$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
View map of 680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
76 reviews
very convenient and clean

The staff was very accommodating, the room was clean. Could have used another chair or two in the... See full review

  • Norral
  • Aug 7, 2014
Not bad for a basic room

The bed was comfy, nice comfortable chairs in the room. Also had a balcony but not much of a view.... See full review

  • Tdlfl
  • Jul 14, 2014
Find many fun-filled family adventures near this Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ conveniently located near the New Jersey Turnpike and Garden State Parkway. Cheer for the New York Giants at Giants Stadium, or see concerts at the MetLife Stadium less than 15 minutes away. Take a trip to New York City less than a half hour away to see the Empire State Building or the Radio City Music Hall. Find a meal for the whole family at Tick Tock Diner less than two miles away. The friendly 24-hour front desk staff is available to help plan your day, and you can research attractions on the complimentary wireless Internet access. Energize in the fitness center, and enjoy complimentary car and large-vehicle parking. Stay productive in the meeting rooms and business center. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker and hairdryer. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 76
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.9

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Merrygoround
Business
Wisconsin
Sep 6, 2014

Good Location

HJ: Clifton is convenient to my family in Passaic and I have been there about five times. The rooms we had were recently renovated. They are clean and quiet. There is a peculiar odor in the halls and lobby - like a cheap, flowery perfume. An aerosol deodorizer would be better - to neutralize the musty smell. The windows were grimy on both sides and from our "balcony", the view was a corridor of garbage bags and discarded furniture that looked like a dump and a fire hazard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tick-Tock Café.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
out of place traveler
Business
Spokane, Washington
Aug 28, 2013

Convenient location

The location of this hotel was great for our goal of shopping for setting up a new college student. Shopping was all close and easy to get to. Room was adequate and secured at all times. Shuttle to Times square was a perfect trip into the city and the cost less than using NJ Transit. Front counter staff ultra friendly and helpful. Lots of options for dining out that are all reasonably priced. Fridge and microwave hard to find in hotels in the area is a big plus. Overall I will most likely use this when I visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Smash burger and Tick Tock Diner are great. Shannon Rose is a short drive but has great attmosphere and would recommend the Portabella and Goat Cheese Sand.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gerrygs
Business
Pennsville, NJ
Dec 20, 2012

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Need an inexpensive overnight stay. Cooperation of staff was friendly and helpful. The only problem was the toilet which didn't flush properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CSNeto
Business
Canton, Michigan
May 31, 2012

Definitely bad choice

I booked a non-smoking room. I arrived 2am the lobby guy was sleeping. He gave me a smooking room. In the morning I went back to the lobby to change the room and the attendant tried to convince me that was a non-smoking room. It was ridiculous. After a hard discussion when I decided to checkout and lose all my money they found a better room (not good). The smell in the hotel is horrible everywhere. Definitely a bad choise. Never more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DAVE K.
Business
San Tan Valley, AZ, USA
Nov 13, 2011

VERY UNHAPPY AND GROSSED OUT

WHEN WE ARRIVED THE HALLWAYS SMELLED OF CIGARETTE SMOKE. THE EXTERIOR SECURITY DOOR HAD ITS LOCK REMOVED WHICH ALLOWED FREE PASSAGEWAY FOR ANYONE TO ENTER THE SECURED ROOM AREA. WHEN WE ENTERED THE ROOM WE FOND THAT THE DECOR WAS OUT DATED. THE RUG WAS DESPERATELY IN NEED OF A SHAMPOOING AS WELL AS BEING ALL RIPPLY BY THE DOOR. LAMPS ON THE DRESSER HAD LIGHT BULB SOCKETS BROKEN IN HALF AND WIRES EXPOSED AND HANGING. THE ROOM HAD A MUSTY SMELL. THE CLOSET DOORS WERE OFF THE TRACKS AND IT TOOK THEM TWO DAYS TO REAPIR. THE REPAIR WAS MADE BY REMOVING ONE OF THE SLIDING DOORS AND LEAVING THE CLOSET WITH ONLY ONE DOOR ON IT WHICH WAS MOUNTED COCK-EYED. OUR ROOM KEYS NEEDED TO BE RESET EVER TWO DAYS. THEN HALF WAY THROUGH THE STAY WE NOTICED COCK ROACHES WALKING ON WALLS AND IN THE DRESSER DRAWS.. VERY UNNERVING EXPERIENCE TO SAY THE LEAST.. I WILL NEVER EVER RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE AND I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN AND I BELIEVE I WAS OVER CHARGED FOR THE ACCOMADATIIONS... I WILL BE WRITING THE HOWARD JOHNSON HOTEL CHAIN TO COMPLAIN OF THESE ACCOMMODATION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tameka
Business
NJ
Nov 5, 2011

Awful situation turned worse

NJ was having major power outages and we needed a place to stay and this was the closest. There was not one redeeming quality about this hotel except that they had heat. Even the hot water was skewed by the fact that the shower drain was broken and I had 6 inches of water by the time I was finished with my shower. WOULD NOT recommend this dump to anyone. Would have been better off cold at home but I have two young children to think about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jul 10, 2011

HoJo Inn, Clifton NJ

Home base while visiting friends and relatives. The hotel was made available to us for $88 a night, plus taxes, for one week. This is an expensive hotel for the area. Unfortunately it is also a cheap hotel. Pool...closed. Wireless connection. Advertised, but not operative...all week. Vaccumm. They had one, but did not use it in our room or in the halls. Ice machine...yes, but inoperative. Same story on the vending machine. Air conditioing...yes, in the rooms. The hallways were stifling. Elevator out of commission on day. With room on 4th floor, this was not a good thing. Breakfast...yes, in the IHop next door. High prices. I do not think we will stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stquayle
Business
Ga
Apr 8, 2011

It is ok for the Price

Hotel was not clean well and did not have free breakfast.Ir was under renovation.I hope it will be much better soon.I can say that it is worth to stay with this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Sep 25, 2010

"ugly and smelly starts here"

Upon arrival in the hallway, the smell was overpowering! We should have left then. The air conditioner made such a noise that sleep would have been impossible, so, we requested a room change. The next room was better but, still unacceptable. To say that we were disappointed is an understatement. We will never stay at a Howard Johnson location again! Supposedly, the location was recently renovated....you could never tell that by what we saw!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JA
Business
NJ
Aug 23, 2010

Needs work.

Bed too soft, felt the springs. Room was NS but smelt musty. Hallways smell like smoke. Parking was not a problem, but we did not feel safe walking to and from our room. Area of town is fine but don't think we will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top