$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
131 reviews
Not bad for a basic room

The bed was comfy, nice comfortable chairs in the room. Also had a balcony but not much of a view.... See full review

  • Tdlfl
  • Jul 14, 2014
a good room for a reasonable price

a good location, close to the city and surroundings See full review

  • judky
  • Jun 30, 2014
Affordable New Jersey hotel offers free amenities close to NYC action
Equidistant from the Newark airport and Manhattan, the Howard Johnson Clifton NJ is an ideal choice for travelers seeking access to the sights and sounds of New York City and the convenience of staying near the airport. An IHOP on premises makes meal time a breeze, while property amenities like a shuttle services (fees apply), coin laundry facilities, a fitness center and complimentary wireless Internet add to the appeal. Mini-refrigerators and microwaves help guests of the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ feel at home.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Shuttle service to New York City and Newark airport (fees apply)
  • Refrigerators and microwaves in every guest room
  • On-site restaurant

 

Rooms
The guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ are decorated in traditional style with brightly colored, patterned carpeting and bedding. All rooms include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, as well as TVs with HBO and premium cable. Complimentary high-speed Internet access helps keep Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ guests connected to home and the office.

 

Features
Complimentary coffee and tea is available for a morning pick-me-up in the lobby, while hunger pangs are satisfied at the on-site International House of Pancakes restaurant. The Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ offers shuttle service to both Manhattan and the Newark airport (fees apply). Other conveniences include coin laundry facilities, a business center with two workstations and a fitness center. Newspapers in the lobby, high-speed Internet and outdoor parking round out the list of free amenities at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ.

 

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • JFK International Airport (30.1 mi/48.4 km)
  • NJ Transit bus (across the street)
  • NJ Transit train (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • NJ Transit light rail (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Amtrak station (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • PATH train (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to Manhattan and Newark airport (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (12.9 mi/20.8 km)
  • Times Square (13.1 mi/21 km)
  • Empire State Building (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Central Park (15.2 mi/24.4 km)
  • Yankee Stadium (20.3 mi/32.7 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center with two computer stations and printer
  • The Howard Johnson Clifton NJ's meeting room accommodates up to 50 guests

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

40.8351 -74.1497
Area description
Downtown

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mooooose
New jersey
Jul 21, 2014

Ok

The room itself was nice but the bed made so much noise when you turned and it was so hot in the room. I turned the air con on and it worked for 5-10 minutes then turned for 5-10 minutes then turned back and so on. It was awful I didn't sleep well and I had to get up at 3am for a flight I prefer the Howard and Johnson in newark. The staff were very nice and helpful. It's a shame there's no shuttle to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tdlfl
Newark, nj
Jul 14, 2014

Not bad for a basic room

The bed was comfy, nice comfortable chairs in the room. Also had a balcony but not much of a view. I did like that they have hbo but was really annoyed the vending machines were not working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
judky
Shirley,Ma
Jun 30, 2014

a good room for a reasonable price

a good location, close to the city and surroundings

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
out of place traveler
Spokane, Washington
Aug 28, 2013

Convenient location

The location of this hotel was great for our goal of shopping for setting up a new college student. Shopping was all close and easy to get to. Room was adequate and secured at all times. Shuttle to Times square was a perfect trip into the city and the cost less than using NJ Transit. Front counter staff ultra friendly and helpful. Lots of options for dining out that are all reasonably priced. Fridge and microwave hard to find in hotels in the area is a big plus. Overall I will most likely use this when I visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Smash burger and Tick Tock Diner are great. Shannon Rose is a short drive but has great attmosphere and would recommend the Portabella and Goat Cheese Sand.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ale E.
Florida
May 13, 2013

Um, I'll pass.

They advertised that all the rooms were newly renovated....I think not. I saw water spots in the ceiling, the furniture was salvaged from hurricane Sandy instead if being replaced. So on the bottom of the wood, you saw it peeling from it's structure. Just awful. There is no closet, just a small space to hang things. There is no gym, but the area is nice enough for you to go jogging, provided that the weather is ok. The hotel is centrally located so getting to NY or Newark or any other neighboring area is easy. And for those of you who care, Trader Joe's is in walking distance. The staff was ok, even though I didn't get a warm welcoming feeling from them. All in all, I'd definitely check out another hotel should I need to stay in the area again. I wouldn't recommend this place, spend the extra money, if you have it, and stay someplace else. They aren't the only ones in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's is very close.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bobbyc54
Business
New York
Apr 30, 2013

Stay away !!

OMG - what a dump! Booked this w/o checking reviews on TA - big mistake. Orb would be well advised to remove this hotel from their search results. Sure it's cheap, but you know the saying ! Arrived on the 3rd floor only to be greeted by an industrial size fan in the hallway placed there in a failed attempt to remove the gagging odor of something human gone foul. The hallway rug was soaked and a stained towel mysteriously wedged at the bottom of a doorway. It didn't get better in the room: stains on the 60's retro randomly placed leather couch, stains on both bed's comforters, small black hairs dotted the pillows and the bathtub. Stains on the carpet. "Characters" roaming the hallways and sitting outside. Checked out quicker than I checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business traveler 3012
Business
Tampa, Fl
Apr 5, 2013

Nice room. Nice area.

I stayed one night for business. room was nice and comfortable. My only issue was the old iron and a stain on the bed spread. Otherwise this stay was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daddy Best Super Dad
Boston
Mar 26, 2013

not three star material

The location was ok, and the receptionist very friendly. The room had a musky odor, and pieces of the wall paper were hanging by a thread as it were. The furniture was well used and in need of a good cleaning. The bathroom shower stall was cracked. Bathroom was clean. There was refurbishing and painting going on on my 4th floor, with the air compressor going most of the day on Friday . I guess for the price , well , it was still a run down feeling. I got Hotel rooms for $ 105.00 in Mid Town Manhattan. That was Value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gerrygs
Pennsville, NJ
Dec 20, 2012

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Need an inexpensive overnight stay. Cooperation of staff was friendly and helpful. The only problem was the toilet which didn't flush properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hurricanevolunteerchef
Clifton, New Jersey
Nov 20, 2012

Lucky to get in!

I was doing volunteer work in New Jersey , helping clean up homes damaged by the hurricane. After a week of long days, cool nights and sleeping in a tent at a relief center, I traveled north to visit friends from High School. I called the hotel and requested an early check-in, which was summarily denied. I asked when was the earliest I could check-in and was told 3pm. I then said thank you, please cancell my reservation. Upon this request, at 12:30pm I was assured a room would be available when I arrived. I arrived at approximately 1:00pm and was checked into a room. Not the Non-smoking room that I requested. All I wanted was a hot shower and a chance to put on some clean clothes before going out to socialize. The halls and elevator cars smelled of smoke. The staff were, for the most part, indifferent to all but themselves. I entered through a glass door which had no lock, mechanical or otherwise. I was not expecting much and was okay with the lack of quality, but the lack of concern for the guests, their safety and comfort was dissapointing. I will stay here again, not because I want to but becasue it is convenient to where I grew up. Shame it is not a better operation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Book the La Quinta. It is a few miles away, cleaner and the staff actually is helpful.

Back to menu Return to top