$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
View map of 680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
out of place traveler
Business
Spokane, Washington
Aug 28, 2013

Convenient location

The location of this hotel was great for our goal of shopping for setting up a new college student. Shopping was all close and easy to get to. Room was adequate and secured at all times. Shuttle to Times square was a perfect trip into the city and the cost less than using NJ Transit. Front counter staff ultra friendly and helpful. Lots of options for dining out that are all reasonably priced. Fridge and microwave hard to find in hotels in the area is a big plus. Overall I will most likely use this when I visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Smash burger and Tick Tock Diner are great. Shannon Rose is a short drive but has great attmosphere and would recommend the Portabella and Goat Cheese Sand.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ale E.
Business
Florida
May 13, 2013

Um, I'll pass.

They advertised that all the rooms were newly renovated....I think not. I saw water spots in the ceiling, the furniture was salvaged from hurricane Sandy instead if being replaced. So on the bottom of the wood, you saw it peeling from it's structure. Just awful. There is no closet, just a small space to hang things. There is no gym, but the area is nice enough for you to go jogging, provided that the weather is ok. The hotel is centrally located so getting to NY or Newark or any other neighboring area is easy. And for those of you who care, Trader Joe's is in walking distance. The staff was ok, even though I didn't get a warm welcoming feeling from them. All in all, I'd definitely check out another hotel should I need to stay in the area again. I wouldn't recommend this place, spend the extra money, if you have it, and stay someplace else. They aren't the only ones in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's is very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bobbyc54
Business
New York
Apr 30, 2013

Stay away !!

OMG - what a dump! Booked this w/o checking reviews on TA - big mistake. Orb would be well advised to remove this hotel from their search results. Sure it's cheap, but you know the saying ! Arrived on the 3rd floor only to be greeted by an industrial size fan in the hallway placed there in a failed attempt to remove the gagging odor of something human gone foul. The hallway rug was soaked and a stained towel mysteriously wedged at the bottom of a doorway. It didn't get better in the room: stains on the 60's retro randomly placed leather couch, stains on both bed's comforters, small black hairs dotted the pillows and the bathtub. Stains on the carpet. "Characters" roaming the hallways and sitting outside. Checked out quicker than I checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business traveler 3012
Business
Tampa, Fl
Apr 5, 2013

Nice room. Nice area.

I stayed one night for business. room was nice and comfortable. My only issue was the old iron and a stain on the bed spread. Otherwise this stay was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daddy Best Super Dad
Business
Boston
Mar 26, 2013

not three star material

The location was ok, and the receptionist very friendly. The room had a musky odor, and pieces of the wall paper were hanging by a thread as it were. The furniture was well used and in need of a good cleaning. The bathroom shower stall was cracked. Bathroom was clean. There was refurbishing and painting going on on my 4th floor, with the air compressor going most of the day on Friday . I guess for the price , well , it was still a run down feeling. I got Hotel rooms for $ 105.00 in Mid Town Manhattan. That was Value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gerrygs
Business
Pennsville, NJ
Dec 20, 2012

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Need an inexpensive overnight stay. Cooperation of staff was friendly and helpful. The only problem was the toilet which didn't flush properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hurricanevolunteerchef
Business
Clifton, New Jersey
Nov 20, 2012

Lucky to get in!

I was doing volunteer work in New Jersey , helping clean up homes damaged by the hurricane. After a week of long days, cool nights and sleeping in a tent at a relief center, I traveled north to visit friends from High School. I called the hotel and requested an early check-in, which was summarily denied. I asked when was the earliest I could check-in and was told 3pm. I then said thank you, please cancell my reservation. Upon this request, at 12:30pm I was assured a room would be available when I arrived. I arrived at approximately 1:00pm and was checked into a room. Not the Non-smoking room that I requested. All I wanted was a hot shower and a chance to put on some clean clothes before going out to socialize. The halls and elevator cars smelled of smoke. The staff were, for the most part, indifferent to all but themselves. I entered through a glass door which had no lock, mechanical or otherwise. I was not expecting much and was okay with the lack of quality, but the lack of concern for the guests, their safety and comfort was dissapointing. I will stay here again, not because I want to but becasue it is convenient to where I grew up. Shame it is not a better operation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Book the La Quinta. It is a few miles away, cleaner and the staff actually is helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NO HOJO anymore
Business
Springfield, New Jersey
Nov 15, 2012

Not good stay

Room not clean. Smoking everywhere. Noisy on the street side. Not even up to a motel standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Redskinschamps1
Business
Rochester, NY
Oct 8, 2012

Last day in NY

This hotel was ok i guess. The furniture in the room was kind of dated but it did have a microwave and a refrigerator which came in handy. Also had HBO that was cool. I can say i enjoyed my stay. Only bad thing was the hallway was kinda smelly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
prandj
Business
Virginia
Sep 21, 2012

was ok for one night

room was clean, but felt dirty. Maybe because the room I was in had a little metal door next to the bed that was no secured and would not shut. it Exposed a vary dirty pipe like for water or something, and behind the bed looked like there might have been a hole near the floor behind the bed. elevators did not work correctly. Hotel looked very creepy in the hall way. Had an IHOP next to it. free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top