine but nice clean and great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Big mall across street

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jade7
Elizabeth, nj/ airport area
Mar 10, 2013

Great choice!!

I loved staying at this hotel.. Minus no vending machines and no free parking.. It was a great stay!' Clean, warm staff and very comfortable! Would love to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great area if you would like to shop!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dimor and eframope
Florida and New Jersey
Dec 12, 2010

fantastic family gateway

everything was fantastic except the bilingual personal for spanish guesses. Also should be place spanish book of Mormon at the rooms for that kind of guesses. because was the las floor the room had water leak after har raining wheather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very good location.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 25, 2008

location

The hotel itself was fine but the location was limited to a Ruby Tuesdays, a diner and room service for dining within walking distance. Also, there were no convenience stores closeby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrisburg, PA
May 11, 2009

Clean room, good location

I stayed there for two days with my wife and two girls (1, 4 yrs). The staff was nice. The room? That was perfect. It was very clean. Our room was one king bed with foldable couch and bed. Microwave and refi were not there, but you may use micro at the lobby level. As you know, this hotel is located at very near the Newark airport. Airplanes were taking-off every 2-3 minutes. It was really noisy at the outside of hotel. We had to close our ears. However, in the hotel room, the airplane-noise was almost (80% ?) gone. Also, this hotel is located not so far from New York City. That was around 2~30 minutes driving distance. Globally, I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
isimplyr0q
Elizabeth, NJ, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Enjoyed The trip

The staff was very friendly and accomadating. I would definately come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The bistro is only open at certain times. So make sure you bring snacks!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrisburg, PA
May 11, 2009

Clean room, good location

I stayed there for two days with my wife and two girls (1, 4 yrs). The staff was nice. The room? That was perfect. It was very clean. Our room was one king bed with foldable couch and bed. Microwave and refi were not there, but you may use micro at the lobby level. As you know, this hotel is located at very near the Newark airport. Airplanes were taking-off every 2-3 minutes. It was really noisy at the outside of hotel. We had to close our ears. However, in the hotel room, the airplane-noise was almost (80% ?) gone. Also, this hotel is located not so far from New York City. That was around 2~30 minutes driving distance. Globally, I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Apr 10, 2011

good place

I just transfered there. So what I need was only easy to connect with the airport. I thought they did very good. They have free shuttle bus 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Jersey Garden Outlet Mall

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Farm HIlls, Michigan
May 12, 2009

Great staff!

The room was updated and very nice. The staff could not have been nicer. The restaurant breakfast was great (a bit pricey) but then the restaurant closed for the rest of the day. You can order in from local places - we would not recommend chinese!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top