$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

3 stars
87, Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
38 reviews
Great place

We stayed the previous night of departing for cruise next morning from Bayonne New-Jersey. The is... See full review

  • YLMA
  • Dec 25, 2011
A wonderful trip

The hotel was spotless and the staff was very friendly. I couldn't have imagined a more relaxing... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 14, 2009
Newark airport/Jersey Gardens hotel with pool and free Internet

Sophisticated, sleek and full of thoughtful touches, Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth makes a Newark airport stopover a pleasure. New Jersey's largest outlet mall is within walking distance and Manhattan a short commute. The guest rooms here provide streamlined style and comfort with free high-speed Internet luxury bedding and spacious work desk. Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth also features an indoor pool and fitness center. Travelers take advantage boarding pass print station and weather/airport update board. A healthy-dining restaurant is on-site.

Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Unwind with Courtyard by Marriott's indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center
  • Free parking
  • On-site restaurant
Location

Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth is located just outside of Newark Liberty International Airport, within walking distance to Jersey Gardens and a short drive to Lower Manhattan. Nearby Newark and Jersey City feature worthy cultural attractions ranging from the New Jersey Performing Arts Center to Ellis Island and Liberty State Park.

Rooms

Guest rooms at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth bring a touch of elegant mod, with blonde-wood furniture and sleekly trimmed decor. Choose from smoke-free standard, double deluxe and junior suite rooms. All rooms include free high-speed Internet access, luxury bedding and cable TV with premium channels and pay-per-view movies. Catch up on work with an in-room work desk (plus ergonomic chair). Additional conveniences include voicemail, coffee-maker, hair-dryer and air conditioning.

Features

The hotel's state-of-the-art lobby offers inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, plus free Wi-Fi and a GoBoard which offers the latest news, weather and airport updates. Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth also offers coin operated laundry facilities, safe deposit boxes and valet dry cleaning services.

Dining

Courtyard features its signature The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., a healthy-choice American-cuisine restaurant serving breakfast, dinner and cocktails. The hotel also offers local restaurant dinner delivery. Nearby dining includes Ruby Tuesday's, Boulder Creek Steakhouse and Chili's Too.

Recreation

Courtyard by Marriott Newark provides guests with an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center.

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Newark Penn Station (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Attractions
  • Jersey Gardens (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Prudential Center (6.4 mi/10.4 km)
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (6.9 mi/11 km)
  • Newark Museum (6.9 mi/11 km)
  • Manhattan (14 mi/22.6 km)
  • Giants Stadium (14.9 mi/24 km)
Business
  • Business services available at front desk
  • Fax service (fees apply)
  • 4 meeting rooms for up to 38 guests

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia, US
Jun 28, 2009

A great location

I like the location and the condition of the building, exterior and interior, but I was bothered by a noisy sound coming out of the AC unit. It was too loud until I couldn't sleep. But overall it was a good place to stay. I stayed in rm 200. I hope they can fix the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice mall located within walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Went from Maryland to Elizabeth, NJ
Jun 14, 2009

A wonderful trip

The hotel was spotless and the staff was very friendly. I couldn't have imagined a more relaxing trip. With the shuttle to the airport being so convenient (one every half hour) and a delicious restaurant, I found my trip to be quite enjoyable. The bed was very comfortable, the room was set up to make you feel as if you were at home and it even had a desk with cable internet in case you wanted to work (or if you want to simply relax, it has a huge television). For anyone wanting a nice stay in NJ, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to take a day trip to NYC, take the shuttle to the airport (about a 8 minute drive) and take the train to Penn Station (about a 25 minute trip). From there, take the subway to your destination. Though getting to NYC may take a little while, it is definitely worth the trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hampton
Jun 14, 2009

good hotel

We went on a shopping spree and it was nice to have a place right across the street to recuperate. I stayed at the Country Inn and suites on a different occasion this is a much nicer hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Levittown, PA
Jun 1, 2009

Overall decent stay

The hotel itself was clean and the rooms were spotless and roomy. However, the AC didn't work so the room remained pretty warm the whole night. You could hear the airplanes flying overhead pretty frequently since it's right near the airport. Other than that,it was a decent room for the price and the lobby had a nice bar and business area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Matsui
Business
Hagerstown, MD
May 25, 2009

need more training for staff

We opened door of room after we checked in,somebody was in the room already. We all surprised and this is dangerous. How they responsible if something happen,like steal,and murder.This could be very serious mistake.I can't trust them anymore. One more thing,there was'nt any soap in the room. We called front and house keeper several times and no one answer, so weleft massage but we got soap next morning.This was totally disappointing stay. I had bad experience at Marriott Bermuda as well. I hope they train their emplyee well,so that I will be able to stay at Marriott again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gobegee
Business
New Castle County, DE
May 12, 2009

Convenient Location

We only used the hotel for one night, as I had a college reunion during the day at Kean University. It was very trafficky near the hotel, as it's right next to the airport and a large outlet mall, but that's to be expected. The staff was very friendly. I'm afraid we didn't avail ourselves of the hotel's amenities, except for the parking. We drove to Elizabeth's NJ Transit station to go into NYC for dinner and it was very convenient. There was a stained sash on the bedspread, but we pulled that off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the Elizabeth NJ Transit station, instead of Newark Penn or the Newark Liberty International Airport, if you're going into Manhattan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Farm HIlls, Michigan
May 12, 2009

Great staff!

The room was updated and very nice. The staff could not have been nicer. The restaurant breakfast was great (a bit pricey) but then the restaurant closed for the rest of the day. You can order in from local places - we would not recommend chinese!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
May 11, 2009

Clean room, good location

I stayed there for two days with my wife and two girls (1, 4 yrs). The staff was nice. The room? That was perfect. It was very clean. Our room was one king bed with foldable couch and bed. Microwave and refi were not there, but you may use micro at the lobby level. As you know, this hotel is located at very near the Newark airport. Airplanes were taking-off every 2-3 minutes. It was really noisy at the outside of hotel. We had to close our ears. However, in the hotel room, the airplane-noise was almost (80% ?) gone. Also, this hotel is located not so far from New York City. That was around 2~30 minutes driving distance. Globally, I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 6, 2008

Great for business travel

The Marriott Courtyard Elizabeth is my preferred hotel near Newark Airport. It is within walking distance of the Jersey Gardens Outlet Mall which is great for shopping, with a very nice movie theatre and food court. Also within walking distance of the hotel is a Ruby Tuesday's restaurant which has a relaxing atmosphere. I especially like the free wireless internet at this hotel inside the room and in the lobby area. The breakfast buffet is a little over priced. I know I didn't eat $17.00 worth of breakfast. I would rather pay for something that I ordered than pay for a buffet of food that I don't really want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like bargains you love shopping at Jersey Gardens.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Elizabeth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Oct 5, 2008

Business trip

Although my stay at this hotel was very short, I was extremely satisified with the hotel. Located within walking distance of a outlet mall and resturants. The hotel also provided a shuttle service back and forth to the airport, which made getting back and forth to New York easy. The rooms were clean and the staff was extremely friendly. For me this stay was a home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an outlet mall within short walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top