$309 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Congress Hall

4 stars
View map of 251 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Hall

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dean Emeritus
Business
Cincinnati
Oct 14, 2010

Very old, but very nice

Enjoyed seeing the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent restaurant.

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eldersburg, MD
May 24, 2010

"Consistently Exceptional Service"

Cape May was far better than expected. It is a clean, beautiful town that is worth getting away to. The hotel, Congress Hall, is very expensive but it is worth it. There are weddings going on all the time there which is nice but you feel a bit underdressed all the time. Even the beach attendants were fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Freehold NJ
Nov 23, 2010

great location-you can leave the car

great in town location. We were able to walk to restaurants and shopping easily

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ebbit room at the Virginia Hotel , the Madbatter for brunch and the Seafood market on the mall all had great food

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach, Va.
Jul 26, 2011

Great Location for Beach

The location was great. Easy access to beach with a chair and umbrella.We walked to good restaurants and shopping.Free Parking and no charge for Beach service.Staff was great. Very friendly. Actually [...]that helped us with our dinner reservations was the best. She was on it and a great attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We parked the car and walked everywhere.

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn
Sep 29, 2010

Regal and warm

Wife Shopped Husband Swam in water and both enjoyed a little cabana time. Each trip is unique. We enjoyed this trip very much helped us get a sense of relaxation while being close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Candles, glass, and unique specialty items

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smutprotector
Business
Cape May, NJ
May 18, 2010

Old-time Cape May vacation

We went for 2 rainy midweek days in May, so it was very empty in town. Everyone at the hotel and restaurants were helpful and happy to see us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Math Maven
Business
Ridgewood, NJ, USA
Sep 28, 2014

Love the Veranda!

We had a great time at the Congress. The rocking chairs are the best place for morning coffee, relaxing, and before dinner drinks! The valet parking is very convenient and fast too. Our queen room was very small, but the two window seats made up for the size. We will definitely return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekend escaper
Business
Vienna, VA
Oct 20, 2014

Relaxing getaway with beautiful views

This is my second time at Congress Hall and I look forward to going again. This is a great facility for a number of reasons - it has old world charm with modern conveniences. We sat in the rocking chairs overlooking the lawn and the ocean and enjoyed a cocktail from the bar. It is a grand building with sweeping stairs that you can picture guests in the early 1900's gathering for the evening meal. The location is perfect - within walking distance of many restaurants, shops and the beach. We took a long walk up the beach to the lighthouse and state park where many migratory birds are seen. The food at the Blue Big Tavern was very tasty - I had fantastic caramelized scallops and a fresh salad made from ingredients at the local farm. My only complaint was the stains on the carpet in the bedroom and the mattress was sagging in the middle. The staff are pleasant and helpful and the management has succeeded in creating a relaxing and unique atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EASC
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 28, 2014

Very nice stay

Just an overnight but the room was comfortable, great location in front of the beach, nice view (oceanfront room). For the price, should include breakfast, even if basic option. Food at the Blue Pig was delicious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill Dickson
Business
Bethany Beach, DE
Dec 7, 2014

Congress Hall

Great for our Honeymoon! Awesome view, nice historic charm, good food from the pub below.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top