$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
84 reviews
very convenient and clean

The staff was very accommodating, the room was clean. Could have used another chair or two in the... See full review

  • Norral
  • Aug 7, 2014
Not bad for a basic room

The bed was comfy, nice comfortable chairs in the room. Also had a balcony but not much of a view.... See full review

  • Tdlfl
  • Jul 14, 2014
Affordable New Jersey hotel offers free amenities close to NYC action
Equidistant from the Newark airport and Manhattan, the Howard Johnson Clifton NJ is an ideal choice for travelers seeking access to the sights and sounds of New York City and the convenience of staying near the airport. An IHOP on premises makes meal time a breeze, while property amenities like a shuttle services (fees apply), coin laundry facilities, a fitness center and complimentary wireless Internet add to the appeal. Mini-refrigerators and microwaves help guests of the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ feel at home.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Shuttle service to New York City and Newark airport (fees apply)
  • Refrigerators and microwaves in every guest room
  • On-site restaurant

 

Rooms
The guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ are decorated in traditional style with brightly colored, patterned carpeting and bedding. All rooms include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, as well as TVs with HBO and premium cable. Complimentary high-speed Internet access helps keep Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ guests connected to home and the office.

 

Features
Complimentary coffee and tea is available for a morning pick-me-up in the lobby, while hunger pangs are satisfied at the on-site International House of Pancakes restaurant. The Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ offers shuttle service to both Manhattan and the Newark airport (fees apply). Other conveniences include coin laundry facilities, a business center with two workstations and a fitness center. Newspapers in the lobby, high-speed Internet and outdoor parking round out the list of free amenities at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ.

 

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • JFK International Airport (30.1 mi/48.4 km)
  • NJ Transit bus (across the street)
  • NJ Transit train (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • NJ Transit light rail (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Amtrak station (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • PATH train (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to Manhattan and Newark airport (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (12.9 mi/20.8 km)
  • Times Square (13.1 mi/21 km)
  • Empire State Building (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Central Park (15.2 mi/24.4 km)
  • Yankee Stadium (20.3 mi/32.7 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center with two computer stations and printer
  • The Howard Johnson Clifton NJ's meeting room accommodates up to 50 guests

Hotel Map

40.8351 -74.1497
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Well traveled person
Lorton,VA
Dec 18, 2009

Worst experience at a hotel ever

Bathroom was not cleaned while we were at the hotel. There was construction going on in the hotel until 11:30 pm. I found a pill on the floor of my room. The dumpster was changed out at 12:00 am. The hotel had a strange smell throughout the building. The hotel is hidden behind trees as you go up route 3 and is difficult to see until the last minute. There was a lamp inside of the room that did not have a shade on it and there were also lamps that were unplugged. The elevators were very small and would move while the doors were open. The light switch for one of the lights was inside of the closet. The outside door that was supposed to only be used by guests with a key was broken, so it was unlocked at all times. There was a way to get to the IHOP through the hotel, however it was blocked by construction and we had to walk through the parking lot outside. There was also construction equipment and supplies stacked throughout the hotel, in the hallways and common areas. The coffee pot supplied in the room was not clean and a purple residue was all over the coffee supplies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The IHOP did offer military discounts. Best money saving advice do not stay at this hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr Rob
NJ
Dec 14, 2009

Sub-par

2 out of 4 lights in the room wouldnt turn on. Room itself was ok, bathroom clean. Hallways dirty and looked like they hadnt been vacuumed in months. Ice machine was broken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Dec 6, 2009

okay

okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
vestal,ny
Oct 11, 2009

concert room

not very well kept but great location!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mary3108
Annandale, Va
Sep 26, 2009

UNPLEASANT PLACE!

The hotel looked very old, dirty and the room was horrible, the bed, if you can call that thing bed, was broken, weavy, we couldn't slept that night. If you could affort something a little bit expensive do it. I will never return to this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Russia
Sep 7, 2009

It was pretty nice

It was very good place to spend two nights =)) Not far from New York if to take bus =) The room was big, and the place itself was very quiet On the whole, I liked it =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El gato
Clifton,nj
Aug 25, 2009

"Ok for last minute trip"

The room smelled, the door wouldn't lock when closed, but the staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Melonball and Trixie
Akron, OH
Aug 17, 2009

Terrible

My girlfriend and I took a weekend trip to New York City and stayed at this hotel. The site says they have a shuttle to New York that is $10 one way or $15 round trip. This is not the case. While $15 round trip implies $15 will get you there and back, they actually mean $15 to return, so it's $25 round trip. Also, it doesn't run all day, and they're not very prompt. If you choose to stay here and need transportation to the city, look into the NJ Transit and ride a bus for $4 each way; it stops just down the road from the hotel. As for the hotel itself, it was dirty, with broken glass and cigarettes covering the concrete outside, a pool that was empty and filled with a tarp and cinder blocks, and towels randomly scattered on the floors of the hallways. However, the actual room was not bad. Last, we booked a smoking room and got a non-smoking. This didn't effect me, but my girlfriend smokes and would have prefered to be able to do it in the room. We went to the front desk and talked to the people about it and asked if we could switch, and rather than taking care of it as they should have, they told us we booked a non-smoking room and there was nothing that could be done about it that day (though they did offer to let us switch the next). We had our Orbitz itinerary printed which clearly said we booked a smoking room, showed two different members of the desk staff, and they both rudely told us we were wrong, even though the paper clearly showed we were not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Charley07
Cincinnati, OH
Jul 22, 2009

No offense but YUCK

My friend and I stayed here first on our road trip because it was cheaper to stay here instead of in New York City. Big mistake. The rooms were dark, they smelled terrible, and there were several cracks throughout the ceiling. There were very few restaurants around, other than the IHOP it connected to, and the shuttle to the city was expensive and confusing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
kenosha wisconsin
Jul 20, 2009

what you would expect for the price

overall the hotel was not the worst that i've seen. the staff was nice, but had they all had thick accents, which made it difficult to understand them.the room itself was okay, the beds where comfortable to sleep in. the housekeeping only did the beds,and removed the garbage, but everything else was not cleaned.they could have done a better job cleaning.the hotel said it had a pool, but that was not the case. the water had been drained and a tarp covered it. it was not a pleasant view from the balcony of our hotel room.the hotel is near nyc ,but I dont suggest driving to nyc. the traffic is horrible. the staff informed us that we could schedule shuttle ride to the city or take the bus. the staff was helpful in providing information regarding our trip .we took the bus everyday, the hotel was near the bus stop and upon returning the bus would drop off two blocks away from the hotel. it worked out well in the end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the tick tock diner is very close to this hotel and there was very good food there!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search