$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
View map of 680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.9

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
QUEENS,NY
Nov 14, 2010

WAS CONVIENIENT AND CLOSE BY

WENT TO A MUSEUM,PARK AND SHOPPING,NOTHING WAS MISSING IN MY STAY BUT I DO SAY THEIR CARPETING NEED DEEP CLEANING. I ONLY THOUGHT THAT THE SERVICE I GOT ON THE [...] PHONE AND WHEN I ARRIVED THEIR WAS DIFFERENT IFO.FROM KING SIZE BED THEY PUT US IN A QUEEN SIZE BED....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Massachusetts
Sep 25, 2010

"ugly and smelly starts here"

Upon arrival in the hallway, the smell was overpowering! We should have left then. The air conditioner made such a noise that sleep would have been impossible, so, we requested a room change. The next room was better but, still unacceptable. To say that we were disappointed is an understatement. We will never stay at a Howard Johnson location again! Supposedly, the location was recently renovated....you could never tell that by what we saw!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JA
Family
NJ
Aug 23, 2010

Needs work.

Bed too soft, felt the springs. Room was NS but smelt musty. Hallways smell like smoke. Parking was not a problem, but we did not feel safe walking to and from our room. Area of town is fine but don't think we will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dave Drummer
Family
Harrisburg, PA
May 23, 2010

Howard Johnson Clifton NJ

Room was uncomfortably warm. AC did not work properly. Road noise prevented us from opening the window to cool the room. TV did work. Not a great experience here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Apr 19, 2010

Perfect Stay

My family had a great stay at this wonderful hotel. It is very well maintained, very clean, and seems to have been updated recently. The main attraction is the very close proximity to Manhattan. The Staff at the hotel were kind and helpful. If you are looking for an affordable stay near New York City then this hotel is the best choice. The facility was good; the location was perfect because that's where I needed to be. Worth the price which we spend. I had breakfast at IHOP restaurant which is in the hotel itself. Should stay here if you are looking at good price and comfortable hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
USA
Apr 17, 2010

Wounderful Location

I had great concern to stay here but I choose to stay here because of the location. Very convenient to NYC. Hotel is recently renovated and was very comfortable. The rooms were fine and clean. Staff was very helpful. T.G.I, Clifton Commons and AMC cinema are ten minutes away. Public transport is also available near the hotel. Overall I had a very comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 15, 2010

Very Comfortable Stay

I had a business meeting with one of my client at Clifton, so selected this hotel for my stay but after reading the below written reviews, I was little scared to visit the hotel. But to my surprise that was not the scenario, the hotel lobby was very good, rooms were neat and clean and bathroom was also in a good condition. The hotel has been renovated very recently. The front desk staffs work hard to make your stay an enjoyable one. They are very willing to help in any way they can. The hotel is in an extremely convenient location. The hotel have IHOP restaurant on the premises. Hotel is few miles away from the New York City. Many good restaurants are available in neighborhood. I went to see a movie at AMC theater which is at a walking distance from the hotel. I would definitely stay at this hotel during my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Ballston lk, NY
Apr 11, 2010

Great location

We went to NYC! The staff was very nice. The rooms werer comfortable and very clean.The location was Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Close to NY

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dust inspector
Family
Newark, NJ
Mar 18, 2010

Dusty Place

Friendly service is a shame that the room was very dusty and not as clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Pa.
Dec 30, 2009

Warning: HJ Clifton Under Renovation.

Motel under extensive renovation with noisy equipment being used into the night.TV defective too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top