$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
View map of 680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stquayle
Business
Ga
Apr 8, 2011

It is ok for the Price

Hotel was not clean well and did not have free breakfast.Ir was under renovation.I hope it will be much better soon.I can say that it is worth to stay with this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cligs
Business
east brunswick, nj
Mar 6, 2011

will visit again

friendly staff. fast service when needed towels. clean bed; and room. will visit again if in the area. *find your own taxi if you need one* the one they recommend is very expensive. ($20 for a 3 mile drive)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

hotel did not recommend a reasonably priced taxi service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr & Mrs commuters
Business
Willingboro NJ
Feb 27, 2011

A closet with a bed

Dirty rugs, very small, dirty desk, they can use training in cleaning. Lousy customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ice Cream Traveler
Business
CT
Jan 17, 2011

Inaction Creates Next Day Clean up

Group of young adults having a party in next room at 8:00pm. Called front desk to calm them down as they were having karaoke in there. No action was taken. Luckily, the group left their hotel room. I fell asleep only to hear loud puking sounds from next door. Not sure if they made it to bathroom. Considering I heard a splatter, I doubt it. Told front desk up checking out that they may have a big clean up in that room, all because the front desk the previous night did not take action. I would hate to have that room, should I return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

TGI Friday's is close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
montclair new jersey
Dec 2, 2010

just the really ugly

Had to wait to check in, only one front desk attendant the other one was mopping the floor at 3:00 pm check in time. [...] When i got to the room the door was blocked open. Rear outside door to the hotel was broken - no lock so anyon has access to the halls 24 - 7. Hotel was party central, people across the hall were screaming at each other alot and until 1:00 a.m..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
QUEENS,NY
Nov 14, 2010

WAS CONVIENIENT AND CLOSE BY

WENT TO A MUSEUM,PARK AND SHOPPING,NOTHING WAS MISSING IN MY STAY BUT I DO SAY THEIR CARPETING NEED DEEP CLEANING. I ONLY THOUGHT THAT THE SERVICE I GOT ON THE [...] PHONE AND WHEN I ARRIVED THEIR WAS DIFFERENT IFO.FROM KING SIZE BED THEY PUT US IN A QUEEN SIZE BED....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Sep 25, 2010

"ugly and smelly starts here"

Upon arrival in the hallway, the smell was overpowering! We should have left then. The air conditioner made such a noise that sleep would have been impossible, so, we requested a room change. The next room was better but, still unacceptable. To say that we were disappointed is an understatement. We will never stay at a Howard Johnson location again! Supposedly, the location was recently renovated....you could never tell that by what we saw!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JA
Business
NJ
Aug 23, 2010

Needs work.

Bed too soft, felt the springs. Room was NS but smelt musty. Hallways smell like smoke. Parking was not a problem, but we did not feel safe walking to and from our room. Area of town is fine but don't think we will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
g_saba[@]
Business
miami, fl
Jul 28, 2010

BAD EXPERIENCE

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dave Drummer
Business
Harrisburg, PA
May 23, 2010

Howard Johnson Clifton NJ

Room was uncomfortably warm. AC did not work properly. Road noise prevented us from opening the window to cool the room. TV did work. Not a great experience here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top