$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
View map of 680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iteach10th
commack,ny
Aug 13, 2012

well worth it

We just needed an overnight hotel. Great location. We didn't need much. It was clean and comfortable.If you're looking for more it may not suit your needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
convoyeurs2006
Business
L'Épiphanie, QC, Canada
Oct 11, 2011

New york

Very ordinairy hotel, must be renoved and refresh with paint, the personal at lobby very ordinary,no smile, no good morning,only one towel,one washcloth we were supposed to have breakfast included but they said it was a mistake from ORBITZ

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roman
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Do not hope for anything

Do not hope for anything. Dirty rooms, dark colors in bed clothes and furniture to hide dirty, bugs (ants, mosquitoes) and RATS!!!!!! Never go to this hotel!! More

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Out of Iowa
Business
Des Moines, IA
Oct 5, 2011

Got what I paid for

Got a good deal on this room, but was not a great place to spend any time. I guess if you are going to spend all your time somewhere else, and don't care that the mattresses are lousy and covered with plastic, and faucet nearly falling off the tub. Could tell they had tried to update the rooms, so that was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Aug 8, 2011

Worse then I expected

Based on the other reviews I didn't expect much, but still booked this hotel hoping that there were some improvements and b/c it was fairly cheap. This hotel is in a nice location. Shopping, resturaunts, and a movie theater are all close by. The hotel was still being renovated when we stayed. We got a room that had already been renovated. The upgrades were nice: new bathroom tile & fixtures, new carpet & paint. For some reason they didn't replace the television. Ours was messed up the top 1/4 of the screen. Obviously the housekeepers don't clean very well. I felt bugs or fleas jumping on my legs near the balcony door. Although I couldn't see any, it kept me up half the night thinking they were in my bed. That, and the old air cond that wouldn't cool to the temp it was set to, the running toilet, & the mini fridge. There were crums all over the floor and they must not use bleach to wash the towels & sheets. After a long day in the city, we came back to find our door to our room was left cracked open. Thankfully we were in the last room down this little side hallway and nothing was missing. The only working ice machine I found was on the 2nd floor near the pool entrance (which was still closed). The internet wasn't working. We didn't even eat at the IHOP on site thinking it might be run by the same people and just as dirty & drove down the road to a different one. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Delawanna train station is about a mile away. Free parking. Takes about 30-60 min to get to Penn Station one way after a transfer at Seccaucus Junction. Check schedule online.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jul 20, 2011

Room was nice remodeling going on

This hotel is in a very good location close to NYC without the traffic. The adjoining IHOP was a great place for breakfast. The turn in to the Hotel was hard to see. The room was nice and comfortable. We had a great nights sleep with a great IHOP breakfast the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

IHOP was adjoined to Hotel and Shopping all arund the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jul 10, 2011

HoJo Inn, Clifton NJ

Home base while visiting friends and relatives. The hotel was made available to us for $88 a night, plus taxes, for one week. This is an expensive hotel for the area. Unfortunately it is also a cheap hotel. Pool...closed. Wireless connection. Advertised, but not operative...all week. Vaccumm. They had one, but did not use it in our room or in the halls. Ice machine...yes, but inoperative. Same story on the vending machine. Air conditioing...yes, in the rooms. The hallways were stifling. Elevator out of commission on day. With room on 4th floor, this was not a good thing. Breakfast...yes, in the IHop next door. High prices. I do not think we will stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wally Traveler
Business
Cranston, RI
May 19, 2011

Nice and peaceful

Nice to stay here, they have an ihops next door.. the wifi signal was weak for some reason but other than that it's a cool place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HR Manager
Business
Paterson, NJ
May 11, 2011

Extremely Disatisfied

Night manager was not willing to assist with problem arising in room after hours. Phone in room also did not work and there was no wake up call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donna from NJ
Business
Barrington, NJ
May 1, 2011

unreal

went to a 3 day concert. What was missing was the ability to check in with out problems. [...] Could not understand the people at the desk. It was not a very easy check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cranston, RI
Apr 24, 2011

Nice stay but no breakfast

This place is nice, i stayed here for 3 nights. The smell people keep mentioning is that 'Hindu' smell, its not bad it's just a cultural smell i guess. It stated they offer complimentary breakfast but they don't actually do that at this howard johnson. they do have a ihops next door.. They have a fitness room and parking. I ordered chinese food during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top