$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
89 reviews
very convenient and clean

The staff was very accommodating, the room was clean. Could have used another chair or two in the... See full review

  • Norral
  • Aug 7, 2014
Not bad for a basic room

The bed was comfy, nice comfortable chairs in the room. Also had a balcony but not much of a view.... See full review

  • Tdlfl
  • Jul 14, 2014
Affordable New Jersey hotel offers free amenities close to NYC action
Equidistant from the Newark airport and Manhattan, the Howard Johnson Clifton NJ is an ideal choice for travelers seeking access to the sights and sounds of New York City and the convenience of staying near the airport. An IHOP on premises makes meal time a breeze, while property amenities like a shuttle services (fees apply), coin laundry facilities, a fitness center and complimentary wireless Internet add to the appeal. Mini-refrigerators and microwaves help guests of the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ feel at home.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Shuttle service to New York City and Newark airport (fees apply)
  • Refrigerators and microwaves in every guest room
  • On-site restaurant

 

Rooms
The guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ are decorated in traditional style with brightly colored, patterned carpeting and bedding. All rooms include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, as well as TVs with HBO and premium cable. Complimentary high-speed Internet access helps keep Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ guests connected to home and the office.

 

Features
Complimentary coffee and tea is available for a morning pick-me-up in the lobby, while hunger pangs are satisfied at the on-site International House of Pancakes restaurant. The Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ offers shuttle service to both Manhattan and the Newark airport (fees apply). Other conveniences include coin laundry facilities, a business center with two workstations and a fitness center. Newspapers in the lobby, high-speed Internet and outdoor parking round out the list of free amenities at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ.

 

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • JFK International Airport (30.1 mi/48.4 km)
  • NJ Transit bus (across the street)
  • NJ Transit train (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • NJ Transit light rail (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Amtrak station (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • PATH train (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to Manhattan and Newark airport (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (12.9 mi/20.8 km)
  • Times Square (13.1 mi/21 km)
  • Empire State Building (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Central Park (15.2 mi/24.4 km)
  • Yankee Stadium (20.3 mi/32.7 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center with two computer stations and printer
  • The Howard Johnson Clifton NJ's meeting room accommodates up to 50 guests

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hendersonville, NC
May 7, 2007

A NIGHT IN HELL

The hotel was noisey and there were bugs crawling on the floor. If I had not arrived late at night, I would have left, but since it was one night ONLY, I stayed. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone even if the rooms were for FREE. I have stayed at many a hotel, this has to be the worst I have ever seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El gato
Business
Clifton,nj
Aug 25, 2009

"Ok for last minute trip"

The room smelled, the door wouldn't lock when closed, but the staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mary3108
Business
Annandale, Va
Sep 26, 2009

UNPLEASANT PLACE!

The hotel looked very old, dirty and the room was horrible, the bed, if you can call that thing bed, was broken, weavy, we couldn't slept that night. If you could affort something a little bit expensive do it. I will never return to this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
g_saba[@]
Business
miami, fl
Jul 28, 2010

BAD EXPERIENCE

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
convoyeurs2006
Business
L'Épiphanie, QC, Canada
Oct 11, 2011

New york

Very ordinairy hotel, must be renoved and refresh with paint, the personal at lobby very ordinary,no smile, no good morning,only one towel,one washcloth we were supposed to have breakfast included but they said it was a mistake from ORBITZ

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tameka
Business
NJ
Nov 5, 2011

Awful situation turned worse

NJ was having major power outages and we needed a place to stay and this was the closest. There was not one redeeming quality about this hotel except that they had heat. Even the hot water was skewed by the fact that the shower drain was broken and I had 6 inches of water by the time I was finished with my shower. WOULD NOT recommend this dump to anyone. Would have been better off cold at home but I have two young children to think about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DAVE K.
Business
San Tan Valley, AZ, USA
Nov 13, 2011

VERY UNHAPPY AND GROSSED OUT

WHEN WE ARRIVED THE HALLWAYS SMELLED OF CIGARETTE SMOKE. THE EXTERIOR SECURITY DOOR HAD ITS LOCK REMOVED WHICH ALLOWED FREE PASSAGEWAY FOR ANYONE TO ENTER THE SECURED ROOM AREA. WHEN WE ENTERED THE ROOM WE FOND THAT THE DECOR WAS OUT DATED. THE RUG WAS DESPERATELY IN NEED OF A SHAMPOOING AS WELL AS BEING ALL RIPPLY BY THE DOOR. LAMPS ON THE DRESSER HAD LIGHT BULB SOCKETS BROKEN IN HALF AND WIRES EXPOSED AND HANGING. THE ROOM HAD A MUSTY SMELL. THE CLOSET DOORS WERE OFF THE TRACKS AND IT TOOK THEM TWO DAYS TO REAPIR. THE REPAIR WAS MADE BY REMOVING ONE OF THE SLIDING DOORS AND LEAVING THE CLOSET WITH ONLY ONE DOOR ON IT WHICH WAS MOUNTED COCK-EYED. OUR ROOM KEYS NEEDED TO BE RESET EVER TWO DAYS. THEN HALF WAY THROUGH THE STAY WE NOTICED COCK ROACHES WALKING ON WALLS AND IN THE DRESSER DRAWS.. VERY UNNERVING EXPERIENCE TO SAY THE LEAST.. I WILL NEVER EVER RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE AND I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN AND I BELIEVE I WAS OVER CHARGED FOR THE ACCOMADATIIONS... I WILL BE WRITING THE HOWARD JOHNSON HOTEL CHAIN TO COMPLAIN OF THESE ACCOMMODATION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roadbldr '59
Business
Vancouver, Washington State
Mar 3, 2012

An absolute atrocity!!!

This is the single most horrible hotel at which I have ever booked a room, and believe me that says a lot. First of all, my room was on the ground floor, with a back door opening to a scary-looking dark alley, in a neighborhood that didn't look very safe. The decor-- drapes, carpet, paint, bedspreads-- all looked as if they had not been replaced since the 1970s or 1980s. It was a "non-smoking" room, yet I could easily detect the odor of stale, years-old tobacco that the hotel staff attempted to cover up with aerosols...and the room smelled damp and musty to boot. The room was dimly lit with a single 40 watt bulb, and felt creepy. I'm a strong, mature, confident, not-very-sensitive man in my early 50s... yet this place deeply scared me, so much so that I would have been afraid to sleep. I refused to stay there, even though it meant absorbing the expense (as the hotel refused to refund my pre-paid money). I shudder to think of a single woman, or a young couple with kids, staying there. I strongly urge anyone reading this review to look elsewhere. If you are visiting Essex County, New Jersey, you'd be much better off at a nice, safe hotel at Newark Airport, which is where I ended up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CSNeto
Business
Canton, Michigan
May 31, 2012

Definitely bad choice

I booked a non-smoking room. I arrived 2am the lobby guy was sleeping. He gave me a smooking room. In the morning I went back to the lobby to change the room and the attendant tried to convince me that was a non-smoking room. It was ridiculous. After a hard discussion when I decided to checkout and lose all my money they found a better room (not good). The smell in the hotel is horrible everywhere. Definitely a bad choise. Never more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jennings
Business
Riverdale,Ga.
Jul 26, 2012

Just Nasty!

The bed was not changed, it smelled, bath room was not clean it smelled like a dirty locker room. It was not enjoyable at all. Run away from this one! This is not a true 3 star hotel they lied!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ihop was very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top