$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
View map of 680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Melonball and Trixie
Business
Akron, OH
Aug 17, 2009

Terrible

My girlfriend and I took a weekend trip to New York City and stayed at this hotel. The site says they have a shuttle to New York that is $10 one way or $15 round trip. This is not the case. While $15 round trip implies $15 will get you there and back, they actually mean $15 to return, so it's $25 round trip. Also, it doesn't run all day, and they're not very prompt. If you choose to stay here and need transportation to the city, look into the NJ Transit and ride a bus for $4 each way; it stops just down the road from the hotel. As for the hotel itself, it was dirty, with broken glass and cigarettes covering the concrete outside, a pool that was empty and filled with a tarp and cinder blocks, and towels randomly scattered on the floors of the hallways. However, the actual room was not bad. Last, we booked a smoking room and got a non-smoking. This didn't effect me, but my girlfriend smokes and would have prefered to be able to do it in the room. We went to the front desk and talked to the people about it and asked if we could switch, and rather than taking care of it as they should have, they told us we booked a non-smoking room and there was nothing that could be done about it that day (though they did offer to let us switch the next). We had our Orbitz itinerary printed which clearly said we booked a smoking room, showed two different members of the desk staff, and they both rudely told us we were wrong, even though the paper clearly showed we were not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Charley07
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jul 22, 2009

No offense but YUCK

My friend and I stayed here first on our road trip because it was cheaper to stay here instead of in New York City. Big mistake. The rooms were dark, they smelled terrible, and there were several cracks throughout the ceiling. There were very few restaurants around, other than the IHOP it connected to, and the shuttle to the city was expensive and confusing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kenosha wisconsin
Jul 20, 2009

what you would expect for the price

overall the hotel was not the worst that i've seen. the staff was nice, but had they all had thick accents, which made it difficult to understand them.the room itself was okay, the beds where comfortable to sleep in. the housekeeping only did the beds,and removed the garbage, but everything else was not cleaned.they could have done a better job cleaning.the hotel said it had a pool, but that was not the case. the water had been drained and a tarp covered it. it was not a pleasant view from the balcony of our hotel room.the hotel is near nyc ,but I dont suggest driving to nyc. the traffic is horrible. the staff informed us that we could schedule shuttle ride to the city or take the bus. the staff was helpful in providing information regarding our trip .we took the bus everyday, the hotel was near the bus stop and upon returning the bus would drop off two blocks away from the hotel. it worked out well in the end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the tick tock diner is very close to this hotel and there was very good food there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kenosha wisconsin
Jul 20, 2009

what you would expect for the price

overall the hotel was not the worst that i've seen. the staff was nice, but had they all had thick accents, which made it difficult to understand them.the room itself was okay, the beds where comfortable to sleep in. the housekeeping only did the beds,and removed the garbage, but everything else was not cleaned.they could have done a better job cleaning.the hotel said it had a pool, but that was not the case. the water had been drained and a tarp covered it. it was not a pleasant view from the balcony of our hotel room.the hotel is near nyc ,but I dont suggest driving to nyc. the traffic is horrible. the staff informed us that we could schedule shuttle ride to the city or take the bus. the staff was helpful in providing information regarding our trip .we took the bus everyday, the hotel was near the bus stop and upon returning the bus would drop off two blocks away from the hotel. it worked out well in the end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the tick tock diner is very close to this hotel and there was very good food there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cptsgirl2108
Business
PA
Jul 13, 2009

not what it stated

we were in town for a wedding and needed a place nearby to stay. we found this hotel online and decided to stay there bc it was near NYC and had a pool. it was july and its always really hot in this part of NJ at that time of the year. the pics online made it look great and nice so i booked it and we went. when we got there the rooms were shabby, the tv would shut off randomly while you were watching it, the shower had mold in it, and the closet door fell off in my sisters hand when she tried to open it to hang up our clothes. we decided since we had some time on saturday to head to the pool. got there and it wasnt even open. a black cover was half sunken into the empty filthy hole in the ground. very disappointing. another reason we chose the hotel was the free wifi as my fiance is stationed overseas and i take my laptop everywhere with me in case he calls on skype or emails. i logged on to their wifi but it wouldnt connect me to the internet and there was no paper in the room to give me the password the computer was demanding. i finally had to call the front desk and a man with a terrible accent gave me the password. later we asked for service to our room then went to the wedding. we came back over 6 hours later to find our room exactly how we left it with no clean towels or any service having been done. when we called for clean towels and more TP. we were brought only two towels and it took them 40 minutes to bring them. the service here wasnt that great and the rooms were very shabby. i would definitely NOT recommend this hotel to others staying in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IHOP is attached to the front of the hotel and the service was good and the food excellent!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple_with_the_travel_bug
Business
Chicago,IL
Jul 7, 2009

For the budget minded traveler

We only used this hotel to rest for the night during our NYC trip. Positives --- Very affordable, we got a better deal at Orbitz than on the hotel website. Convenient location for NYC. Room's very comfortably big, atleast ours was. Room had a fridge, microwave, A/C, TV, Cable , Wifi. Excellent choice for the budget conscious leisure traveler. The not so good stuff Even though the beds were made every day, I'm not sure they were thoroughly cleaned or vacuumed. Bed bugs possibly??? They charge extra for use of the in room safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

For the leisure traveler- New york city is just a short bus ($4.25 one way i think) or cab ride away. The bus stop is pretty close by, but do check for the correct bus #'s. Only 191 & 195, starting from the Port Authority, stop near HoJo (but do double check this)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbus oh
Jul 7, 2009

Good experience

-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Its very much close by new york. whoever want to save some money on hoteling

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate New York
Jul 5, 2009

Ho Jo franchise needs better management

We were looking for a cheap place to flop for the night and we got that. It was clean but in need remodeling and repairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo
Jul 4, 2009

good value, close to NYC

The rooms were very clean, and cleaned very nicely each day of our stay. Cleaning staff did not disturb the placement of our personal belongings. The outside doors in the rear and on the side of the building did not lock, though they should've. They had key-card access devices, but you just had to pull the handle and you're in. The pool was completely empty. No sign indicating why or when it may be back in service. Good location - 15 minutes to Times Square, NYC. Overall good, but the unlocked doors were more disturbing than the empty pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

NYC - 5 miles....Jersey Shore - 50ish miles....Meadowlands Sports and Racing Complex - 3 miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jul 3, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Pool was empty, not water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top