$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
89 reviews
very convenient and clean

The staff was very accommodating, the room was clean. Could have used another chair or two in the... See full review

  • Norral
  • Aug 7, 2014
Not bad for a basic room

The bed was comfy, nice comfortable chairs in the room. Also had a balcony but not much of a view.... See full review

  • Tdlfl
  • Jul 14, 2014
Affordable New Jersey hotel offers free amenities close to NYC action
Equidistant from the Newark airport and Manhattan, the Howard Johnson Clifton NJ is an ideal choice for travelers seeking access to the sights and sounds of New York City and the convenience of staying near the airport. An IHOP on premises makes meal time a breeze, while property amenities like a shuttle services (fees apply), coin laundry facilities, a fitness center and complimentary wireless Internet add to the appeal. Mini-refrigerators and microwaves help guests of the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ feel at home.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Shuttle service to New York City and Newark airport (fees apply)
  • Refrigerators and microwaves in every guest room
  • On-site restaurant

 

Rooms
The guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ are decorated in traditional style with brightly colored, patterned carpeting and bedding. All rooms include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, as well as TVs with HBO and premium cable. Complimentary high-speed Internet access helps keep Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ guests connected to home and the office.

 

Features
Complimentary coffee and tea is available for a morning pick-me-up in the lobby, while hunger pangs are satisfied at the on-site International House of Pancakes restaurant. The Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ offers shuttle service to both Manhattan and the Newark airport (fees apply). Other conveniences include coin laundry facilities, a business center with two workstations and a fitness center. Newspapers in the lobby, high-speed Internet and outdoor parking round out the list of free amenities at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ.

 

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • JFK International Airport (30.1 mi/48.4 km)
  • NJ Transit bus (across the street)
  • NJ Transit train (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • NJ Transit light rail (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Amtrak station (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • PATH train (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to Manhattan and Newark airport (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (12.9 mi/20.8 km)
  • Times Square (13.1 mi/21 km)
  • Empire State Building (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Central Park (15.2 mi/24.4 km)
  • Yankee Stadium (20.3 mi/32.7 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center with two computer stations and printer
  • The Howard Johnson Clifton NJ's meeting room accommodates up to 50 guests

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jul 3, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Pool was empty, not water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey
Jul 2, 2009

Nice Hotel...

I stayed there only for one night, room was clean, it was very close to airport, Staff were helpful and friendly. I would definetly reccomend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
New England Road Warrior
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Jun 19, 2009

Distressed but clean

A reasonable bed with threadbare sheets. Decor is of the 1960's, dinged and damaged. Furniture and lighting need replacing. Electrical wiring is inadequate for the fridge, microwave and TV. Slider windows leak air and literally are kept closed with cellophane tape. Carpeting is stained. A reasonable location to stay for northern NJ.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

NJ is known for its Diners and there is the Tick Tock Diner within a 1/2 mile west. Large portions, good food, reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DocHartley
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Jun 16, 2009

Really not that bad

The price for this hotel was cheaper than most, which was why I chose it. The room was always clean. We had a problem with the TV and had to ask the front desk 3 time before they addressed the situation. Finally I went down there and politely asked them for a specific time frame for when it would be fixed, and within 10 minutes it was done! So if you have a problem, be direct with the people at the front desk and get a deadline for when issues will be addressed, otherwise they'll put you off! The back staircase had a leak in the ceiling that dripped when it rained. The wallpaper in the room had 3 patches on it where holes had been covered up with wallpaper patches. One of the patches was stapled. So, overall, it was an OK hotel. It was clean. But the service wasn't stellar. The hotel is starting to look a bit beaten up. But hey, the price was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HB
Business
757
Jun 15, 2009

Decent stay

We stayed here while we traveled back and forth from NYC. It was convienient for that. Right when you walk in, the h otel has a very odd/old smell. Every floor the smell changes for the better or worse. Our room had an odor of it's own. I wish the hotel would replace the carpet throughout the building. The bathrooms weren't that great to us, but they did the job. The first night one of us took a shower and it didnt drain the water at all. Woke up the next morning and it was still there. I called the front desk and the guy came up and swirled his hanger down there and the water went away. The tub did leak every time we took a shower. The room worked for the purpose but walk around with your socks on because when you look at the bottom of your socks you will see what you are walking on. I might stay there again if money was the issue again, but hopefully we find something a little better. The locks are the backdoor were like I've never seen. Even still, I didnt feel that safe with them. They need more secure doors. Lastly, the pool that we thought would be there was actually all dried up with green water at the deepest part. Good luck with swimming! Oh and one more thing, don't mind the cleaning people, they LOVE the stare at you. We did get towels whenever we wanted them though. We kept the DND on the door the whole time we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 10, 2009

reasonable

the staff didn't have information of room reservation after I presented a hard copy of my e-mail confirmation - and asking me if I had someting else to show my reservation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eislady
Business
Highland, New York
May 31, 2009

Great Value

We needed a place to stay after a wedding in the area and it was easy to find and offered the best price around. The room was very comfortable with all the amenities we wanted, very clean, and quiet. Plus a great restaurant to have breakfast right on the premises. I was very satisfied and would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Need another vacation.
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 31, 2009

The Getaway

It was as clean as it could be. The TV had poor reception. Thought the microwave didn't work until I noticed a switch the last day I was there labeled "Drop". Apparently that was the switch to activate the drop cord that the Microwave was plugged into. No real complaints, it was 4 walls, a bed, a TV, and a microfridge. Just not a home-like feeling at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Attleboro, MA
May 29, 2009

Convenient

When I travel, I don't want much, replenish the expendables I use, and if you take a towel, floor mat whatever, replace it. Every nightis an adventure here, will there be a bath mat? Did they replace the coffee I used? Face clothes? Hand towels? What did they forget today.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJ
Business
EAST LONGMEADOW, MA
May 19, 2009

GREAT LOCATION; EXCEPTIONALLY CLEAN ROOM

EXCELLENT LOCATION. ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN, AND CHECK-IN WAS FAST AND PROBLEM FREE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

PLENTY OF DINING OPTIONS WITHIN 2 MILE RADIUS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top