$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Marquis De Lafayette

2 stars
501 BEACH Ave, CAPE MAY, NJ 8204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
24 reviews
Best hotel every - right on the beach! Recommend to all

I love sitting on my private balcony overlooking the ocean. Beautiful remodeled rooms and service... See full review

  • Rose gardener
  • Mar 11, 2013
Great Getaway

Great service. Walking distance to great restaurants. Upgraded our room to at Penthouse suite. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 23, 2011
The Marquis de Lafayette Hotel is a newly renovated non-smoking and centrally located hotel in the historic district of Cape May. It has a seasonal outdoor heated pool and pool bar. There are 26 guest rooms with double beds or one king bed. It also has 47 suites with either two double beds or one king bed including sofa bed. All rooms are ocean front with private balconies or sitting areas. There is a restaurant banquet facility and meeting rooms on the premises.

Hotel Map

38.9312 -74.921
Nearby airports
Philadelphia Intl Airport, (PHL), 89.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marquis De Lafayette also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Marquis De Lafayette Rooms

Standard
Victoria - Stanard room with two full size beds. Includes refrigerator. Coffee maker. Microwave. Bath and balcony with two rocking chairs overlooking the ocean and the beach. Rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floors.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Princess Victoria - Standard Room with one king size bed. Includes refrigerator. Coffee maker. Microwave oven. Bath and balcony with two rocking chairs overlooking the ocean and the beach. Rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floors.
Standard
Grand Duchess - Bedroom with king bed. Living room. Sofa bed. Full-size eat-in kitchen. Bath with walk-in shower. TV. DVD player. Hardwood floors Central air and heat. Ceiling fans and large furnished sun deck with Bay and town views.
Suite
Cape May Suite - Suite with two full size beds in the bedroom and sofa bed in living room. Includes a kitchenette. Bath and balcony overlooking the ocean and the beach. Rooms are located on the 2nd through 5th floors.
Suite
Marquis Suite - one king size bed in the bedroom and sofa bed in living room. Includes a kitchenette. Bath and balcony overlooking the ocean and the beach. Rooms are located on the 2nd through 5th floors.
Suite
Cathedral Suite King - Sixth floor Penthouse Suite with 1 king bed. Living room with sofa bed. Kitchenette. Bath. TV and DVD player. Hardwood floors. Vaulted living room ceiling. Central air and heat with ceiling fans and large ocean view balcony.
Suite
Grand Marquis Suite - with one king bed in the bedroom. Living room with sofa bed. Includes a Kitchenette. Private bath and balcony overlooking the ocean and the beach. Rooms are located on the 3rd floor.
Suite
Cathedral Suite Double - Sixth floor Penthouse Suite with 2 double beds. Living room. Sofa bed. Kitchenette and bath. TVs. DVD player. Vaulted living room ceiling. A/C and heat. Large ocean view balcony.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - bed and breakfast
Family plan
Services
Business center
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Bath tub

Dining

PELICAN CLUB
Casual Variety
VICTORIAN GARDEN
Casual Breakfast
EBBIT RROM
CONTINENTAL
410 BANK ST
FRENCH THAI
Altheas
Althes 1 block E 5pm to 10pm Continental
Washington Inn
Washington Inn 5 blocks NW 5pm to 10pm American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Marquis De Lafayette

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marquis De Lafayette

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Apr 23, 2011

Great Getaway

Great service. Walking distance to great restaurants. Upgraded our room to at Penthouse suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

George's for breakfast

Review of Marquis De Lafayette

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frenchy15
Jersey
Jun 3, 2013

Hodgepodge Hotel in Need of Repair

Our first clue that our stay was not going to be that good came when they handed us materials at check in that explained how to lock the door (we still needed to get a maintenance man) and offered a complimentary drink of wine, that they no longer offer. The place is run down and is reportedly operated by a management company. Choose another place to stay when visiting Cape May. You can do much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop at Washington Square

Review of Marquis De Lafayette

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rose gardener
central PA
Mar 11, 2013

Best hotel every - right on the beach! Recommend to all

I love sitting on my private balcony overlooking the ocean. Beautiful remodeled rooms and service and workers at the hotel are very friendly and welcoming. Lots of bargains for off season!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

go off-season and save a bunch of $

Review of Marquis De Lafayette

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karann ALuck
Downingtown, PA
Nov 18, 2012

I loved this place

Especially since I could have my dog with us. I had a horrible with another hotel up the street and they saved our vacation. I'll stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Thry Lucky Bones for dinner-AWESOME Breakfast at hotel was great. Dining there was ok.

Review of Marquis De Lafayette

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Apr 23, 2011

Great Getaway

Great service. Walking distance to great restaurants. Upgraded our room to at Penthouse suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

George's for breakfast

Review of Marquis De Lafayette

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Apr 23, 2011

Great Getaway

Great service. Walking distance to great restaurants. Upgraded our room to at Penthouse suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

George's for breakfast

Review of Marquis De Lafayette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I'm just happy my car didn't get stolen
Yardley, Pa
Jul 25, 2010

Great Hotel

This was a last minute weekend getaway. the hotel was exactly what we wanted, ocean-view, clean rooms, fantastic staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Marquis De Lafayette

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jersey Shore, PA
Apr 5, 2010

Very disappointing!

My family and I were very excited to take a weekend getaway in Cape May. When we arrived at the hotel, we waited for 25 minutes for someone to take care of us. Our room was tiny to say the least. At night, we noticed blood droplets on a pillow of one bed and more droplets on another bed. The toilet plugged up twice by the lack of water flow. The noise coming through the paper thin walls was most disturbing, making it very hard to find some sleep. When checking out, we noticed on our bill that they charged us an additional $60 for an extra person. When I questioned the front desk staff about the charge, he said that I would have to wait until the following Monday to talk to the manager. We were very unsatisfied with this experience and will never go back to this hotel. This is the first negative review that I have ever posted but this was also the worst hotel experience that I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beautiful beaches!

Review of Marquis De Lafayette

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jersey Shore, PA
Apr 5, 2010

Very disappointing!

My family and I were very excited to take a weekend getaway in Cape May. When we arrived at the hotel, we waited for 25 minutes for someone to take care of us. Our room was tiny to say the least. At night, we noticed blood droplets on a pillow of one bed and more droplets on another bed. The toilet plugged up twice by the lack of water flow. The noise coming through the paper thin walls was most disturbing, making it very hard to find some sleep. When checking out, we noticed on our bill that they charged us an additional $60 for an extra person. When I questioned the front desk staff about the charge, he said that I would have to wait until the following Monday to talk to the manager. We were very unsatisfied with this experience and will never go back to this hotel. This is the first negative review that I have ever posted but this was also the worst hotel experience that I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beautiful beaches!

Review of Marquis De Lafayette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
jim thorpe , pa
Mar 21, 2010

great place to stay

hotel was very nice. very clean , great location. only complaint is that they had a no smoking on the property policy. not even on the balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marquis De Lafayette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
jim thorpe , pa
Mar 21, 2010

great place to stay

hotel was very nice. very clean , great location. only complaint is that they had a no smoking on the property policy. not even on the balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top