$130 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 16, 2014

Congress Hall

4 stars
251 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
36 reviews
gorgeous hotel

this hotel was gorgeous and I had a very relaxing stay. everything was clean and in good shape. i... See full review

  • Traveler876
  • Oct 26, 2013
Love the Veranda!

We had a great time at the Congress. The rocking chairs are the best place for morning coffee,... See full review

  • Math Maven
  • Sep 28, 2014
A grand hotel as historic and timeless as Cape May itself

The name Congress Hall is synonymous with Cape May. Built in 1816, the stately, cheerful yellow facade and tailored landscape wow passersby with charm and sophistication. Set in the Cape May historic district, Congress Hall overlooks the ocean and is steps from the wide, sandy beach. The L-shaped hotel design, a local architectural tradition, affords fantastic water views from many rooms. The amenity list alone exudes elegance and calm, from twice-daily housekeeping and an ocean-themed spa to beach set-up service and seaside yoga on the lawn.

Highlights
  • Across the street from Cape May Beach in the heart of the historic district
  • Swimming pool, private beach cabana rentals and food service at the pool and beach
  • Full-service Sea Spa and fitness center
  • On-site restaurant, nightclub and cocktail lounge with live piano jazz entertainment
  • Gracious service in a grand, historic setting
Rooms

Consistent with the warmth and beauty of Congress Hall, the 108 recently renovated guest rooms and five luxury suites envelop guests in upscale cottage decor and, often, an ocean view. Vintage-style soaking tubs with Aveda brand toiletries, rocking chairs on a private balcony and cushioned window seats are thoughtful touches in some rooms. Pull on a terry robe and get comfy in front of a flat-screen TV with DVD player and pay-per-view movies. Sink into a bed with 100% cotton Belgian sheets and order room service. Here at Congress Hall, pastel painted rooms invite decadence and relaxation.

Features

For almost two centuries, the four-star Congress Hall has welcomed locals and visitors with warm hospitality. What began as a boarding house in 1816, was renamed when the hotel owner was elected to Congress in 1828. Today, Congress Hall pulls out all the modern stops and leaves guests feeling like they never want to go home. Enjoy valet parking, room service and shops in the lobby. For parents who dream of a romantic dinner or night out for two, Camp Congress Hall engages youngsters with art-inspired activities on select evenings in July and August.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport (46 mi/ 74 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (99.1 mi/ 139.5 km)
  • The Cape May trolley runs a route through town late June through early September
Attractions
  • Cape May Beach (across the street)
  • Downtown historic Cape May (across the street)
  • Cape May Stage (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Cape May Lighthouse (2.9 mi/ 4.7 km)
  • Historic Cold Spring Village (3.9 mi/ 6.3 km)
  • Wildwood beach and Boardwalk (10.8 mi/ 17.4 km)
  • Cape May County Zoo (15 mi/ 24.1 km)
  • Cape May County Historical Museum (14.2 mi/ 22.9 km)
  • Historic Smithville (48.7 mi/ 78.4 km)
  • Atlantic City beach and Boardwalk (48.3 mi/ 77.7 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in rooms
  • Executive conferencing and multiple meeting rooms
  • Banqueting facilities for up to 250

Hotel Map

38.9309 -74.9237
Area served
NYC-New York City, WWD- Cape May
Nearby airports
ACY- Atlantic City International Airport, (ACY), 47.00, MI, S; PHL- Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 90.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Hall also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Congress Hall Rooms

King Ocean View
King Ocean View is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy views of the great lawn & ocean from your room.
Queen Ocean View
Queen Ocean View offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy views of the great lawn & ocean from your room.
Two Bed Ocean View
Two Bed Ocean View is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy views of the great lawn & ocean from your room.
Queen Annex View
Queen Annex View overlooks an adjacent part of our hotel. Rooms offer deluxe bathrooms featuring Aveda products.
Two Bed Annex View
Two Bed Annex View overlooks an adjacent part of our hotel. Rooms offer deluxe bathrooms featuring Aveda products.
King Town View
King Town View is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy quaint views of victorian Cape May.
Queen Town View
Queen Town View offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy quaint views of victorian Cape May.
Two Bed Town View
Two Bed Town View is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy quaint views of victorian Cape May.
King Ocean View Balcony
King Ocean View Balcony is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy views of the great lawn & ocean from the rocking chair on your balcony.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Hall

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 36
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Math Maven
Ridgewood, NJ, USA
Sep 28, 2014

Love the Veranda!

We had a great time at the Congress. The rocking chairs are the best place for morning coffee, relaxing, and before dinner drinks! The valet parking is very convenient and fast too. Our queen room was very small, but the two window seats made up for the size. We will definitely return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bemily
Philly
Jan 6, 2014

great wedding venue

Hotel staff did a fantastic job making a memorable experience for all involved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYorker14
NY, NY
Nov 4, 2013

Way overpriced!

The positives were the staff, location, and overall hotel feel. The room was AWFUL given the price point. They hotel is old and historic but the rooms are in desparate need of upgrades to be considered a 4 star property. At best this is a 3 star and even that might be a stretch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pr1ncess
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 25, 2013

Lovely Weekend

Just one complaint, and that would be the shower - for the amount of money paid, one would expect a decent shower after coming up from the beach. Otherwise, it was a lovely weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lauren too
Cape May, NJ
Jun 2, 2013

Holiday Get Away

Not only were we given a room for someone impaired, the room was small and terribly tilted! The girl at the desk mentioned we "reserved via internet" while the reservationist provided our room. There were cob webs above the exterior door and holes in the walls (if they placed door stops the holes would be avoided). On a positive note, the bed linens and towels were whiter than white and softer than we experienced at any hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cape May Winery was fabulous, and 410 Bank Street Restaurant was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Josey
Monmouth County NJ
Apr 7, 2013

Beautiful Place

The hotel is beautiful and full of history. Our only complaint was that the bed pillows were too fluffy they did not give an inch so it was impossible to sleep on them. (next time we will bring our own pillows)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the Blue Pig Pub the food is very good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Golfer Randy
Memphis tn
Feb 11, 2013

Ok weekend stay

The windows in our room allowed cold air to flow freely into the room. The location is fabulous but the hotel rooms certainly need updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike 555
Pa
Jan 1, 2013

unorganized

Hotel was nice, but they charged my credit card for the room, they tried to charge a $192.00 for a dinner we did not eat, they were very nasty and accused me of lyeing. Very disorganized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fall Trip
York, PA
Oct 12, 2012

Fall getaway

We had a wonderful time in Cape May. Congress Hall is located in the middle of town, easy access to everything. We loved our room, it was large, comfy and clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, dining and entertainment were all within walking distance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrissy HD
Wilmington, DE
Sep 8, 2012

A great vacation!

I have been going to the Jersey shore my whole life, and I never knew I could feel like I was away on an island. Great service on the beach! Thanks for making us feel like we were on an island escape!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top