$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
View map of 680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo
Jul 4, 2009

good value, close to NYC

The rooms were very clean, and cleaned very nicely each day of our stay. Cleaning staff did not disturb the placement of our personal belongings. The outside doors in the rear and on the side of the building did not lock, though they should've. They had key-card access devices, but you just had to pull the handle and you're in. The pool was completely empty. No sign indicating why or when it may be back in service. Good location - 15 minutes to Times Square, NYC. Overall good, but the unlocked doors were more disturbing than the empty pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

NYC - 5 miles....Jersey Shore - 50ish miles....Meadowlands Sports and Racing Complex - 3 miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jul 3, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Pool was empty, not water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey
Jul 2, 2009

Nice Hotel...

I stayed there only for one night, room was clean, it was very close to airport, Staff were helpful and friendly. I would definetly reccomend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
New England Road Warrior
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Jun 19, 2009

Distressed but clean

A reasonable bed with threadbare sheets. Decor is of the 1960's, dinged and damaged. Furniture and lighting need replacing. Electrical wiring is inadequate for the fridge, microwave and TV. Slider windows leak air and literally are kept closed with cellophane tape. Carpeting is stained. A reasonable location to stay for northern NJ.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

NJ is known for its Diners and there is the Tick Tock Diner within a 1/2 mile west. Large portions, good food, reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DocHartley
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Jun 16, 2009

Really not that bad

The price for this hotel was cheaper than most, which was why I chose it. The room was always clean. We had a problem with the TV and had to ask the front desk 3 time before they addressed the situation. Finally I went down there and politely asked them for a specific time frame for when it would be fixed, and within 10 minutes it was done! So if you have a problem, be direct with the people at the front desk and get a deadline for when issues will be addressed, otherwise they'll put you off! The back staircase had a leak in the ceiling that dripped when it rained. The wallpaper in the room had 3 patches on it where holes had been covered up with wallpaper patches. One of the patches was stapled. So, overall, it was an OK hotel. It was clean. But the service wasn't stellar. The hotel is starting to look a bit beaten up. But hey, the price was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HB
Business
757
Jun 15, 2009

Decent stay

We stayed here while we traveled back and forth from NYC. It was convienient for that. Right when you walk in, the h otel has a very odd/old smell. Every floor the smell changes for the better or worse. Our room had an odor of it's own. I wish the hotel would replace the carpet throughout the building. The bathrooms weren't that great to us, but they did the job. The first night one of us took a shower and it didnt drain the water at all. Woke up the next morning and it was still there. I called the front desk and the guy came up and swirled his hanger down there and the water went away. The tub did leak every time we took a shower. The room worked for the purpose but walk around with your socks on because when you look at the bottom of your socks you will see what you are walking on. I might stay there again if money was the issue again, but hopefully we find something a little better. The locks are the backdoor were like I've never seen. Even still, I didnt feel that safe with them. They need more secure doors. Lastly, the pool that we thought would be there was actually all dried up with green water at the deepest part. Good luck with swimming! Oh and one more thing, don't mind the cleaning people, they LOVE the stare at you. We did get towels whenever we wanted them though. We kept the DND on the door the whole time we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 10, 2009

reasonable

the staff didn't have information of room reservation after I presented a hard copy of my e-mail confirmation - and asking me if I had someting else to show my reservation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eislady
Business
Highland, New York
May 31, 2009

Great Value

We needed a place to stay after a wedding in the area and it was easy to find and offered the best price around. The room was very comfortable with all the amenities we wanted, very clean, and quiet. Plus a great restaurant to have breakfast right on the premises. I was very satisfied and would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Need another vacation.
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 31, 2009

The Getaway

It was as clean as it could be. The TV had poor reception. Thought the microwave didn't work until I noticed a switch the last day I was there labeled "Drop". Apparently that was the switch to activate the drop cord that the Microwave was plugged into. No real complaints, it was 4 walls, a bed, a TV, and a microfridge. Just not a home-like feeling at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Attleboro, MA
May 29, 2009

Convenient

When I travel, I don't want much, replenish the expendables I use, and if you take a towel, floor mat whatever, replace it. Every nightis an adventure here, will there be a bath mat? Did they replace the coffee I used? Face clothes? Hand towels? What did they forget today.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top