$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

3 stars
View map of 680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
prandj
Business
Virginia
Sep 21, 2012

was ok for one night

room was clean, but felt dirty. Maybe because the room I was in had a little metal door next to the bed that was no secured and would not shut. it Exposed a vary dirty pipe like for water or something, and behind the bed looked like there might have been a hole near the floor behind the bed. elevators did not work correctly. Hotel looked very creepy in the hall way. Had an IHOP next to it. free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iteach10th
Business
commack,ny
Aug 13, 2012

well worth it

We just needed an overnight hotel. Great location. We didn't need much. It was clean and comfortable.If you're looking for more it may not suit your needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jennings
Business
Riverdale,Ga.
Jul 26, 2012

Just Nasty!

The bed was not changed, it smelled, bath room was not clean it smelled like a dirty locker room. It was not enjoyable at all. Run away from this one! This is not a true 3 star hotel they lied!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ihop was very close.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
springtime
Business
Ohio
Jun 29, 2012

Wi Fi

Wifi didnt work very well. Rest of hotel stay was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CSNeto
Business
Canton, Michigan
May 31, 2012

Definitely bad choice

I booked a non-smoking room. I arrived 2am the lobby guy was sleeping. He gave me a smooking room. In the morning I went back to the lobby to change the room and the attendant tried to convince me that was a non-smoking room. It was ridiculous. After a hard discussion when I decided to checkout and lose all my money they found a better room (not good). The smell in the hotel is horrible everywhere. Definitely a bad choise. Never more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DorisC
Business
New Jersey
Apr 30, 2012

Okay Lodging

The staff were friendly and helpful. This is a big bang for your bucks. However, not luxury accommodations but fine fine for a short stay. IHOP is on it's property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bonita716
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Quick Stop.

We stayed here for two nights when attending a concert over in Montclair NJ. Hotel was average. Not beautiful, not gross. Just clean, and average. It did have a balcony which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roadbldr '59
Business
Vancouver, Washington State
Mar 3, 2012

An absolute atrocity!!!

This is the single most horrible hotel at which I have ever booked a room, and believe me that says a lot. First of all, my room was on the ground floor, with a back door opening to a scary-looking dark alley, in a neighborhood that didn't look very safe. The decor-- drapes, carpet, paint, bedspreads-- all looked as if they had not been replaced since the 1970s or 1980s. It was a "non-smoking" room, yet I could easily detect the odor of stale, years-old tobacco that the hotel staff attempted to cover up with aerosols...and the room smelled damp and musty to boot. The room was dimly lit with a single 40 watt bulb, and felt creepy. I'm a strong, mature, confident, not-very-sensitive man in my early 50s... yet this place deeply scared me, so much so that I would have been afraid to sleep. I refused to stay there, even though it meant absorbing the expense (as the hotel refused to refund my pre-paid money). I shudder to think of a single woman, or a young couple with kids, staying there. I strongly urge anyone reading this review to look elsewhere. If you are visiting Essex County, New Jersey, you'd be much better off at a nice, safe hotel at Newark Airport, which is where I ended up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jet jockey
Business
Olathe, Kansas, USA
Nov 23, 2011

Unfriendly staff

At check in the front desk was very unfriendly. I never felt welcome. I seemed to be an inconvenience to their day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DAVE K.
Business
San Tan Valley, AZ, USA
Nov 13, 2011

VERY UNHAPPY AND GROSSED OUT

WHEN WE ARRIVED THE HALLWAYS SMELLED OF CIGARETTE SMOKE. THE EXTERIOR SECURITY DOOR HAD ITS LOCK REMOVED WHICH ALLOWED FREE PASSAGEWAY FOR ANYONE TO ENTER THE SECURED ROOM AREA. WHEN WE ENTERED THE ROOM WE FOND THAT THE DECOR WAS OUT DATED. THE RUG WAS DESPERATELY IN NEED OF A SHAMPOOING AS WELL AS BEING ALL RIPPLY BY THE DOOR. LAMPS ON THE DRESSER HAD LIGHT BULB SOCKETS BROKEN IN HALF AND WIRES EXPOSED AND HANGING. THE ROOM HAD A MUSTY SMELL. THE CLOSET DOORS WERE OFF THE TRACKS AND IT TOOK THEM TWO DAYS TO REAPIR. THE REPAIR WAS MADE BY REMOVING ONE OF THE SLIDING DOORS AND LEAVING THE CLOSET WITH ONLY ONE DOOR ON IT WHICH WAS MOUNTED COCK-EYED. OUR ROOM KEYS NEEDED TO BE RESET EVER TWO DAYS. THEN HALF WAY THROUGH THE STAY WE NOTICED COCK ROACHES WALKING ON WALLS AND IN THE DRESSER DRAWS.. VERY UNNERVING EXPERIENCE TO SAY THE LEAST.. I WILL NEVER EVER RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE AND I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN AND I BELIEVE I WAS OVER CHARGED FOR THE ACCOMADATIIONS... I WILL BE WRITING THE HOWARD JOHNSON HOTEL CHAIN TO COMPLAIN OF THESE ACCOMMODATION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top