$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
131 reviews
Not bad for a basic room

The bed was comfy, nice comfortable chairs in the room. Also had a balcony but not much of a view.... See full review

  • Tdlfl
  • Jul 14, 2014
a good room for a reasonable price

a good location, close to the city and surroundings See full review

  • judky
  • Jun 30, 2014
Affordable New Jersey hotel offers free amenities close to NYC action
Equidistant from the Newark airport and Manhattan, the Howard Johnson Clifton NJ is an ideal choice for travelers seeking access to the sights and sounds of New York City and the convenience of staying near the airport. An IHOP on premises makes meal time a breeze, while property amenities like a shuttle services (fees apply), coin laundry facilities, a fitness center and complimentary wireless Internet add to the appeal. Mini-refrigerators and microwaves help guests of the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ feel at home.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Shuttle service to New York City and Newark airport (fees apply)
  • Refrigerators and microwaves in every guest room
  • On-site restaurant

 

Rooms
The guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ are decorated in traditional style with brightly colored, patterned carpeting and bedding. All rooms include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, as well as TVs with HBO and premium cable. Complimentary high-speed Internet access helps keep Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ guests connected to home and the office.

 

Features
Complimentary coffee and tea is available for a morning pick-me-up in the lobby, while hunger pangs are satisfied at the on-site International House of Pancakes restaurant. The Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ offers shuttle service to both Manhattan and the Newark airport (fees apply). Other conveniences include coin laundry facilities, a business center with two workstations and a fitness center. Newspapers in the lobby, high-speed Internet and outdoor parking round out the list of free amenities at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ.

 

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • JFK International Airport (30.1 mi/48.4 km)
  • NJ Transit bus (across the street)
  • NJ Transit train (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • NJ Transit light rail (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Amtrak station (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • PATH train (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to Manhattan and Newark airport (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (12.9 mi/20.8 km)
  • Times Square (13.1 mi/21 km)
  • Empire State Building (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Central Park (15.2 mi/24.4 km)
  • Yankee Stadium (20.3 mi/32.7 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center with two computer stations and printer
  • The Howard Johnson Clifton NJ's meeting room accommodates up to 50 guests

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

40.8351 -74.1497
Area description
Downtown

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
QUEENS,NY
Nov 14, 2010

WAS CONVIENIENT AND CLOSE BY

WENT TO A MUSEUM,PARK AND SHOPPING,NOTHING WAS MISSING IN MY STAY BUT I DO SAY THEIR CARPETING NEED DEEP CLEANING. I ONLY THOUGHT THAT THE SERVICE I GOT ON THE [...] PHONE AND WHEN I ARRIVED THEIR WAS DIFFERENT IFO.FROM KING SIZE BED THEY PUT US IN A QUEEN SIZE BED....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
QUEENS,NY
Nov 14, 2010

WAS CONVIENIENT AND CLOSE BY

WENT TO A MUSEUM,PARK AND SHOPPING,NOTHING WAS MISSING IN MY STAY BUT I DO SAY THEIR CARPETING NEED DEEP CLEANING. I ONLY THOUGHT THAT THE SERVICE I GOT ON THE [...] PHONE AND WHEN I ARRIVED THEIR WAS DIFFERENT IFO.FROM KING SIZE BED THEY PUT US IN A QUEEN SIZE BED....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Sep 25, 2010

"ugly and smelly starts here"

Upon arrival in the hallway, the smell was overpowering! We should have left then. The air conditioner made such a noise that sleep would have been impossible, so, we requested a room change. The next room was better but, still unacceptable. To say that we were disappointed is an understatement. We will never stay at a Howard Johnson location again! Supposedly, the location was recently renovated....you could never tell that by what we saw!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Sep 25, 2010

"ugly and smelly starts here"

Upon arrival in the hallway, the smell was overpowering! We should have left then. The air conditioner made such a noise that sleep would have been impossible, so, we requested a room change. The next room was better but, still unacceptable. To say that we were disappointed is an understatement. We will never stay at a Howard Johnson location again! Supposedly, the location was recently renovated....you could never tell that by what we saw!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JA
NJ
Aug 23, 2010

Needs work.

Bed too soft, felt the springs. Room was NS but smelt musty. Hallways smell like smoke. Parking was not a problem, but we did not feel safe walking to and from our room. Area of town is fine but don't think we will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JA
NJ
Aug 23, 2010

Needs work.

Bed too soft, felt the springs. Room was NS but smelt musty. Hallways smell like smoke. Parking was not a problem, but we did not feel safe walking to and from our room. Area of town is fine but don't think we will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
g_saba[@]
miami, fl
Jul 28, 2010

BAD EXPERIENCE

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dave Drummer
Harrisburg, PA
May 23, 2010

Howard Johnson Clifton NJ

Room was uncomfortably warm. AC did not work properly. Road noise prevented us from opening the window to cool the room. TV did work. Not a great experience here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dave Drummer
Harrisburg, PA
May 23, 2010

Howard Johnson Clifton NJ

Room was uncomfortably warm. AC did not work properly. Road noise prevented us from opening the window to cool the room. TV did work. Not a great experience here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 19, 2010

Perfect Stay

My family had a great stay at this wonderful hotel. It is very well maintained, very clean, and seems to have been updated recently. The main attraction is the very close proximity to Manhattan. The Staff at the hotel were kind and helpful. If you are looking for an affordable stay near New York City then this hotel is the best choice. The facility was good; the location was perfect because that's where I needed to be. Worth the price which we spend. I had breakfast at IHOP restaurant which is in the hotel itself. Should stay here if you are looking at good price and comfortable hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top