$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

3 stars
View map of 87, Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
39 reviews
Great place

We stayed the previous night of departing for cruise next morning from Bayonne New-Jersey. The is... See full review

  • YLMA
  • Dec 25, 2011
A wonderful trip

The hotel was spotless and the staff was very friendly. I couldn't have imagined a more relaxing... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 14, 2009
Newark airport/Jersey Gardens hotel with pool and free Internet

Sophisticated, sleek and full of thoughtful touches, Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth makes a Newark airport stopover a pleasure. New Jersey's largest outlet mall is within walking distance and Manhattan a short commute. The guest rooms here provide streamlined style and comfort with free high-speed Internet luxury bedding and spacious work desk. Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth also features an indoor pool and fitness center. Travelers take advantage boarding pass print station and weather/airport update board. A healthy-dining restaurant is on-site.

Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Unwind with Courtyard by Marriott's indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center
  • Free parking
  • On-site restaurant
Location

Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth is located just outside of Newark Liberty International Airport, within walking distance to Jersey Gardens and a short drive to Lower Manhattan. Nearby Newark and Jersey City feature worthy cultural attractions ranging from the New Jersey Performing Arts Center to Ellis Island and Liberty State Park.

Rooms

Guest rooms at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth bring a touch of elegant mod, with blonde-wood furniture and sleekly trimmed decor. Choose from smoke-free standard, double deluxe and junior suite rooms. All rooms include free high-speed Internet access, luxury bedding and cable TV with premium channels and pay-per-view movies. Catch up on work with an in-room work desk (plus ergonomic chair). Additional conveniences include voicemail, coffee-maker, hair-dryer and air conditioning.

Features

The hotel's state-of-the-art lobby offers inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, plus free Wi-Fi and a GoBoard which offers the latest news, weather and airport updates. Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth also offers coin operated laundry facilities, safe deposit boxes and valet dry cleaning services.

Dining

Courtyard features its signature The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., a healthy-choice American-cuisine restaurant serving breakfast, dinner and cocktails. The hotel also offers local restaurant dinner delivery. Nearby dining includes Ruby Tuesday's, Boulder Creek Steakhouse and Chili's Too.

Recreation

Courtyard by Marriott Newark provides guests with an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center.

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Newark Penn Station (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Attractions
  • Jersey Gardens (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Prudential Center (6.4 mi/10.4 km)
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (6.9 mi/11 km)
  • Newark Museum (6.9 mi/11 km)
  • Manhattan (14 mi/22.6 km)
  • Giants Stadium (14.9 mi/24 km)
Business
  • Business services available at front desk
  • Fax service (fees apply)
  • 4 meeting rooms for up to 38 guests

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 39
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scott from dc
Business
washington dc
Jun 30, 2013

close to airport

the hotel was new or new feeling/looking. it was clean and the bed was comfortable. only real complaint was the $11 parking fee considering it is next to an outlet mall and the gate was up on both my visits to the parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Armando.a
Business
Brasil
Jan 23, 2012

Family trip

Good place to stay whem in Elizabeth, NJ. Close to Newark Liberty Aiport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Portuguese restaurant: Valencia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit Mi
Jul 20, 2010

The service was not that good.

I think that the rooms were in good condition. The clean up was good,but the coffee pot was not cleaned after we used it. The thing that bothered me the most was that the bartender or waiter behind the counter was not friendly and claimed that he never had anthing that we tried to order. I observe him serve a person in front of me and then tell me that he was closed. He also stated that he didn't have any meat to make me a hamburger sandwich.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tedi Kat
Business
Newark, NJ
Mar 15, 2010

Great Time's!!!!!!!!!

The Pool was great!!!!!To get a lil jump start for Spring.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Jersey Garden Mall is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hampton
Jun 14, 2009

good hotel

We went on a shopping spree and it was nice to have a place right across the street to recuperate. I stayed at the Country Inn and suites on a different occasion this is a much nicer hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Matsui
Business
Hagerstown, MD
May 25, 2009

need more training for staff

We opened door of room after we checked in,somebody was in the room already. We all surprised and this is dangerous. How they responsible if something happen,like steal,and murder.This could be very serious mistake.I can't trust them anymore. One more thing,there was'nt any soap in the room. We called front and house keeper several times and no one answer, so weleft massage but we got soap next morning.This was totally disappointing stay. I had bad experience at Marriott Bermuda as well. I hope they train their emplyee well,so that I will be able to stay at Marriott again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Farm HIlls, Michigan
May 12, 2009

Great staff!

The room was updated and very nice. The staff could not have been nicer. The restaurant breakfast was great (a bit pricey) but then the restaurant closed for the rest of the day. You can order in from local places - we would not recommend chinese!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
May 11, 2009

Clean room, good location

I stayed there for two days with my wife and two girls (1, 4 yrs). The staff was nice. The room? That was perfect. It was very clean. Our room was one king bed with foldable couch and bed. Microwave and refi were not there, but you may use micro at the lobby level. As you know, this hotel is located at very near the Newark airport. Airplanes were taking-off every 2-3 minutes. It was really noisy at the outside of hotel. We had to close our ears. However, in the hotel room, the airplane-noise was almost (80% ?) gone. Also, this hotel is located not so far from New York City. That was around 2~30 minutes driving distance. Globally, I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 1, 2008

immaculate & quiet

Hotel was great, next to outlet mall, close to airport and even w planes flying over us there was no sound that reached the room. Very clean very quiet I would definately reccommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

can take a nj transit to get to New York city w/o driving in, the front desk will give you a directions guide, but it is very very easy and convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 22, 2008

Very family friendly

Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth, Elizabeth, New Jersey from 6-19-2008 to 6-22-2008 was very comfortable, the room seemed much larger than most with a desk area and a table and two chairs. I liked the fact that the bathroom was separate from the vanity area and there was a sink but the counter was small. There was adequate space for hanging clothes and they provided two suitcase stands. The location was very good (we have a car) but we parked the car in a nearby garage to go to New York. It would be better if there is a shuttle to the train station. There were many restaurants very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If the kids likes hamburgers and chips, try the restaurants across the street. It's cheap and family-friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top