$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
80 reviews
Nice room. Nice area.

I stayed one night for business. room was nice and comfortable. My only issue was the old iron and... See full review

  • Business traveler 3012
  • Apr 5, 2013
Perfect Stay

My family had a great stay at this wonderful hotel. It is very well maintained, very clean, and... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 19, 2010
Affordable New Jersey hotel offers free amenities close to NYC action
Equidistant from the Newark airport and Manhattan, the Howard Johnson Clifton NJ is an ideal choice for travelers seeking access to the sights and sounds of New York City and the convenience of staying near the airport. An IHOP on premises makes meal time a breeze, while property amenities like a shuttle services (fees apply), coin laundry facilities, a fitness center and complimentary wireless Internet add to the appeal. Mini-refrigerators and microwaves help guests of the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ feel at home.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Shuttle service to New York City and Newark airport (fees apply)
  • Refrigerators and microwaves in every guest room
  • On-site restaurant

 

Rooms
The guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ are decorated in traditional style with brightly colored, patterned carpeting and bedding. All rooms include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, as well as TVs with HBO and premium cable. Complimentary high-speed Internet access helps keep Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ guests connected to home and the office.

 

Features
Complimentary coffee and tea is available for a morning pick-me-up in the lobby, while hunger pangs are satisfied at the on-site International House of Pancakes restaurant. The Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ offers shuttle service to both Manhattan and the Newark airport (fees apply). Other conveniences include coin laundry facilities, a business center with two workstations and a fitness center. Newspapers in the lobby, high-speed Internet and outdoor parking round out the list of free amenities at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ.

 

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • JFK International Airport (30.1 mi/48.4 km)
  • NJ Transit bus (across the street)
  • NJ Transit train (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • NJ Transit light rail (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Amtrak station (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • PATH train (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to Manhattan and Newark airport (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (12.9 mi/20.8 km)
  • Times Square (13.1 mi/21 km)
  • Empire State Building (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Central Park (15.2 mi/24.4 km)
  • Yankee Stadium (20.3 mi/32.7 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center with two computer stations and printer
  • The Howard Johnson Clifton NJ's meeting room accommodates up to 50 guests

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

40.8351 -74.1497
Area description
Downtown

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.6 / 5
15 out of 80
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
iteach10th
commack,ny
Aug 13, 2012

well worth it

We just needed an overnight hotel. Great location. We didn't need much. It was clean and comfortable.If you're looking for more it may not suit your needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
springtime
Ohio
Jun 29, 2012

Wi Fi

Wifi didnt work very well. Rest of hotel stay was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
VA
Jul 20, 2011

Room was nice remodeling going on

This hotel is in a very good location close to NYC without the traffic. The adjoining IHOP was a great place for breakfast. The turn in to the Hotel was hard to see. The room was nice and comfortable. We had a great nights sleep with a great IHOP breakfast the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

IHOP was adjoined to Hotel and Shopping all arund the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
Cligs
east brunswick, nj
Mar 6, 2011

will visit again

friendly staff. fast service when needed towels. clean bed; and room. will visit again if in the area. *find your own taxi if you need one* the one they recommend is very expensive. ($20 for a 3 mile drive)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

hotel did not recommend a reasonably priced taxi service.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
QUEENS,NY
Nov 14, 2010

WAS CONVIENIENT AND CLOSE BY

WENT TO A MUSEUM,PARK AND SHOPPING,NOTHING WAS MISSING IN MY STAY BUT I DO SAY THEIR CARPETING NEED DEEP CLEANING. I ONLY THOUGHT THAT THE SERVICE I GOT ON THE [...] PHONE AND WHEN I ARRIVED THEIR WAS DIFFERENT IFO.FROM KING SIZE BED THEY PUT US IN A QUEEN SIZE BED....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Pa.
Dec 30, 2009

Warning: HJ Clifton Under Renovation.

Motel under extensive renovation with noisy equipment being used into the night.TV defective too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
vestal,ny
Oct 11, 2009

concert room

not very well kept but great location!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
mary3108
Annandale, Va
Sep 26, 2009

UNPLEASANT PLACE!

The hotel looked very old, dirty and the room was horrible, the bed, if you can call that thing bed, was broken, weavy, we couldn't slept that night. If you could affort something a little bit expensive do it. I will never return to this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
Melonball and Trixie
Akron, OH
Aug 17, 2009

Terrible

My girlfriend and I took a weekend trip to New York City and stayed at this hotel. The site says they have a shuttle to New York that is $10 one way or $15 round trip. This is not the case. While $15 round trip implies $15 will get you there and back, they actually mean $15 to return, so it's $25 round trip. Also, it doesn't run all day, and they're not very prompt. If you choose to stay here and need transportation to the city, look into the NJ Transit and ride a bus for $4 each way; it stops just down the road from the hotel. As for the hotel itself, it was dirty, with broken glass and cigarettes covering the concrete outside, a pool that was empty and filled with a tarp and cinder blocks, and towels randomly scattered on the floors of the hallways. However, the actual room was not bad. Last, we booked a smoking room and got a non-smoking. This didn't effect me, but my girlfriend smokes and would have prefered to be able to do it in the room. We went to the front desk and talked to the people about it and asked if we could switch, and rather than taking care of it as they should have, they told us we booked a non-smoking room and there was nothing that could be done about it that day (though they did offer to let us switch the next). We had our Orbitz itinerary printed which clearly said we booked a smoking room, showed two different members of the desk staff, and they both rudely told us we were wrong, even though the paper clearly showed we were not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
Couple_with_the_travel_bug
Chicago,IL
Jul 7, 2009

For the budget minded traveler

We only used this hotel to rest for the night during our NYC trip. Positives --- Very affordable, we got a better deal at Orbitz than on the hotel website. Convenient location for NYC. Room's very comfortably big, atleast ours was. Room had a fridge, microwave, A/C, TV, Cable , Wifi. Excellent choice for the budget conscious leisure traveler. The not so good stuff Even though the beds were made every day, I'm not sure they were thoroughly cleaned or vacuumed. Bed bugs possibly??? They charge extra for use of the in room safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

For the leisure traveler- New york city is just a short bus ($4.25 one way i think) or cab ride away. The bus stop is pretty close by, but do check for the correct bus #'s. Only 191 & 195, starting from the Port Authority, stop near HoJo (but do double check this)

Back to menu Return to top