$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
89 reviews
very convenient and clean

The staff was very accommodating, the room was clean. Could have used another chair or two in the... See full review

  • Norral
  • Aug 7, 2014
Not bad for a basic room

The bed was comfy, nice comfortable chairs in the room. Also had a balcony but not much of a view.... See full review

  • Tdlfl
  • Jul 14, 2014
Affordable New Jersey hotel offers free amenities close to NYC action
Equidistant from the Newark airport and Manhattan, the Howard Johnson Clifton NJ is an ideal choice for travelers seeking access to the sights and sounds of New York City and the convenience of staying near the airport. An IHOP on premises makes meal time a breeze, while property amenities like a shuttle services (fees apply), coin laundry facilities, a fitness center and complimentary wireless Internet add to the appeal. Mini-refrigerators and microwaves help guests of the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ feel at home.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Shuttle service to New York City and Newark airport (fees apply)
  • Refrigerators and microwaves in every guest room
  • On-site restaurant

 

Rooms
The guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ are decorated in traditional style with brightly colored, patterned carpeting and bedding. All rooms include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, as well as TVs with HBO and premium cable. Complimentary high-speed Internet access helps keep Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ guests connected to home and the office.

 

Features
Complimentary coffee and tea is available for a morning pick-me-up in the lobby, while hunger pangs are satisfied at the on-site International House of Pancakes restaurant. The Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ offers shuttle service to both Manhattan and the Newark airport (fees apply). Other conveniences include coin laundry facilities, a business center with two workstations and a fitness center. Newspapers in the lobby, high-speed Internet and outdoor parking round out the list of free amenities at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ.

 

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • JFK International Airport (30.1 mi/48.4 km)
  • NJ Transit bus (across the street)
  • NJ Transit train (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • NJ Transit light rail (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Amtrak station (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • PATH train (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to Manhattan and Newark airport (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (12.9 mi/20.8 km)
  • Times Square (13.1 mi/21 km)
  • Empire State Building (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Central Park (15.2 mi/24.4 km)
  • Yankee Stadium (20.3 mi/32.7 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center with two computer stations and printer
  • The Howard Johnson Clifton NJ's meeting room accommodates up to 50 guests

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

1.9 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 89
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.2
Value:
3

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DorisC
Business
New Jersey
Apr 30, 2012

Okay Lodging

The staff were friendly and helpful. This is a big bang for your bucks. However, not luxury accommodations but fine fine for a short stay. IHOP is on it's property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bonita716
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Quick Stop.

We stayed here for two nights when attending a concert over in Montclair NJ. Hotel was average. Not beautiful, not gross. Just clean, and average. It did have a balcony which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
convoyeurs2006
Business
L'Épiphanie, QC, Canada
Oct 11, 2011

New york

Very ordinairy hotel, must be renoved and refresh with paint, the personal at lobby very ordinary,no smile, no good morning,only one towel,one washcloth we were supposed to have breakfast included but they said it was a mistake from ORBITZ

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Aug 8, 2011

Worse then I expected

Based on the other reviews I didn't expect much, but still booked this hotel hoping that there were some improvements and b/c it was fairly cheap. This hotel is in a nice location. Shopping, resturaunts, and a movie theater are all close by. The hotel was still being renovated when we stayed. We got a room that had already been renovated. The upgrades were nice: new bathroom tile & fixtures, new carpet & paint. For some reason they didn't replace the television. Ours was messed up the top 1/4 of the screen. Obviously the housekeepers don't clean very well. I felt bugs or fleas jumping on my legs near the balcony door. Although I couldn't see any, it kept me up half the night thinking they were in my bed. That, and the old air cond that wouldn't cool to the temp it was set to, the running toilet, & the mini fridge. There were crums all over the floor and they must not use bleach to wash the towels & sheets. After a long day in the city, we came back to find our door to our room was left cracked open. Thankfully we were in the last room down this little side hallway and nothing was missing. The only working ice machine I found was on the 2nd floor near the pool entrance (which was still closed). The internet wasn't working. We didn't even eat at the IHOP on site thinking it might be run by the same people and just as dirty & drove down the road to a different one. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Delawanna train station is about a mile away. Free parking. Takes about 30-60 min to get to Penn Station one way after a transfer at Seccaucus Junction. Check schedule online.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donna from NJ
Business
Barrington, NJ
May 1, 2011

unreal

went to a 3 day concert. What was missing was the ability to check in with out problems. [...] Could not understand the people at the desk. It was not a very easy check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr Rob
Business
NJ
Dec 14, 2009

Sub-par

2 out of 4 lights in the room wouldnt turn on. Room itself was ok, bathroom clean. Hallways dirty and looked like they hadnt been vacuumed in months. Ice machine was broken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Charley07
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jul 22, 2009

No offense but YUCK

My friend and I stayed here first on our road trip because it was cheaper to stay here instead of in New York City. Big mistake. The rooms were dark, they smelled terrible, and there were several cracks throughout the ceiling. There were very few restaurants around, other than the IHOP it connected to, and the shuttle to the city was expensive and confusing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kenosha wisconsin
Jul 20, 2009

what you would expect for the price

overall the hotel was not the worst that i've seen. the staff was nice, but had they all had thick accents, which made it difficult to understand them.the room itself was okay, the beds where comfortable to sleep in. the housekeeping only did the beds,and removed the garbage, but everything else was not cleaned.they could have done a better job cleaning.the hotel said it had a pool, but that was not the case. the water had been drained and a tarp covered it. it was not a pleasant view from the balcony of our hotel room.the hotel is near nyc ,but I dont suggest driving to nyc. the traffic is horrible. the staff informed us that we could schedule shuttle ride to the city or take the bus. the staff was helpful in providing information regarding our trip .we took the bus everyday, the hotel was near the bus stop and upon returning the bus would drop off two blocks away from the hotel. it worked out well in the end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the tick tock diner is very close to this hotel and there was very good food there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HB
Business
757
Jun 15, 2009

Decent stay

We stayed here while we traveled back and forth from NYC. It was convienient for that. Right when you walk in, the h otel has a very odd/old smell. Every floor the smell changes for the better or worse. Our room had an odor of it's own. I wish the hotel would replace the carpet throughout the building. The bathrooms weren't that great to us, but they did the job. The first night one of us took a shower and it didnt drain the water at all. Woke up the next morning and it was still there. I called the front desk and the guy came up and swirled his hanger down there and the water went away. The tub did leak every time we took a shower. The room worked for the purpose but walk around with your socks on because when you look at the bottom of your socks you will see what you are walking on. I might stay there again if money was the issue again, but hopefully we find something a little better. The locks are the backdoor were like I've never seen. Even still, I didnt feel that safe with them. They need more secure doors. Lastly, the pool that we thought would be there was actually all dried up with green water at the deepest part. Good luck with swimming! Oh and one more thing, don't mind the cleaning people, they LOVE the stare at you. We did get towels whenever we wanted them though. We kept the DND on the door the whole time we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top