$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
130 reviews
Not bad for a basic room

The bed was comfy, nice comfortable chairs in the room. Also had a balcony but not much of a view.... See full review

  • Tdlfl
  • Jul 14, 2014
a good room for a reasonable price

a good location, close to the city and surroundings See full review

  • judky
  • Jun 30, 2014
Affordable New Jersey hotel offers free amenities close to NYC action
Equidistant from the Newark airport and Manhattan, the Howard Johnson Clifton NJ is an ideal choice for travelers seeking access to the sights and sounds of New York City and the convenience of staying near the airport. An IHOP on premises makes meal time a breeze, while property amenities like a shuttle services (fees apply), coin laundry facilities, a fitness center and complimentary wireless Internet add to the appeal. Mini-refrigerators and microwaves help guests of the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ feel at home.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Shuttle service to New York City and Newark airport (fees apply)
  • Refrigerators and microwaves in every guest room
  • On-site restaurant

 

Rooms
The guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ are decorated in traditional style with brightly colored, patterned carpeting and bedding. All rooms include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, as well as TVs with HBO and premium cable. Complimentary high-speed Internet access helps keep Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ guests connected to home and the office.

 

Features
Complimentary coffee and tea is available for a morning pick-me-up in the lobby, while hunger pangs are satisfied at the on-site International House of Pancakes restaurant. The Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ offers shuttle service to both Manhattan and the Newark airport (fees apply). Other conveniences include coin laundry facilities, a business center with two workstations and a fitness center. Newspapers in the lobby, high-speed Internet and outdoor parking round out the list of free amenities at the Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ.

 

Transportation
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • JFK International Airport (30.1 mi/48.4 km)
  • NJ Transit bus (across the street)
  • NJ Transit train (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • NJ Transit light rail (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Amtrak station (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • PATH train (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to Manhattan and Newark airport (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (12.9 mi/20.8 km)
  • Times Square (13.1 mi/21 km)
  • Empire State Building (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Central Park (15.2 mi/24.4 km)
  • Yankee Stadium (20.3 mi/32.7 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center with two computer stations and printer
  • The Howard Johnson Clifton NJ's meeting room accommodates up to 50 guests

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

40.8351 -74.1497
Area description
Downtown

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DAVE K.
San Tan Valley, AZ, USA
Nov 13, 2011

VERY UNHAPPY AND GROSSED OUT

WHEN WE ARRIVED THE HALLWAYS SMELLED OF CIGARETTE SMOKE. THE EXTERIOR SECURITY DOOR HAD ITS LOCK REMOVED WHICH ALLOWED FREE PASSAGEWAY FOR ANYONE TO ENTER THE SECURED ROOM AREA. WHEN WE ENTERED THE ROOM WE FOND THAT THE DECOR WAS OUT DATED. THE RUG WAS DESPERATELY IN NEED OF A SHAMPOOING AS WELL AS BEING ALL RIPPLY BY THE DOOR. LAMPS ON THE DRESSER HAD LIGHT BULB SOCKETS BROKEN IN HALF AND WIRES EXPOSED AND HANGING. THE ROOM HAD A MUSTY SMELL. THE CLOSET DOORS WERE OFF THE TRACKS AND IT TOOK THEM TWO DAYS TO REAPIR. THE REPAIR WAS MADE BY REMOVING ONE OF THE SLIDING DOORS AND LEAVING THE CLOSET WITH ONLY ONE DOOR ON IT WHICH WAS MOUNTED COCK-EYED. OUR ROOM KEYS NEEDED TO BE RESET EVER TWO DAYS. THEN HALF WAY THROUGH THE STAY WE NOTICED COCK ROACHES WALKING ON WALLS AND IN THE DRESSER DRAWS.. VERY UNNERVING EXPERIENCE TO SAY THE LEAST.. I WILL NEVER EVER RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE AND I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN AND I BELIEVE I WAS OVER CHARGED FOR THE ACCOMADATIIONS... I WILL BE WRITING THE HOWARD JOHNSON HOTEL CHAIN TO COMPLAIN OF THESE ACCOMMODATION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tameka
NJ
Nov 5, 2011

Awful situation turned worse

NJ was having major power outages and we needed a place to stay and this was the closest. There was not one redeeming quality about this hotel except that they had heat. Even the hot water was skewed by the fact that the shower drain was broken and I had 6 inches of water by the time I was finished with my shower. WOULD NOT recommend this dump to anyone. Would have been better off cold at home but I have two young children to think about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
convoyeurs2006
L'Épiphanie, QC, Canada
Oct 11, 2011

New york

Very ordinairy hotel, must be renoved and refresh with paint, the personal at lobby very ordinary,no smile, no good morning,only one towel,one washcloth we were supposed to have breakfast included but they said it was a mistake from ORBITZ

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roman
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Do not hope for anything

Do not hope for anything. Dirty rooms, dark colors in bed clothes and furniture to hide dirty, bugs (ants, mosquitoes) and RATS!!!!!! Never go to this hotel!! More

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roman
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Do not hope for anything

Do not hope for anything. Dirty rooms, dark colors in bed clothes and furniture to hide dirty, bugs (ants, mosquitoes) and RATS!!!!!! Never go to this hotel!! More

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Out of Iowa
Business
Des Moines, IA
Oct 5, 2011

Got what I paid for

Got a good deal on this room, but was not a great place to spend any time. I guess if you are going to spend all your time somewhere else, and don't care that the mattresses are lousy and covered with plastic, and faucet nearly falling off the tub. Could tell they had tried to update the rooms, so that was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Aug 8, 2011

Worse then I expected

Based on the other reviews I didn't expect much, but still booked this hotel hoping that there were some improvements and b/c it was fairly cheap. This hotel is in a nice location. Shopping, resturaunts, and a movie theater are all close by. The hotel was still being renovated when we stayed. We got a room that had already been renovated. The upgrades were nice: new bathroom tile & fixtures, new carpet & paint. For some reason they didn't replace the television. Ours was messed up the top 1/4 of the screen. Obviously the housekeepers don't clean very well. I felt bugs or fleas jumping on my legs near the balcony door. Although I couldn't see any, it kept me up half the night thinking they were in my bed. That, and the old air cond that wouldn't cool to the temp it was set to, the running toilet, & the mini fridge. There were crums all over the floor and they must not use bleach to wash the towels & sheets. After a long day in the city, we came back to find our door to our room was left cracked open. Thankfully we were in the last room down this little side hallway and nothing was missing. The only working ice machine I found was on the 2nd floor near the pool entrance (which was still closed). The internet wasn't working. We didn't even eat at the IHOP on site thinking it might be run by the same people and just as dirty & drove down the road to a different one. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Delawanna train station is about a mile away. Free parking. Takes about 30-60 min to get to Penn Station one way after a transfer at Seccaucus Junction. Check schedule online.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Aug 8, 2011

Worse then I expected

Based on the other reviews I didn't expect much, but still booked this hotel hoping that there were some improvements and b/c it was fairly cheap. This hotel is in a nice location. Shopping, resturaunts, and a movie theater are all close by. The hotel was still being renovated when we stayed. We got a room that had already been renovated. The upgrades were nice: new bathroom tile & fixtures, new carpet & paint. For some reason they didn't replace the television. Ours was messed up the top 1/4 of the screen. Obviously the housekeepers don't clean very well. I felt bugs or fleas jumping on my legs near the balcony door. Although I couldn't see any, it kept me up half the night thinking they were in my bed. That, and the old air cond that wouldn't cool to the temp it was set to, the running toilet, & the mini fridge. There were crums all over the floor and they must not use bleach to wash the towels & sheets. After a long day in the city, we came back to find our door to our room was left cracked open. Thankfully we were in the last room down this little side hallway and nothing was missing. The only working ice machine I found was on the 2nd floor near the pool entrance (which was still closed). The internet wasn't working. We didn't even eat at the IHOP on site thinking it might be run by the same people and just as dirty & drove down the road to a different one. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Delawanna train station is about a mile away. Free parking. Takes about 30-60 min to get to Penn Station one way after a transfer at Seccaucus Junction. Check schedule online.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
VA
Jul 20, 2011

Room was nice remodeling going on

This hotel is in a very good location close to NYC without the traffic. The adjoining IHOP was a great place for breakfast. The turn in to the Hotel was hard to see. The room was nice and comfortable. We had a great nights sleep with a great IHOP breakfast the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

IHOP was adjoined to Hotel and Shopping all arund the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
VA
Jul 20, 2011

Room was nice remodeling going on

This hotel is in a very good location close to NYC without the traffic. The adjoining IHOP was a great place for breakfast. The turn in to the Hotel was hard to see. The room was nice and comfortable. We had a great nights sleep with a great IHOP breakfast the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

IHOP was adjoined to Hotel and Shopping all arund the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top