$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
View map of 680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.9

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jul 20, 2011

Room was nice remodeling going on

This hotel is in a very good location close to NYC without the traffic. The adjoining IHOP was a great place for breakfast. The turn in to the Hotel was hard to see. The room was nice and comfortable. We had a great nights sleep with a great IHOP breakfast the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

IHOP was adjoined to Hotel and Shopping all arund the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jul 10, 2011

HoJo Inn, Clifton NJ

Home base while visiting friends and relatives. The hotel was made available to us for $88 a night, plus taxes, for one week. This is an expensive hotel for the area. Unfortunately it is also a cheap hotel. Pool...closed. Wireless connection. Advertised, but not operative...all week. Vaccumm. They had one, but did not use it in our room or in the halls. Ice machine...yes, but inoperative. Same story on the vending machine. Air conditioing...yes, in the rooms. The hallways were stifling. Elevator out of commission on day. With room on 4th floor, this was not a good thing. Breakfast...yes, in the IHop next door. High prices. I do not think we will stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wally Traveler
Business
Cranston, RI
May 19, 2011

Nice and peaceful

Nice to stay here, they have an ihops next door.. the wifi signal was weak for some reason but other than that it's a cool place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HR Manager
Business
Paterson, NJ
May 11, 2011

Extremely Disatisfied

Night manager was not willing to assist with problem arising in room after hours. Phone in room also did not work and there was no wake up call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donna from NJ
Business
Barrington, NJ
May 1, 2011

unreal

went to a 3 day concert. What was missing was the ability to check in with out problems. [...] Could not understand the people at the desk. It was not a very easy check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cranston, RI
Apr 24, 2011

Nice stay but no breakfast

This place is nice, i stayed here for 3 nights. The smell people keep mentioning is that 'Hindu' smell, its not bad it's just a cultural smell i guess. It stated they offer complimentary breakfast but they don't actually do that at this howard johnson. they do have a ihops next door.. They have a fitness room and parking. I ordered chinese food during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stquayle
Business
Ga
Apr 8, 2011

It is ok for the Price

Hotel was not clean well and did not have free breakfast.Ir was under renovation.I hope it will be much better soon.I can say that it is worth to stay with this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr & Mrs commuters
Business
Willingboro NJ
Feb 27, 2011

A closet with a bed

Dirty rugs, very small, dirty desk, they can use training in cleaning. Lousy customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ice Cream Traveler
Business
CT
Jan 17, 2011

Inaction Creates Next Day Clean up

Group of young adults having a party in next room at 8:00pm. Called front desk to calm them down as they were having karaoke in there. No action was taken. Luckily, the group left their hotel room. I fell asleep only to hear loud puking sounds from next door. Not sure if they made it to bathroom. Considering I heard a splatter, I doubt it. Told front desk up checking out that they may have a big clean up in that room, all because the front desk the previous night did not take action. I would hate to have that room, should I return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

TGI Friday's is close by.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
montclair new jersey
Dec 2, 2010

just the really ugly

Had to wait to check in, only one front desk attendant the other one was mopping the floor at 3:00 pm check in time. [...] When i got to the room the door was blocked open. Rear outside door to the hotel was broken - no lock so anyon has access to the halls 24 - 7. Hotel was party central, people across the hall were screaming at each other alot and until 1:00 a.m..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top