$120 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 22, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

Virginia Hotel

3 stars
25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
9 reviews
Couples fun

The Virginia Hotel was everything we expected. The rooms were clean and comfortable, had a lot of... See full review

  • getawayrelaxandenjoy
  • Apr 27, 2014
Anniversary Weekend

The Virginia Hotel is a must for a romantic getaway in lovely Cape May. A historic Victorian in the... See full review

  • Beegie
  • Apr 28, 2014
Virginia hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Virginia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Virginia Hotel Rooms

Standard Queen Room
Standard Queen Room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fishing
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for Virginia Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Virginia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beegie
Business
Wilmington, DE
Apr 28, 2014

Anniversary Weekend

The Virginia Hotel is a must for a romantic getaway in lovely Cape May. A historic Victorian in the heart of the historic district. The restaurant experience there was outstanding. The only suggestion we would offer is that our room needed a new mattress. Ours made for a restless night with morning soreness. The air conditioning was also not on yet as it was late April but we opened a window which helped. Despite that, we would readily go back for another special weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is at a premium in Cape May so be prepared to use the valet attendant. The morning we departed the valet was not on duty so we had to walk a block or so to find our car and then load the car ourselves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Virginia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
getawayrelaxandenjoy
Business
Queens, New York
Apr 27, 2014

Couples fun

The Virginia Hotel was everything we expected. The rooms were clean and comfortable, had a lot of nearby restaurants and shopping as well as entertainment. The beach is a short, one minute walk south.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Virginia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tradition
Business
Marlton, NJ
Jan 6, 2014

VERY DISAPPOINTED

Arrived at hotel on very cold afternoon. Checked in with another couple and were told that we could not be near each other, nor on the same floor as there were no rooms. When our friends ceiling/roof leaked during the night, they moved them in a room right next door to us. Restaurant was CLOSED for renovations and we were NOT made aware of this until check in. Could not get any hot water for tea and were given vouchers to walk 3 blocks to another restaurant for breakfast the following morning. Not only that but the hotel couldn't even have a coffee pot in the lobby which doesn't require hot water, but electricity. We had to wait until 8am (2 hours) to get dressed, walk 3 blocks in the slush to find coffee. Came back to hotel and no fire to sit by. This stay was extremely disappointing as we wanted to enjoy the ambiance of the hotel and not have to keep getting dressed in winter coats to go eat dinner, breakfast, and find coffee. It was ridiculous. And to make matters worse, the hotel clerk told us to go next door for coffee, watched us go back upstairs to get our coats, leave the building and the place didn't open for another hour. VERY DISAPPOINTED and will NOT be returning for any future stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Virginia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carol my love
Business
Potomac, MD
Jun 5, 2013

Virginia Hotel experience

This hotel goes out of its way to provide little things that make up for its lack of "big hotel amenities", like they can't pay your daily "beach fee" but they provide you with beach chairs, etc. and even set them up for you. And they don't have space for a workout room so they provide you with access at their sister hotel. I loved it that we had the option of having our breakfast brought to the lounge, the front porch, or our room. Our TV was totally messed up and the young man who came did not give up until it was working perfectly. The front desk staff was very helpful with information. Next time we will bring dressier clothing so we will feel comfortable eating in their restaurant which looked very inviting. Here are some minor hints for the hotel: the room was quite large so I wondered why the bed was pushed into the corner so that I had to crawl out over the end. Somehow it would be nice to have some shelf space in the bathroom for personal toiletries, and last, the place was clean and gorgeous, but the windows were really dirty on the outside, and the tables on the patio we overlooked were also dirty. We just kept the shutters closed. It was our first time at Cape May and we just loved it. Looked like a town in a movie as everything was so tidy and pristiene. We attended a free Irish concert in the Convention hall which was a lot of fun. I was so glad I had purchased a sweatshirt earlier. #When we left home it was 90 degrees and when we arrived in Cape May there was brisk wind with a definite chill#. And we loved the tour of the Emlyn Physick estate even though we left it early to catch our ferry, which was a half hour late, so we could have stayed for the whole tour. The guide was excellent. When we got to Lewes, DE, it certainly was a comedown from the gorgeous town of Cape May, although it had its own certain charm. And the people we met there made it quite a nice experience. Nice trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't forget something with long sleeves. Also, the dining in B&B's/Inns is a little more formal so you need to be prepared for that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Virginia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
High Eng
Business
Northern Virginia
Mar 26, 2013

Great lodging for a great price

Fabulous service - great staff, comfortable setting, perfect get away and worked well for my business trip. Next time I'm bringing my hubbie with me for a romantic trip !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Virginia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
High Eng
Business
Northern Virginia
Mar 21, 2013

Fabulous! Can't wait to stay again!!

Great service, beautiful rooms, comfortable, classy - must visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Virginia Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ihatethevirginiahotel
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Mar 9, 2012

They DON'T allow kids. The place is like a nasty old grandma's house

1. I arrived and they told me "no kids under 13." Nowhere on their website does it say this. Nowhere on this booking website does it say this. In fact, this site lets you book this hotel when you state specifically that you have kids. Maybe Virginia is afraid to advertise its discriminatory policy. 2. The description says "the design is a blissful fusion of Victorian charm and contemporary edginess." More like Victorian staleness and sternness. No edginess here, I promise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Virginia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ralph and Barb
Business
West Grove, Pa.
Nov 7, 2011

anniversary

The Virginia Hotel is an upscale Victorian B&B with a contemporary flair. Our room was very comfortable with an almost "trendy" decor. The bathroom was small, but tiled and modern. There is a full bar and the restaurant is superb....too much food, but excellent. The staff was very freindly and professional. The hotel is near the beach and the shopping area. It was a fantastic place to spend our anniversary. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Virginia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
totowa, New Jersey
Feb 22, 2011

Wonderful experience

This was our first time staying at the Virginia Hotel. The service and accomodations were excellent. We loved the lounge/bar area. It was warm, inviting and relaxing. The breakfast was more than we anticipated and was delicious.It is within walking distance of many restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top