$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
129 reviews
a good room for a reasonable price

a good location, close to the city and surroundings See full review

  • judky
  • Jun 30, 2014
Nice room. Nice area.

I stayed one night for business. room was nice and comfortable. My only issue was the old iron and... See full review

  • Business traveler 3012
  • Apr 5, 2013
Affordable New Jersey hotel offers free amenities close to NYC action
Equidistant from the Newark airport and Manhattan, the Howard Johnson Clifton NJ is an ideal choice for travelers seeking access to the sights and sounds of New York City and the convenience of staying near the airport. An IHOP on premises makes meal time a breeze, while property amenities like a shuttle services (fees apply), coin laundry facilities, a fitness center and complimentary wireless Internet add to the appeal. Mini-refrigerators and microwaves help guests of the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ feel at home.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Shuttle service to New York City and Newark airport (fees apply)
  • Refrigerators and microwaves in every guest room
  • On-site restaurant

 

Rooms
The guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ are decorated in traditional style with brightly colored, patterned carpeting and bedding. All rooms include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, as well as TVs with HBO and premium cable. Complimentary high-speed Internet access helps keep Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ guests connected to home and the office.

 

Features
Complimentary coffee and tea is available for a morning pick-me-up in the lobby, while hunger pangs are satisfied at the on-site International House of Pancakes restaurant. The Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ offers shuttle service to both Manhattan and the Newark airport (fees apply). Other conveniences include coin laundry facilities, a business center with two workstations and a fitness center. Newspapers in the lobby, high-speed Internet and outdoor parking round out the list of free amenities at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ.

 

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • JFK International Airport (30.1 mi/48.4 km)
  • NJ Transit bus (across the street)
  • NJ Transit train (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • NJ Transit light rail (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Amtrak station (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • PATH train (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to Manhattan and Newark airport (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (12.9 mi/20.8 km)
  • Times Square (13.1 mi/21 km)
  • Empire State Building (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Central Park (15.2 mi/24.4 km)
  • Yankee Stadium (20.3 mi/32.7 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center with two computer stations and printer
  • The Howard Johnson Clifton NJ's meeting room accommodates up to 50 guests

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

40.8351 -74.1497
Area description
Downtown

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

1.8 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 129
Amenities:
1.8
Room cleanliness:
1.8
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
3.2
Value:
2.8

23% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DorisC
New Jersey
Apr 30, 2012

Okay Lodging

The staff were friendly and helpful. This is a big bang for your bucks. However, not luxury accommodations but fine fine for a short stay. IHOP is on it's property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bonita716
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Quick Stop.

We stayed here for two nights when attending a concert over in Montclair NJ. Hotel was average. Not beautiful, not gross. Just clean, and average. It did have a balcony which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
convoyeurs2006
L'Épiphanie, QC, Canada
Oct 11, 2011

New york

Very ordinairy hotel, must be renoved and refresh with paint, the personal at lobby very ordinary,no smile, no good morning,only one towel,one washcloth we were supposed to have breakfast included but they said it was a mistake from ORBITZ

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Aug 8, 2011

Worse then I expected

Based on the other reviews I didn't expect much, but still booked this hotel hoping that there were some improvements and b/c it was fairly cheap. This hotel is in a nice location. Shopping, resturaunts, and a movie theater are all close by. The hotel was still being renovated when we stayed. We got a room that had already been renovated. The upgrades were nice: new bathroom tile & fixtures, new carpet & paint. For some reason they didn't replace the television. Ours was messed up the top 1/4 of the screen. Obviously the housekeepers don't clean very well. I felt bugs or fleas jumping on my legs near the balcony door. Although I couldn't see any, it kept me up half the night thinking they were in my bed. That, and the old air cond that wouldn't cool to the temp it was set to, the running toilet, & the mini fridge. There were crums all over the floor and they must not use bleach to wash the towels & sheets. After a long day in the city, we came back to find our door to our room was left cracked open. Thankfully we were in the last room down this little side hallway and nothing was missing. The only working ice machine I found was on the 2nd floor near the pool entrance (which was still closed). The internet wasn't working. We didn't even eat at the IHOP on site thinking it might be run by the same people and just as dirty & drove down the road to a different one. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Delawanna train station is about a mile away. Free parking. Takes about 30-60 min to get to Penn Station one way after a transfer at Seccaucus Junction. Check schedule online.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Aug 8, 2011

Worse then I expected

Based on the other reviews I didn't expect much, but still booked this hotel hoping that there were some improvements and b/c it was fairly cheap. This hotel is in a nice location. Shopping, resturaunts, and a movie theater are all close by. The hotel was still being renovated when we stayed. We got a room that had already been renovated. The upgrades were nice: new bathroom tile & fixtures, new carpet & paint. For some reason they didn't replace the television. Ours was messed up the top 1/4 of the screen. Obviously the housekeepers don't clean very well. I felt bugs or fleas jumping on my legs near the balcony door. Although I couldn't see any, it kept me up half the night thinking they were in my bed. That, and the old air cond that wouldn't cool to the temp it was set to, the running toilet, & the mini fridge. There were crums all over the floor and they must not use bleach to wash the towels & sheets. After a long day in the city, we came back to find our door to our room was left cracked open. Thankfully we were in the last room down this little side hallway and nothing was missing. The only working ice machine I found was on the 2nd floor near the pool entrance (which was still closed). The internet wasn't working. We didn't even eat at the IHOP on site thinking it might be run by the same people and just as dirty & drove down the road to a different one. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Delawanna train station is about a mile away. Free parking. Takes about 30-60 min to get to Penn Station one way after a transfer at Seccaucus Junction. Check schedule online.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donna from NJ
Barrington, NJ
May 1, 2011

unreal

went to a 3 day concert. What was missing was the ability to check in with out problems. [...] Could not understand the people at the desk. It was not a very easy check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donna from NJ
Barrington, NJ
May 1, 2011

unreal

went to a 3 day concert. What was missing was the ability to check in with out problems. [...] Could not understand the people at the desk. It was not a very easy check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr Rob
NJ
Dec 14, 2009

Sub-par

2 out of 4 lights in the room wouldnt turn on. Room itself was ok, bathroom clean. Hallways dirty and looked like they hadnt been vacuumed in months. Ice machine was broken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr Rob
NJ
Dec 14, 2009

Sub-par

2 out of 4 lights in the room wouldnt turn on. Room itself was ok, bathroom clean. Hallways dirty and looked like they hadnt been vacuumed in months. Ice machine was broken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Charley07
Cincinnati, OH
Jul 22, 2009

No offense but YUCK

My friend and I stayed here first on our road trip because it was cheaper to stay here instead of in New York City. Big mistake. The rooms were dark, they smelled terrible, and there were several cracks throughout the ceiling. There were very few restaurants around, other than the IHOP it connected to, and the shuttle to the city was expensive and confusing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top