$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 15, 2014 Check-out: Oct 18, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
86 reviews
very convenient and clean

The staff was very accommodating, the room was clean. Could have used another chair or two in the... See full review

  • Norral
  • Aug 7, 2014
Not bad for a basic room

The bed was comfy, nice comfortable chairs in the room. Also had a balcony but not much of a view.... See full review

  • Tdlfl
  • Jul 14, 2014
Affordable New Jersey hotel offers free amenities close to NYC action
Equidistant from the Newark airport and Manhattan, the Howard Johnson Clifton NJ is an ideal choice for travelers seeking access to the sights and sounds of New York City and the convenience of staying near the airport. An IHOP on premises makes meal time a breeze, while property amenities like a shuttle services (fees apply), coin laundry facilities, a fitness center and complimentary wireless Internet add to the appeal. Mini-refrigerators and microwaves help guests of the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ feel at home.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Shuttle service to New York City and Newark airport (fees apply)
  • Refrigerators and microwaves in every guest room
  • On-site restaurant

 

Rooms
The guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ are decorated in traditional style with brightly colored, patterned carpeting and bedding. All rooms include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, as well as TVs with HBO and premium cable. Complimentary high-speed Internet access helps keep Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ guests connected to home and the office.

 

Features
Complimentary coffee and tea is available for a morning pick-me-up in the lobby, while hunger pangs are satisfied at the on-site International House of Pancakes restaurant. The Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ offers shuttle service to both Manhattan and the Newark airport (fees apply). Other conveniences include coin laundry facilities, a business center with two workstations and a fitness center. Newspapers in the lobby, high-speed Internet and outdoor parking round out the list of free amenities at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ.

 

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • JFK International Airport (30.1 mi/48.4 km)
  • NJ Transit bus (across the street)
  • NJ Transit train (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • NJ Transit light rail (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Amtrak station (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • PATH train (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to Manhattan and Newark airport (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (12.9 mi/20.8 km)
  • Times Square (13.1 mi/21 km)
  • Empire State Building (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Central Park (15.2 mi/24.4 km)
  • Yankee Stadium (20.3 mi/32.7 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center with two computer stations and printer
  • The Howard Johnson Clifton NJ's meeting room accommodates up to 50 guests

Hotel Map

40.8351 -74.1497
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daddy Best Super Dad
Boston
Mar 26, 2013

not three star material

The location was ok, and the receptionist very friendly. The room had a musky odor, and pieces of the wall paper were hanging by a thread as it were. The furniture was well used and in need of a good cleaning. The bathroom shower stall was cracked. Bathroom was clean. There was refurbishing and painting going on on my 4th floor, with the air compressor going most of the day on Friday . I guess for the price , well , it was still a run down feeling. I got Hotel rooms for $ 105.00 in Mid Town Manhattan. That was Value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gerrygs
Pennsville, NJ
Dec 20, 2012

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Need an inexpensive overnight stay. Cooperation of staff was friendly and helpful. The only problem was the toilet which didn't flush properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hurricanevolunteerchef
Clifton, New Jersey
Nov 20, 2012

Lucky to get in!

I was doing volunteer work in New Jersey , helping clean up homes damaged by the hurricane. After a week of long days, cool nights and sleeping in a tent at a relief center, I traveled north to visit friends from High School. I called the hotel and requested an early check-in, which was summarily denied. I asked when was the earliest I could check-in and was told 3pm. I then said thank you, please cancell my reservation. Upon this request, at 12:30pm I was assured a room would be available when I arrived. I arrived at approximately 1:00pm and was checked into a room. Not the Non-smoking room that I requested. All I wanted was a hot shower and a chance to put on some clean clothes before going out to socialize. The halls and elevator cars smelled of smoke. The staff were, for the most part, indifferent to all but themselves. I entered through a glass door which had no lock, mechanical or otherwise. I was not expecting much and was okay with the lack of quality, but the lack of concern for the guests, their safety and comfort was dissapointing. I will stay here again, not because I want to but becasue it is convenient to where I grew up. Shame it is not a better operation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Book the La Quinta. It is a few miles away, cleaner and the staff actually is helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NO HOJO anymore
Springfield, New Jersey
Nov 15, 2012

Not good stay

Room not clean. Smoking everywhere. Noisy on the street side. Not even up to a motel standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Redskinschamps1
Rochester, NY
Oct 8, 2012

Last day in NY

This hotel was ok i guess. The furniture in the room was kind of dated but it did have a microwave and a refrigerator which came in handy. Also had HBO that was cool. I can say i enjoyed my stay. Only bad thing was the hallway was kinda smelly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
prandj
Business
Virginia
Sep 21, 2012

was ok for one night

room was clean, but felt dirty. Maybe because the room I was in had a little metal door next to the bed that was no secured and would not shut. it Exposed a vary dirty pipe like for water or something, and behind the bed looked like there might have been a hole near the floor behind the bed. elevators did not work correctly. Hotel looked very creepy in the hall way. Had an IHOP next to it. free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iteach10th
commack,ny
Aug 13, 2012

well worth it

We just needed an overnight hotel. Great location. We didn't need much. It was clean and comfortable.If you're looking for more it may not suit your needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jennings
Business
Riverdale,Ga.
Jul 26, 2012

Just Nasty!

The bed was not changed, it smelled, bath room was not clean it smelled like a dirty locker room. It was not enjoyable at all. Run away from this one! This is not a true 3 star hotel they lied!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ihop was very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
springtime
Ohio
Jun 29, 2012

Wi Fi

Wifi didnt work very well. Rest of hotel stay was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CSNeto
Canton, Michigan
May 31, 2012

Definitely bad choice

I booked a non-smoking room. I arrived 2am the lobby guy was sleeping. He gave me a smooking room. In the morning I went back to the lobby to change the room and the attendant tried to convince me that was a non-smoking room. It was ridiculous. After a hard discussion when I decided to checkout and lose all my money they found a better room (not good). The smell in the hotel is horrible everywhere. Definitely a bad choise. Never more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search