$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
View map of 680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.9

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Buffalo
Jul 4, 2009

good value, close to NYC

The rooms were very clean, and cleaned very nicely each day of our stay. Cleaning staff did not disturb the placement of our personal belongings. The outside doors in the rear and on the side of the building did not lock, though they should've. They had key-card access devices, but you just had to pull the handle and you're in. The pool was completely empty. No sign indicating why or when it may be back in service. Good location - 15 minutes to Times Square, NYC. Overall good, but the unlocked doors were more disturbing than the empty pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

NYC - 5 miles....Jersey Shore - 50ish miles....Meadowlands Sports and Racing Complex - 3 miles.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Virginia
Jul 3, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Pool was empty, not water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Monterey
Jul 2, 2009

Nice Hotel...

I stayed there only for one night, room was clean, it was very close to airport, Staff were helpful and friendly. I would definetly reccomend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
New England Road Warrior
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Jun 19, 2009

Distressed but clean

A reasonable bed with threadbare sheets. Decor is of the 1960's, dinged and damaged. Furniture and lighting need replacing. Electrical wiring is inadequate for the fridge, microwave and TV. Slider windows leak air and literally are kept closed with cellophane tape. Carpeting is stained. A reasonable location to stay for northern NJ.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

NJ is known for its Diners and there is the Tick Tock Diner within a 1/2 mile west. Large portions, good food, reasonable prices.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York
Jun 10, 2009

reasonable

the staff didn't have information of room reservation after I presented a hard copy of my e-mail confirmation - and asking me if I had someting else to show my reservation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eislady
Couples
Highland, New York
May 31, 2009

Great Value

We needed a place to stay after a wedding in the area and it was easy to find and offered the best price around. The room was very comfortable with all the amenities we wanted, very clean, and quiet. Plus a great restaurant to have breakfast right on the premises. I was very satisfied and would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Need another vacation.
Couples
Charlotte, NC
May 31, 2009

The Getaway

It was as clean as it could be. The TV had poor reception. Thought the microwave didn't work until I noticed a switch the last day I was there labeled "Drop". Apparently that was the switch to activate the drop cord that the Microwave was plugged into. No real complaints, it was 4 walls, a bed, a TV, and a microfridge. Just not a home-like feeling at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Attleboro, MA
May 29, 2009

Convenient

When I travel, I don't want much, replenish the expendables I use, and if you take a towel, floor mat whatever, replace it. Every nightis an adventure here, will there be a bath mat? Did they replace the coffee I used? Face clothes? Hand towels? What did they forget today.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJ
Single
EAST LONGMEADOW, MA
May 19, 2009

GREAT LOCATION; EXCEPTIONALLY CLEAN ROOM

EXCELLENT LOCATION. ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN, AND CHECK-IN WAS FAST AND PROBLEM FREE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

PLENTY OF DINING OPTIONS WITHIN 2 MILE RADIUS

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Paterson, NJ
May 11, 2009

Decent for Cost

This was my second time at this hotel. My first rating, where we stayed in a room with 2 queen beds, would have been 4 stars. The room was a good size, had a nice size balcony, did not smell bad considering it was a smoker's room, was clean, everything was in working order. But the second time was different. We were put into a "Business class 1" room with one king bed, smoking. The room and hallways smelled of mold, coffee, cigarettes, burnt rubber, and wet dog. They seemed to put all the loud partiers on the same floor as us. Most of the patrons on our floor appeared to be drunk and high, even arrogant to the management, but nothing was done to quiet or remove them. The furniture in the room was all scratched up. There were bolts and sharp metal pieces (possibly where a picture used to be) hanging from the wall. The travel sized toiletries were opened, we were only given one towel, the bathroom was dusty and yellow-ish. There was no balcony, just a hard to open window. When we used the microwave, it made the room reek. The most disgusting part was that the blanket in between the sheet and comforter looked like it hadn't been washed in months. It was sticky, stiff, and was covered in white stains. It was so disgusting we had to pull the blanket off. When we complained to the front desk, we were told that the managers were not on staff and to leave my number so that I can be contacted, but never was. My best advice would be to ask them for the standard rooms, NOT business class. And search the room well before you settle in, so that you can switch rooms early if needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top