$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
84 reviews
very convenient and clean

The staff was very accommodating, the room was clean. Could have used another chair or two in the... See full review

  • Norral
  • Aug 7, 2014
Not bad for a basic room

The bed was comfy, nice comfortable chairs in the room. Also had a balcony but not much of a view.... See full review

  • Tdlfl
  • Jul 14, 2014
Affordable New Jersey hotel offers free amenities close to NYC action
Equidistant from the Newark airport and Manhattan, the Howard Johnson Clifton NJ is an ideal choice for travelers seeking access to the sights and sounds of New York City and the convenience of staying near the airport. An IHOP on premises makes meal time a breeze, while property amenities like a shuttle services (fees apply), coin laundry facilities, a fitness center and complimentary wireless Internet add to the appeal. Mini-refrigerators and microwaves help guests of the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ feel at home.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Shuttle service to New York City and Newark airport (fees apply)
  • Refrigerators and microwaves in every guest room
  • On-site restaurant

 

Rooms
The guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ are decorated in traditional style with brightly colored, patterned carpeting and bedding. All rooms include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, as well as TVs with HBO and premium cable. Complimentary high-speed Internet access helps keep Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ guests connected to home and the office.

 

Features
Complimentary coffee and tea is available for a morning pick-me-up in the lobby, while hunger pangs are satisfied at the on-site International House of Pancakes restaurant. The Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ offers shuttle service to both Manhattan and the Newark airport (fees apply). Other conveniences include coin laundry facilities, a business center with two workstations and a fitness center. Newspapers in the lobby, high-speed Internet and outdoor parking round out the list of free amenities at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ.

 

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • JFK International Airport (30.1 mi/48.4 km)
  • NJ Transit bus (across the street)
  • NJ Transit train (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • NJ Transit light rail (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Amtrak station (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • PATH train (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to Manhattan and Newark airport (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (12.9 mi/20.8 km)
  • Times Square (13.1 mi/21 km)
  • Empire State Building (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Central Park (15.2 mi/24.4 km)
  • Yankee Stadium (20.3 mi/32.7 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center with two computer stations and printer
  • The Howard Johnson Clifton NJ's meeting room accommodates up to 50 guests

Hotel Map

40.8351 -74.1497
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ballston LK NY
Apr 22, 2009

Clean, Hospitable, but no Internet

We visited NY.Very Quiet and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The resturant was priced resonably and the food was great!

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 17, 2010

Wounderful Location

I had great concern to stay here but I choose to stay here because of the location. Very convenient to NYC. Hotel is recently renovated and was very comfortable. The rooms were fine and clean. Staff was very helpful. T.G.I, Clifton Commons and AMC cinema are ten minutes away. Public transport is also available near the hotel. Overall I had a very comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 19, 2010

Perfect Stay

My family had a great stay at this wonderful hotel. It is very well maintained, very clean, and seems to have been updated recently. The main attraction is the very close proximity to Manhattan. The Staff at the hotel were kind and helpful. If you are looking for an affordable stay near New York City then this hotel is the best choice. The facility was good; the location was perfect because that's where I needed to be. Worth the price which we spend. I had breakfast at IHOP restaurant which is in the hotel itself. Should stay here if you are looking at good price and comfortable hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 15, 2010

Very Comfortable Stay

I had a business meeting with one of my client at Clifton, so selected this hotel for my stay but after reading the below written reviews, I was little scared to visit the hotel. But to my surprise that was not the scenario, the hotel lobby was very good, rooms were neat and clean and bathroom was also in a good condition. The hotel has been renovated very recently. The front desk staffs work hard to make your stay an enjoyable one. They are very willing to help in any way they can. The hotel is in an extremely convenient location. The hotel have IHOP restaurant on the premises. Hotel is few miles away from the New York City. Many good restaurants are available in neighborhood. I went to see a movie at AMC theater which is at a walking distance from the hotel. I would definitely stay at this hotel during my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ballston lk, NY
Apr 11, 2010

Great location

We went to NYC! The staff was very nice. The rooms werer comfortable and very clean.The location was Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Close to NY

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hilda
Business
USA
Apr 18, 2007

Very Friendly

It Was Ok, the stay in this hotel was fine. we only stay for one day. we are hopping our next visit to stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We love Ihop so It was good that they have ti next door.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Russia
Sep 7, 2009

It was pretty nice

It was very good place to spend two nights =)) Not far from New York if to take bus =) The room was big, and the place itself was very quiet On the whole, I liked it =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cligs
east brunswick, nj
Mar 6, 2011

will visit again

friendly staff. fast service when needed towels. clean bed; and room. will visit again if in the area. *find your own taxi if you need one* the one they recommend is very expensive. ($20 for a 3 mile drive)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

hotel did not recommend a reasonably priced taxi service.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iteach10th
commack,ny
Aug 13, 2012

well worth it

We just needed an overnight hotel. Great location. We didn't need much. It was clean and comfortable.If you're looking for more it may not suit your needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business traveler 3012
Business
Tampa, Fl
Apr 5, 2013

Nice room. Nice area.

I stayed one night for business. room was nice and comfortable. My only issue was the old iron and a stain on the bed spread. Otherwise this stay was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search