$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

3 stars
87, Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
67 reviews
Beautiful

It was great! The hotel and workers were great only thing is you had to pay for parking and no... See full review

  • Jade7
  • Mar 14, 2013
Great choice!!

I loved staying at this hotel.. Minus no vending machines and no free parking.. It was a great... See full review

  • Jade7
  • Mar 10, 2013
Newark airport/Jersey Gardens hotel with pool and free Internet

Sophisticated, sleek and full of thoughtful touches, Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth makes a Newark airport stopover a pleasure. New Jersey's largest outlet mall is within walking distance and Manhattan a short commute. The guest rooms here provide streamlined style and comfort with free high-speed Internet luxury bedding and spacious work desk. Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth also features an indoor pool and fitness center. Travelers take advantage boarding pass print station and weather/airport update board. A healthy-dining restaurant is on-site.

Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Unwind with Courtyard by Marriott's indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center
  • Free parking
  • On-site restaurant
Location

Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth is located just outside of Newark Liberty International Airport, within walking distance to Jersey Gardens and a short drive to Lower Manhattan. Nearby Newark and Jersey City feature worthy cultural attractions ranging from the New Jersey Performing Arts Center to Ellis Island and Liberty State Park.

Rooms

Guest rooms at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth bring a touch of elegant mod, with blonde-wood furniture and sleekly trimmed decor. Choose from smoke-free standard, double deluxe and junior suite rooms. All rooms include free high-speed Internet access, luxury bedding and cable TV with premium channels and pay-per-view movies. Catch up on work with an in-room work desk (plus ergonomic chair). Additional conveniences include voicemail, coffee-maker, hair-dryer and air conditioning.

Features

The hotel's state-of-the-art lobby offers inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, plus free Wi-Fi and a GoBoard which offers the latest news, weather and airport updates. Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth also offers coin operated laundry facilities, safe deposit boxes and valet dry cleaning services.

Dining

Courtyard features its signature The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., a healthy-choice American-cuisine restaurant serving breakfast, dinner and cocktails. The hotel also offers local restaurant dinner delivery. Nearby dining includes Ruby Tuesday's, Boulder Creek Steakhouse and Chili's Too.

Recreation

Courtyard by Marriott Newark provides guests with an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center.

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Newark Penn Station (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Attractions
  • Jersey Gardens (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Prudential Center (6.4 mi/10.4 km)
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (6.9 mi/11 km)
  • Newark Museum (6.9 mi/11 km)
  • Manhattan (14 mi/22.6 km)
  • Giants Stadium (14.9 mi/24 km)
Business
  • Business services available at front desk
  • Fax service (fees apply)
  • 4 meeting rooms for up to 38 guests

Hotel Map

40.6633 -74.1772
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
Newark, (EWR), 4.00, S, Mile; New York/JF Kennedy, (JFK), 40.00, W, Mile; New York/La Guardia, (LGA), 30.00, W, Mile
Area description
Airport, Location Type: Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittston, PA
Oct 4, 2008

Needs a better housekeeping staff!

Think you're safe staying at a Marriott? Think again! This place was god awful. Our shower was covered in black hair and the toilet needed to be cleaned. While checking in, a very well-heeled gentleman came to the front desk to complain that someone had defecated in his toilet and left it there while they were out for the day. It was an all-around unpleasant experience and next time, I'll just drive through the night to get home when landing at the Newark airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittston, PA
Oct 4, 2008

Needs a better housekeeping staff!

Think you're safe staying at a Marriott? Think again! This place was god awful. Our shower was covered in black hair and the toilet needed to be cleaned. While checking in, a very well-heeled gentleman came to the front desk to complain that someone had defecated in his toilet and left it there while they were out for the day. It was an all-around unpleasant experience and next time, I'll just drive through the night to get home when landing at the Newark airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gloucester, MA
Aug 14, 2010

Courtyeard Marriot Elizabeth, NJ

No Hot water. Machine noises heard in my room every couple of minutes 24 hour a day. Food is frozen prepackaged. Morning server at Rest was rude. No ink in Lobby printer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gloucester, MA
Aug 14, 2010

Courtyeard Marriot Elizabeth, NJ

No Hot water. Machine noises heard in my room every couple of minutes 24 hour a day. Food is frozen prepackaged. Morning server at Rest was rude. No ink in Lobby printer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WV3
DE
Sep 7, 2009

Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

The hotel was fine. The room was clean. No in room checkout via the television. Free in room internet service. The food selection in the immediate area is limited to a Ruby Tuesdays. There is no other option nearby. Breakfast at the hotel was limited, the bagels were stale, and the meal was very pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WV3
DE
Sep 7, 2009

Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

The hotel was fine. The room was clean. No in room checkout via the television. Free in room internet service. The food selection in the immediate area is limited to a Ruby Tuesdays. There is no other option nearby. Breakfast at the hotel was limited, the bagels were stale, and the meal was very pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Matsui
Hagerstown, MD
May 25, 2009

need more training for staff

We opened door of room after we checked in,somebody was in the room already. We all surprised and this is dangerous. How they responsible if something happen,like steal,and murder.This could be very serious mistake.I can't trust them anymore. One more thing,there was'nt any soap in the room. We called front and house keeper several times and no one answer, so weleft massage but we got soap next morning.This was totally disappointing stay. I had bad experience at Marriott Bermuda as well. I hope they train their emplyee well,so that I will be able to stay at Marriott again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Matsui
Hagerstown, MD
May 25, 2009

need more training for staff

We opened door of room after we checked in,somebody was in the room already. We all surprised and this is dangerous. How they responsible if something happen,like steal,and murder.This could be very serious mistake.I can't trust them anymore. One more thing,there was'nt any soap in the room. We called front and house keeper several times and no one answer, so weleft massage but we got soap next morning.This was totally disappointing stay. I had bad experience at Marriott Bermuda as well. I hope they train their emplyee well,so that I will be able to stay at Marriott again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 14, 2009

Courtyard in Elizabeth

Rooms very clean despite construction at the premises. Advised front desk of no phone nor internet access 2 hrs after check in and was advised they would check it out. Advised front desk on second day of having same issue (no one checked advised of having checked issue before)and was assured it'd be taken care of. By the time I checked out, no one had come to resolve the issue.Left note with front desk of my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Jersey Gardens Mall

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit Mi
Jul 20, 2010

The service was not that good.

I think that the rooms were in good condition. The clean up was good,but the coffee pot was not cleaned after we used it. The thing that bothered me the most was that the bartender or waiter behind the counter was not friendly and claimed that he never had anthing that we tried to order. I observe him serve a person in front of me and then tell me that he was closed. He also stated that he didn't have any meat to make me a hamburger sandwich.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top