$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
View map of 680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
76 reviews
very convenient and clean

The staff was very accommodating, the room was clean. Could have used another chair or two in the... See full review

  • Norral
  • Aug 7, 2014
Not bad for a basic room

The bed was comfy, nice comfortable chairs in the room. Also had a balcony but not much of a view.... See full review

  • Tdlfl
  • Jul 14, 2014
Find many fun-filled family adventures near this Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ conveniently located near the New Jersey Turnpike and Garden State Parkway. Cheer for the New York Giants at Giants Stadium, or see concerts at the MetLife Stadium less than 15 minutes away. Take a trip to New York City less than a half hour away to see the Empire State Building or the Radio City Music Hall. Find a meal for the whole family at Tick Tock Diner less than two miles away. The friendly 24-hour front desk staff is available to help plan your day, and you can research attractions on the complimentary wireless Internet access. Energize in the fitness center, and enjoy complimentary car and large-vehicle parking. Stay productive in the meeting rooms and business center. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker and hairdryer. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.9

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
convoyeurs2006
Business
L'Épiphanie, QC, Canada
Oct 11, 2011

New york

Very ordinairy hotel, must be renoved and refresh with paint, the personal at lobby very ordinary,no smile, no good morning,only one towel,one washcloth we were supposed to have breakfast included but they said it was a mistake from ORBITZ

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tameka
Business
NJ
Nov 5, 2011

Awful situation turned worse

NJ was having major power outages and we needed a place to stay and this was the closest. There was not one redeeming quality about this hotel except that they had heat. Even the hot water was skewed by the fact that the shower drain was broken and I had 6 inches of water by the time I was finished with my shower. WOULD NOT recommend this dump to anyone. Would have been better off cold at home but I have two young children to think about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DAVE K.
Business
San Tan Valley, AZ, USA
Nov 13, 2011

VERY UNHAPPY AND GROSSED OUT

WHEN WE ARRIVED THE HALLWAYS SMELLED OF CIGARETTE SMOKE. THE EXTERIOR SECURITY DOOR HAD ITS LOCK REMOVED WHICH ALLOWED FREE PASSAGEWAY FOR ANYONE TO ENTER THE SECURED ROOM AREA. WHEN WE ENTERED THE ROOM WE FOND THAT THE DECOR WAS OUT DATED. THE RUG WAS DESPERATELY IN NEED OF A SHAMPOOING AS WELL AS BEING ALL RIPPLY BY THE DOOR. LAMPS ON THE DRESSER HAD LIGHT BULB SOCKETS BROKEN IN HALF AND WIRES EXPOSED AND HANGING. THE ROOM HAD A MUSTY SMELL. THE CLOSET DOORS WERE OFF THE TRACKS AND IT TOOK THEM TWO DAYS TO REAPIR. THE REPAIR WAS MADE BY REMOVING ONE OF THE SLIDING DOORS AND LEAVING THE CLOSET WITH ONLY ONE DOOR ON IT WHICH WAS MOUNTED COCK-EYED. OUR ROOM KEYS NEEDED TO BE RESET EVER TWO DAYS. THEN HALF WAY THROUGH THE STAY WE NOTICED COCK ROACHES WALKING ON WALLS AND IN THE DRESSER DRAWS.. VERY UNNERVING EXPERIENCE TO SAY THE LEAST.. I WILL NEVER EVER RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE AND I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN AND I BELIEVE I WAS OVER CHARGED FOR THE ACCOMADATIIONS... I WILL BE WRITING THE HOWARD JOHNSON HOTEL CHAIN TO COMPLAIN OF THESE ACCOMMODATION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CSNeto
Business
Canton, Michigan
May 31, 2012

Definitely bad choice

I booked a non-smoking room. I arrived 2am the lobby guy was sleeping. He gave me a smooking room. In the morning I went back to the lobby to change the room and the attendant tried to convince me that was a non-smoking room. It was ridiculous. After a hard discussion when I decided to checkout and lose all my money they found a better room (not good). The smell in the hotel is horrible everywhere. Definitely a bad choise. Never more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NO HOJO anymore
Business
Springfield, New Jersey
Nov 15, 2012

Not good stay

Room not clean. Smoking everywhere. Noisy on the street side. Not even up to a motel standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hurricanevolunteerchef
Business
Clifton, New Jersey
Nov 20, 2012

Lucky to get in!

I was doing volunteer work in New Jersey , helping clean up homes damaged by the hurricane. After a week of long days, cool nights and sleeping in a tent at a relief center, I traveled north to visit friends from High School. I called the hotel and requested an early check-in, which was summarily denied. I asked when was the earliest I could check-in and was told 3pm. I then said thank you, please cancell my reservation. Upon this request, at 12:30pm I was assured a room would be available when I arrived. I arrived at approximately 1:00pm and was checked into a room. Not the Non-smoking room that I requested. All I wanted was a hot shower and a chance to put on some clean clothes before going out to socialize. The halls and elevator cars smelled of smoke. The staff were, for the most part, indifferent to all but themselves. I entered through a glass door which had no lock, mechanical or otherwise. I was not expecting much and was okay with the lack of quality, but the lack of concern for the guests, their safety and comfort was dissapointing. I will stay here again, not because I want to but becasue it is convenient to where I grew up. Shame it is not a better operation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Book the La Quinta. It is a few miles away, cleaner and the staff actually is helpful.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bobbyc54
Business
New York
Apr 30, 2013

Stay away !!

OMG - what a dump! Booked this w/o checking reviews on TA - big mistake. Orb would be well advised to remove this hotel from their search results. Sure it's cheap, but you know the saying ! Arrived on the 3rd floor only to be greeted by an industrial size fan in the hallway placed there in a failed attempt to remove the gagging odor of something human gone foul. The hallway rug was soaked and a stained towel mysteriously wedged at the bottom of a doorway. It didn't get better in the room: stains on the 60's retro randomly placed leather couch, stains on both bed's comforters, small black hairs dotted the pillows and the bathtub. Stains on the carpet. "Characters" roaming the hallways and sitting outside. Checked out quicker than I checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Well traveled person
Business
Lorton,VA
Dec 18, 2009

Worst experience at a hotel ever

Bathroom was not cleaned while we were at the hotel. There was construction going on in the hotel until 11:30 pm. I found a pill on the floor of my room. The dumpster was changed out at 12:00 am. The hotel had a strange smell throughout the building. The hotel is hidden behind trees as you go up route 3 and is difficult to see until the last minute. There was a lamp inside of the room that did not have a shade on it and there were also lamps that were unplugged. The elevators were very small and would move while the doors were open. The light switch for one of the lights was inside of the closet. The outside door that was supposed to only be used by guests with a key was broken, so it was unlocked at all times. There was a way to get to the IHOP through the hotel, however it was blocked by construction and we had to walk through the parking lot outside. There was also construction equipment and supplies stacked throughout the hotel, in the hallways and common areas. The coffee pot supplied in the room was not clean and a purple residue was all over the coffee supplies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The IHOP did offer military discounts. Best money saving advice do not stay at this hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dust inspector
Business
Newark, NJ
Mar 18, 2010

Dusty Place

Friendly service is a shame that the room was very dusty and not as clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pa.
Dec 30, 2009

Warning: HJ Clifton Under Renovation.

Motel under extensive renovation with noisy equipment being used into the night.TV defective too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top