$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
View map of 680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
76 reviews
very convenient and clean

The staff was very accommodating, the room was clean. Could have used another chair or two in the... See full review

  • Norral
  • Aug 7, 2014
Not bad for a basic room

The bed was comfy, nice comfortable chairs in the room. Also had a balcony but not much of a view.... See full review

  • Tdlfl
  • Jul 14, 2014
Find many fun-filled family adventures near this Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ conveniently located near the New Jersey Turnpike and Garden State Parkway. Cheer for the New York Giants at Giants Stadium, or see concerts at the MetLife Stadium less than 15 minutes away. Take a trip to New York City less than a half hour away to see the Empire State Building or the Radio City Music Hall. Find a meal for the whole family at Tick Tock Diner less than two miles away. The friendly 24-hour front desk staff is available to help plan your day, and you can research attractions on the complimentary wireless Internet access. Energize in the fitness center, and enjoy complimentary car and large-vehicle parking. Stay productive in the meeting rooms and business center. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker and hairdryer. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 76
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.8

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mooooose
Business
New jersey
Jul 21, 2014

Ok

The room itself was nice but the bed made so much noise when you turned and it was so hot in the room. I turned the air con on and it worked for 5-10 minutes then turned for 5-10 minutes then turned back and so on. It was awful I didn't sleep well and I had to get up at 3am for a flight I prefer the Howard and Johnson in newark. The staff were very nice and helpful. It's a shame there's no shuttle to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tdlfl
Business
Newark, nj
Jul 14, 2014

Not bad for a basic room

The bed was comfy, nice comfortable chairs in the room. Also had a balcony but not much of a view. I did like that they have hbo but was really annoyed the vending machines were not working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ale E.
Business
Florida
May 13, 2013

Um, I'll pass.

They advertised that all the rooms were newly renovated....I think not. I saw water spots in the ceiling, the furniture was salvaged from hurricane Sandy instead if being replaced. So on the bottom of the wood, you saw it peeling from it's structure. Just awful. There is no closet, just a small space to hang things. There is no gym, but the area is nice enough for you to go jogging, provided that the weather is ok. The hotel is centrally located so getting to NY or Newark or any other neighboring area is easy. And for those of you who care, Trader Joe's is in walking distance. The staff was ok, even though I didn't get a warm welcoming feeling from them. All in all, I'd definitely check out another hotel should I need to stay in the area again. I wouldn't recommend this place, spend the extra money, if you have it, and stay someplace else. They aren't the only ones in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's is very close.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daddy Best Super Dad
Business
Boston
Mar 26, 2013

not three star material

The location was ok, and the receptionist very friendly. The room had a musky odor, and pieces of the wall paper were hanging by a thread as it were. The furniture was well used and in need of a good cleaning. The bathroom shower stall was cracked. Bathroom was clean. There was refurbishing and painting going on on my 4th floor, with the air compressor going most of the day on Friday . I guess for the price , well , it was still a run down feeling. I got Hotel rooms for $ 105.00 in Mid Town Manhattan. That was Value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hurricanevolunteerchef
Business
Clifton, New Jersey
Nov 20, 2012

Lucky to get in!

I was doing volunteer work in New Jersey , helping clean up homes damaged by the hurricane. After a week of long days, cool nights and sleeping in a tent at a relief center, I traveled north to visit friends from High School. I called the hotel and requested an early check-in, which was summarily denied. I asked when was the earliest I could check-in and was told 3pm. I then said thank you, please cancell my reservation. Upon this request, at 12:30pm I was assured a room would be available when I arrived. I arrived at approximately 1:00pm and was checked into a room. Not the Non-smoking room that I requested. All I wanted was a hot shower and a chance to put on some clean clothes before going out to socialize. The halls and elevator cars smelled of smoke. The staff were, for the most part, indifferent to all but themselves. I entered through a glass door which had no lock, mechanical or otherwise. I was not expecting much and was okay with the lack of quality, but the lack of concern for the guests, their safety and comfort was dissapointing. I will stay here again, not because I want to but becasue it is convenient to where I grew up. Shame it is not a better operation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Book the La Quinta. It is a few miles away, cleaner and the staff actually is helpful.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NO HOJO anymore
Business
Springfield, New Jersey
Nov 15, 2012

Not good stay

Room not clean. Smoking everywhere. Noisy on the street side. Not even up to a motel standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Redskinschamps1
Business
Rochester, NY
Oct 8, 2012

Last day in NY

This hotel was ok i guess. The furniture in the room was kind of dated but it did have a microwave and a refrigerator which came in handy. Also had HBO that was cool. I can say i enjoyed my stay. Only bad thing was the hallway was kinda smelly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wally Traveler
Business
Cranston, RI
May 19, 2011

Nice and peaceful

Nice to stay here, they have an ihops next door.. the wifi signal was weak for some reason but other than that it's a cool place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cranston, RI
Apr 24, 2011

Nice stay but no breakfast

This place is nice, i stayed here for 3 nights. The smell people keep mentioning is that 'Hindu' smell, its not bad it's just a cultural smell i guess. It stated they offer complimentary breakfast but they don't actually do that at this howard johnson. they do have a ihops next door.. They have a fitness room and parking. I ordered chinese food during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
montclair new jersey
Dec 2, 2010

just the really ugly

Had to wait to check in, only one front desk attendant the other one was mopping the floor at 3:00 pm check in time. [...] When i got to the room the door was blocked open. Rear outside door to the hotel was broken - no lock so anyon has access to the halls 24 - 7. Hotel was party central, people across the hall were screaming at each other alot and until 1:00 a.m..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top