$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Congress Hall

4 stars
251 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
40 reviews
An awesome getaway

Just stayed overnight, but well worth it. Every aspect felt charming and welcoming, even at the... See full review

  • mithrndir
  • Oct 10, 2014
gorgeous hotel

this hotel was gorgeous and I had a very relaxing stay. everything was clean and in good shape. i... See full review

  • Traveler876
  • Oct 26, 2013
A grand hotel as historic and timeless as Cape May itself

The name Congress Hall is synonymous with Cape May. Built in 1816, the stately, cheerful yellow facade and tailored landscape wow passersby with charm and sophistication. Set in the Cape May historic district, Congress Hall overlooks the ocean and is steps from the wide, sandy beach. The L-shaped hotel design, a local architectural tradition, affords fantastic water views from many rooms. The amenity list alone exudes elegance and calm, from twice-daily housekeeping and an ocean-themed spa to beach set-up service and seaside yoga on the lawn.

Highlights
  • Across the street from Cape May Beach in the heart of the historic district
  • Swimming pool, private beach cabana rentals and food service at the pool and beach
  • Full-service Sea Spa and fitness center
  • On-site restaurant, nightclub and cocktail lounge with live piano jazz entertainment
  • Gracious service in a grand, historic setting
Rooms

Consistent with the warmth and beauty of Congress Hall, the 108 recently renovated guest rooms and five luxury suites envelop guests in upscale cottage decor and, often, an ocean view. Vintage-style soaking tubs with Aveda brand toiletries, rocking chairs on a private balcony and cushioned window seats are thoughtful touches in some rooms. Pull on a terry robe and get comfy in front of a flat-screen TV with DVD player and pay-per-view movies. Sink into a bed with 100% cotton Belgian sheets and order room service. Here at Congress Hall, pastel painted rooms invite decadence and relaxation.

Features

For almost two centuries, the four-star Congress Hall has welcomed locals and visitors with warm hospitality. What began as a boarding house in 1816, was renamed when the hotel owner was elected to Congress in 1828. Today, Congress Hall pulls out all the modern stops and leaves guests feeling like they never want to go home. Enjoy valet parking, room service and shops in the lobby. For parents who dream of a romantic dinner or night out for two, Camp Congress Hall engages youngsters with art-inspired activities on select evenings in July and August.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport (46 mi/ 74 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (99.1 mi/ 139.5 km)
  • The Cape May trolley runs a route through town late June through early September
Attractions
  • Cape May Beach (across the street)
  • Downtown historic Cape May (across the street)
  • Cape May Stage (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Cape May Lighthouse (2.9 mi/ 4.7 km)
  • Historic Cold Spring Village (3.9 mi/ 6.3 km)
  • Wildwood beach and Boardwalk (10.8 mi/ 17.4 km)
  • Cape May County Zoo (15 mi/ 24.1 km)
  • Cape May County Historical Museum (14.2 mi/ 22.9 km)
  • Historic Smithville (48.7 mi/ 78.4 km)
  • Atlantic City beach and Boardwalk (48.3 mi/ 77.7 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in rooms
  • Executive conferencing and multiple meeting rooms
  • Banqueting facilities for up to 250

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Hall also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Congress Hall Rooms

King Ocean View
King Ocean View is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy views of the great lawn & ocean from your room.
Queen Ocean View
Queen Ocean View offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy views of the great lawn & ocean from your room.
Two Bed Ocean View
Two Bed Ocean View is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy views of the great lawn & ocean from your room.
Queen Annex View
Queen Annex View overlooks an adjacent part of our hotel. Rooms offer deluxe bathrooms featuring Aveda products.
Two Bed Annex View
Two Bed Annex View overlooks an adjacent part of our hotel. Rooms offer deluxe bathrooms featuring Aveda products.
King Town View
King Town View is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy quaint views of victorian Cape May.
Queen Town View
Queen Town View offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy quaint views of victorian Cape May.
Two Bed Town View
Two Bed Town View is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy quaint views of victorian Cape May.
King Ocean View Balcony
King Ocean View Balcony is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy views of the great lawn & ocean from the rocking chair on your balcony.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Hall

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biologistandwife
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 16, 2010

Wonderful luxury and atmosphere!

This hotel is right near the beautiful Cape May beach and feels like a Victorian place, but it has internet wireless connection, modern spots with music and drink, as well as quiet restful places. Everyone who works there is helpful and energetic! We will return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lpd327
Business
Lakewood Township, NJ, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Awesome.

Great hotel. Would definitely come back. Very old style hotel but also clean and modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrissy HD
Business
Wilmington, DE
Sep 8, 2012

A great vacation!

I have been going to the Jersey shore my whole life, and I never knew I could feel like I was away on an island. Great service on the beach! Thanks for making us feel like we were on an island escape!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fall Trip
Business
York, PA
Oct 12, 2012

Fall getaway

We had a wonderful time in Cape May. Congress Hall is located in the middle of town, easy access to everything. We loved our room, it was large, comfy and clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, dining and entertainment were all within walking distance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler876
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 26, 2013

gorgeous hotel

this hotel was gorgeous and I had a very relaxing stay. everything was clean and in good shape. i could easily walk to many shops and restaurants, or sit around at the hotel's pool or on the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Long Beach Traveler
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jan 11, 2011

Fantastic Hotel

Congress Hall was fantastic. Large rooms, charming property, comfortable beds, beautiful views and top-notch service made our stay a great one. The in-house restaurant was excellent. The only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nescopeck, PA
Jul 10, 2010

Wonderful family experience!

While this was by far the best trip to Cape May we've ever enjoyed, it would've been nice to have a free breakfast or at least deeply discounted meals at the hotel. When you pay over $800 for 2 nights, free coffee doesn't cut it. The service was great- everyone was friendly and professional. The rooms were clean, which was very important since we had our 9 month old crawling around in the room. The beach/pool services were also wonderful with small children, making the walk to the beach much easier on us. The pool was a hit with our 4 year old. She liked that as much as the beach! It was very clean and the staff very friendly. We would definately stay again. Hopefully the prices will drop a bit in the upcomong year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Pack your own breakfast foods and snacks in a cooler since there is only a small, filled mini bar in the room. Take advantage of the free 12 oz. coffee

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Peekskill,N.Y.
Jun 27, 2011

Great Stay @ Congress Hall

My stay at Congress Hall was everything I expected and more.The staff was informative,polite,friiendly yet non-intrusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Carney's is a great bar,just down the road from the hotel,they seem to have a different live band everynight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, pa
Apr 6, 2011

anniversary gift

Congress Hall was wonderful. If you like the quaintness of Cape May, you will love Congress Hall. The location is perfect, walking to the stores, the beach, the "boardwalk", everything is nearby. Free valet parking was a treat. The hall is jumping on the weekend with the brown room lounge and the club, all on their premises. They have room service and restaurant on grounds also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Went to the lobster house to eat dinner. Fantastic meal, close by, and reasonably priced.Also, uncle bills is right on the corner for breakfast!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bob912
Business
Mount Laurel, Nj
Jan 3, 2011

Congress Hall Cape May,NJ

Unfortunately it rained the day we arrived so walking around and shopping outside was out of the question. Sooo, we sat at the bar in the Brown Room and [...]our bartender made us feel at home. Shortly,others gathered at the bar, some old regulars but after a few minutes of conversation we were all regulars. [...]was great,he remembered just how you wanted your drink made. We later had dinner at the Blue Pig in the hotel, others said their service was not up to snuff but we were delighted with our waitress and the food was delicious. We had breakfast there too and it was also delicious. Since it was a sunny day we walked around the town and visited the shops that were open and also drove to Sunset Beach to view the concrete ship the Atlantis. We will be returning to Congress Hall many times and visiting during different seasons of the year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top