$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 3, 2014 Check-out: Dec 6, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
89 reviews
very convenient and clean

The staff was very accommodating, the room was clean. Could have used another chair or two in the... See full review

  • Norral
  • Aug 7, 2014
Not bad for a basic room

The bed was comfy, nice comfortable chairs in the room. Also had a balcony but not much of a view.... See full review

  • Tdlfl
  • Jul 14, 2014
Affordable New Jersey hotel offers free amenities close to NYC action
Equidistant from the Newark airport and Manhattan, the Howard Johnson Clifton NJ is an ideal choice for travelers seeking access to the sights and sounds of New York City and the convenience of staying near the airport. An IHOP on premises makes meal time a breeze, while property amenities like a shuttle services (fees apply), coin laundry facilities, a fitness center and complimentary wireless Internet add to the appeal. Mini-refrigerators and microwaves help guests of the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ feel at home.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Shuttle service to New York City and Newark airport (fees apply)
  • Refrigerators and microwaves in every guest room
  • On-site restaurant

 

Rooms
The guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ are decorated in traditional style with brightly colored, patterned carpeting and bedding. All rooms include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, as well as TVs with HBO and premium cable. Complimentary high-speed Internet access helps keep Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ guests connected to home and the office.

 

Features
Complimentary coffee and tea is available for a morning pick-me-up in the lobby, while hunger pangs are satisfied at the on-site International House of Pancakes restaurant. The Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ offers shuttle service to both Manhattan and the Newark airport (fees apply). Other conveniences include coin laundry facilities, a business center with two workstations and a fitness center. Newspapers in the lobby, high-speed Internet and outdoor parking round out the list of free amenities at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ.

 

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • JFK International Airport (30.1 mi/48.4 km)
  • NJ Transit bus (across the street)
  • NJ Transit train (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • NJ Transit light rail (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Amtrak station (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • PATH train (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to Manhattan and Newark airport (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (12.9 mi/20.8 km)
  • Times Square (13.1 mi/21 km)
  • Empire State Building (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Central Park (15.2 mi/24.4 km)
  • Yankee Stadium (20.3 mi/32.7 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center with two computer stations and printer
  • The Howard Johnson Clifton NJ's meeting room accommodates up to 50 guests

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 89
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.8

39% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RITABOOK
Business
ANN ARBOR, MI
Nov 17, 2014

CONVENIENT

THIS IS THE MOST CONVENIENT LOCATION TO FRIENDS AND FAMILY IN THE AREA. THE STAFF IS ALWAYS FRIENDLY, HELPFUL AND ACCOMODATING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mooooose
Business
New jersey
Jul 21, 2014

Ok

The room itself was nice but the bed made so much noise when you turned and it was so hot in the room. I turned the air con on and it worked for 5-10 minutes then turned for 5-10 minutes then turned back and so on. It was awful I didn't sleep well and I had to get up at 3am for a flight I prefer the Howard and Johnson in newark. The staff were very nice and helpful. It's a shame there's no shuttle to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tdlfl
Business
Newark, nj
Jul 14, 2014

Not bad for a basic room

The bed was comfy, nice comfortable chairs in the room. Also had a balcony but not much of a view. I did like that they have hbo but was really annoyed the vending machines were not working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ale E.
Business
Florida
May 13, 2013

Um, I'll pass.

They advertised that all the rooms were newly renovated....I think not. I saw water spots in the ceiling, the furniture was salvaged from hurricane Sandy instead if being replaced. So on the bottom of the wood, you saw it peeling from it's structure. Just awful. There is no closet, just a small space to hang things. There is no gym, but the area is nice enough for you to go jogging, provided that the weather is ok. The hotel is centrally located so getting to NY or Newark or any other neighboring area is easy. And for those of you who care, Trader Joe's is in walking distance. The staff was ok, even though I didn't get a warm welcoming feeling from them. All in all, I'd definitely check out another hotel should I need to stay in the area again. I wouldn't recommend this place, spend the extra money, if you have it, and stay someplace else. They aren't the only ones in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's is very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daddy Best Super Dad
Business
Boston
Mar 26, 2013

not three star material

The location was ok, and the receptionist very friendly. The room had a musky odor, and pieces of the wall paper were hanging by a thread as it were. The furniture was well used and in need of a good cleaning. The bathroom shower stall was cracked. Bathroom was clean. There was refurbishing and painting going on on my 4th floor, with the air compressor going most of the day on Friday . I guess for the price , well , it was still a run down feeling. I got Hotel rooms for $ 105.00 in Mid Town Manhattan. That was Value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hurricanevolunteerchef
Business
Clifton, New Jersey
Nov 20, 2012

Lucky to get in!

I was doing volunteer work in New Jersey , helping clean up homes damaged by the hurricane. After a week of long days, cool nights and sleeping in a tent at a relief center, I traveled north to visit friends from High School. I called the hotel and requested an early check-in, which was summarily denied. I asked when was the earliest I could check-in and was told 3pm. I then said thank you, please cancell my reservation. Upon this request, at 12:30pm I was assured a room would be available when I arrived. I arrived at approximately 1:00pm and was checked into a room. Not the Non-smoking room that I requested. All I wanted was a hot shower and a chance to put on some clean clothes before going out to socialize. The halls and elevator cars smelled of smoke. The staff were, for the most part, indifferent to all but themselves. I entered through a glass door which had no lock, mechanical or otherwise. I was not expecting much and was okay with the lack of quality, but the lack of concern for the guests, their safety and comfort was dissapointing. I will stay here again, not because I want to but becasue it is convenient to where I grew up. Shame it is not a better operation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Book the La Quinta. It is a few miles away, cleaner and the staff actually is helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NO HOJO anymore
Business
Springfield, New Jersey
Nov 15, 2012

Not good stay

Room not clean. Smoking everywhere. Noisy on the street side. Not even up to a motel standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Redskinschamps1
Business
Rochester, NY
Oct 8, 2012

Last day in NY

This hotel was ok i guess. The furniture in the room was kind of dated but it did have a microwave and a refrigerator which came in handy. Also had HBO that was cool. I can say i enjoyed my stay. Only bad thing was the hallway was kinda smelly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roadbldr '59
Business
Vancouver, Washington State
Mar 3, 2012

An absolute atrocity!!!

This is the single most horrible hotel at which I have ever booked a room, and believe me that says a lot. First of all, my room was on the ground floor, with a back door opening to a scary-looking dark alley, in a neighborhood that didn't look very safe. The decor-- drapes, carpet, paint, bedspreads-- all looked as if they had not been replaced since the 1970s or 1980s. It was a "non-smoking" room, yet I could easily detect the odor of stale, years-old tobacco that the hotel staff attempted to cover up with aerosols...and the room smelled damp and musty to boot. The room was dimly lit with a single 40 watt bulb, and felt creepy. I'm a strong, mature, confident, not-very-sensitive man in my early 50s... yet this place deeply scared me, so much so that I would have been afraid to sleep. I refused to stay there, even though it meant absorbing the expense (as the hotel refused to refund my pre-paid money). I shudder to think of a single woman, or a young couple with kids, staying there. I strongly urge anyone reading this review to look elsewhere. If you are visiting Essex County, New Jersey, you'd be much better off at a nice, safe hotel at Newark Airport, which is where I ended up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wally Traveler
Business
Cranston, RI
May 19, 2011

Nice and peaceful

Nice to stay here, they have an ihops next door.. the wifi signal was weak for some reason but other than that it's a cool place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top