$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
89 reviews
very convenient and clean

The staff was very accommodating, the room was clean. Could have used another chair or two in the... See full review

  • Norral
  • Aug 7, 2014
Not bad for a basic room

The bed was comfy, nice comfortable chairs in the room. Also had a balcony but not much of a view.... See full review

  • Tdlfl
  • Jul 14, 2014
Affordable New Jersey hotel offers free amenities close to NYC action
Equidistant from the Newark airport and Manhattan, the Howard Johnson Clifton NJ is an ideal choice for travelers seeking access to the sights and sounds of New York City and the convenience of staying near the airport. An IHOP on premises makes meal time a breeze, while property amenities like a shuttle services (fees apply), coin laundry facilities, a fitness center and complimentary wireless Internet add to the appeal. Mini-refrigerators and microwaves help guests of the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ feel at home.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Shuttle service to New York City and Newark airport (fees apply)
  • Refrigerators and microwaves in every guest room
  • On-site restaurant

 

Rooms
The guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ are decorated in traditional style with brightly colored, patterned carpeting and bedding. All rooms include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, as well as TVs with HBO and premium cable. Complimentary high-speed Internet access helps keep Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ guests connected to home and the office.

 

Features
Complimentary coffee and tea is available for a morning pick-me-up in the lobby, while hunger pangs are satisfied at the on-site International House of Pancakes restaurant. The Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ offers shuttle service to both Manhattan and the Newark airport (fees apply). Other conveniences include coin laundry facilities, a business center with two workstations and a fitness center. Newspapers in the lobby, high-speed Internet and outdoor parking round out the list of free amenities at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ.

 

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • JFK International Airport (30.1 mi/48.4 km)
  • NJ Transit bus (across the street)
  • NJ Transit train (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • NJ Transit light rail (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Amtrak station (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • PATH train (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to Manhattan and Newark airport (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (12.9 mi/20.8 km)
  • Times Square (13.1 mi/21 km)
  • Empire State Building (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Central Park (15.2 mi/24.4 km)
  • Yankee Stadium (20.3 mi/32.7 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center with two computer stations and printer
  • The Howard Johnson Clifton NJ's meeting room accommodates up to 50 guests

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roman
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Do not hope for anything

Do not hope for anything. Dirty rooms, dark colors in bed clothes and furniture to hide dirty, bugs (ants, mosquitoes) and RATS!!!!!! Never go to this hotel!! More

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Out of Iowa
Business
Des Moines, IA
Oct 5, 2011

Got what I paid for

Got a good deal on this room, but was not a great place to spend any time. I guess if you are going to spend all your time somewhere else, and don't care that the mattresses are lousy and covered with plastic, and faucet nearly falling off the tub. Could tell they had tried to update the rooms, so that was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Aug 8, 2011

Worse then I expected

Based on the other reviews I didn't expect much, but still booked this hotel hoping that there were some improvements and b/c it was fairly cheap. This hotel is in a nice location. Shopping, resturaunts, and a movie theater are all close by. The hotel was still being renovated when we stayed. We got a room that had already been renovated. The upgrades were nice: new bathroom tile & fixtures, new carpet & paint. For some reason they didn't replace the television. Ours was messed up the top 1/4 of the screen. Obviously the housekeepers don't clean very well. I felt bugs or fleas jumping on my legs near the balcony door. Although I couldn't see any, it kept me up half the night thinking they were in my bed. That, and the old air cond that wouldn't cool to the temp it was set to, the running toilet, & the mini fridge. There were crums all over the floor and they must not use bleach to wash the towels & sheets. After a long day in the city, we came back to find our door to our room was left cracked open. Thankfully we were in the last room down this little side hallway and nothing was missing. The only working ice machine I found was on the 2nd floor near the pool entrance (which was still closed). The internet wasn't working. We didn't even eat at the IHOP on site thinking it might be run by the same people and just as dirty & drove down the road to a different one. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Delawanna train station is about a mile away. Free parking. Takes about 30-60 min to get to Penn Station one way after a transfer at Seccaucus Junction. Check schedule online.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jul 20, 2011

Room was nice remodeling going on

This hotel is in a very good location close to NYC without the traffic. The adjoining IHOP was a great place for breakfast. The turn in to the Hotel was hard to see. The room was nice and comfortable. We had a great nights sleep with a great IHOP breakfast the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

IHOP was adjoined to Hotel and Shopping all arund the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jul 10, 2011

HoJo Inn, Clifton NJ

Home base while visiting friends and relatives. The hotel was made available to us for $88 a night, plus taxes, for one week. This is an expensive hotel for the area. Unfortunately it is also a cheap hotel. Pool...closed. Wireless connection. Advertised, but not operative...all week. Vaccumm. They had one, but did not use it in our room or in the halls. Ice machine...yes, but inoperative. Same story on the vending machine. Air conditioing...yes, in the rooms. The hallways were stifling. Elevator out of commission on day. With room on 4th floor, this was not a good thing. Breakfast...yes, in the IHop next door. High prices. I do not think we will stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wally Traveler
Business
Cranston, RI
May 19, 2011

Nice and peaceful

Nice to stay here, they have an ihops next door.. the wifi signal was weak for some reason but other than that it's a cool place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HR Manager
Business
Paterson, NJ
May 11, 2011

Extremely Disatisfied

Night manager was not willing to assist with problem arising in room after hours. Phone in room also did not work and there was no wake up call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donna from NJ
Business
Barrington, NJ
May 1, 2011

unreal

went to a 3 day concert. What was missing was the ability to check in with out problems. [...] Could not understand the people at the desk. It was not a very easy check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cranston, RI
Apr 24, 2011

Nice stay but no breakfast

This place is nice, i stayed here for 3 nights. The smell people keep mentioning is that 'Hindu' smell, its not bad it's just a cultural smell i guess. It stated they offer complimentary breakfast but they don't actually do that at this howard johnson. they do have a ihops next door.. They have a fitness room and parking. I ordered chinese food during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stquayle
Business
Ga
Apr 8, 2011

It is ok for the Price

Hotel was not clean well and did not have free breakfast.Ir was under renovation.I hope it will be much better soon.I can say that it is worth to stay with this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top