$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 19, 2015 Check-out: Jun 20, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

3 stars
View map of 87, Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
May 11, 2009

Clean room, good location

I stayed there for two days with my wife and two girls (1, 4 yrs). The staff was nice. The room? That was perfect. It was very clean. Our room was one king bed with foldable couch and bed. Microwave and refi were not there, but you may use micro at the lobby level. As you know, this hotel is located at very near the Newark airport. Airplanes were taking-off every 2-3 minutes. It was really noisy at the outside of hotel. We had to close our ears. However, in the hotel room, the airplane-noise was almost (80% ?) gone. Also, this hotel is located not so far from New York City. That was around 2~30 minutes driving distance. Globally, I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gobegee
Business
New Castle County, DE
May 12, 2009

Convenient Location

We only used the hotel for one night, as I had a college reunion during the day at Kean University. It was very trafficky near the hotel, as it's right next to the airport and a large outlet mall, but that's to be expected. The staff was very friendly. I'm afraid we didn't avail ourselves of the hotel's amenities, except for the parking. We drove to Elizabeth's NJ Transit station to go into NYC for dinner and it was very convenient. There was a stained sash on the bedspread, but we pulled that off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the Elizabeth NJ Transit station, instead of Newark Penn or the Newark Liberty International Airport, if you're going into Manhattan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Farm HIlls, Michigan
May 12, 2009

Great staff!

The room was updated and very nice. The staff could not have been nicer. The restaurant breakfast was great (a bit pricey) but then the restaurant closed for the rest of the day. You can order in from local places - we would not recommend chinese!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 9, 2010

Nice hotel

Large clean room, TV was kind of small but nice. The bathroom was large and the bed was very comfortable. You are a short drive from the Airport and only 15 minutes from NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

NYC and airports are only a short drive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 25, 2008

location

The hotel itself was fine but the location was limited to a Ruby Tuesdays, a diner and room service for dining within walking distance. Also, there were no convenience stores closeby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Apr 10, 2011

good place

I just transfered there. So what I need was only easy to connect with the airport. I thought they did very good. They have free shuttle bus 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Jersey Garden Outlet Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dimor and eframope
Business
Florida and New Jersey
Dec 12, 2010

fantastic family gateway

everything was fantastic except the bilingual personal for spanish guesses. Also should be place spanish book of Mormon at the rooms for that kind of guesses. because was the las floor the room had water leak after har raining wheather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very good location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angel82
Business
NJ
Jan 7, 2013

Great quality but expect to pay for extra things

Once I paid in advance I figured that was all. Expect to have them hold $20 per room even though in my situation it was $40 per room for some reason. When I mentioned it, they blamed my bank. Also, expect to pay $11 per car for overnight parking. The food there is extremely overpriced so I wouldn't advise eating here either. The other hotels next to this one offers the same quality without all the extra costs..I don't plan on staying here again. The hotel was great but all the extra price tags made my deal online pointless. Besides that, the staff was very nice but I just don't understand all the extra costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IHOP offered quick service plus it's a short distance away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Double experience
Business
Milwaukee WI
Jan 14, 2013

2 nights review

We stayed on two nights. The location, food, and amenities are fine. The fitness room is on the small side, but the other elements are OK. On stay number one, the staff failed to deliver our wakeup call and we almost missed our flight. On stay number two a group of teens had apparently rented rooms and were quite noisy until 1 AM. When we called the front desk about midnight we were told the police were enroute. We did enjoy the bistro lounge (2 meals) and computer resources in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scott from dc
Business
washington dc
Jun 30, 2013

close to airport

the hotel was new or new feeling/looking. it was clean and the bed was comfortable. only real complaint was the $11 parking fee considering it is next to an outlet mall and the gate was up on both my visits to the parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top