$279 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Congress Hall

4 stars
View map of 251 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
48 reviews
Overnight for Wedding

We checked in a bit before official check in time, and because we were there for a wedding, really... See full review

  • Marcia G.
  • Apr 29, 2015
Fall trip

Always a great time at Congress Hall. We came for the Halloween Ball and had a blast! Going to the... See full review

  • Steven
  • Apr 15, 2015

The name Congress Hall is synonymous with Cape May. Built in 1816, the stately, cheerful yellow facade and tailored landscape wow passersby with charm and sophistication. Set in the Cape May historic district, Congress Hall overlooks the ocean and is steps from the wide, sandy beach. The L-shaped hotel design, a local architectural tradition, affords fantastic water views from many rooms. The amenity list alone exudes elegance and calm, from twice-daily housekeeping and an ocean-themed spa to beach set-up service and seaside yoga on the lawn.

Rooms

Consistent with the warmth and beauty of Congress Hall, the 108 recently renovated guest rooms and five luxury suites envelop guests in upscale cottage decor and, often, an ocean view. Vintage-style soaking tubs with Aveda brand toiletries, rocking chairs on a private balcony and cushioned window seats are thoughtful touches in some rooms. Pull on a terry robe and get comfy in front of a flat-screen TV with DVD player and pay-per-view movies. Sink into a bed with 100% cotton Belgian sheets and order room service. Here at Congress Hall, pastel painted rooms invite decadence and relaxation.

Property features

For almost two centuries, the four-star Congress Hall has welcomed locals and visitors with warm hospitality. What began as a boarding house in 1816, was renamed when the hotel owner was elected to Congress in 1828. Today, Congress Hall pulls out all the modern stops and leaves guests feeling like they never want to go home. Enjoy valet parking, room service and shops in the lobby. For parents who dream of a romantic dinner or night out for two, Camp Congress Hall engages youngsters with art-inspired activities on select evenings in July and August.

Highlights
  • Across the street from Cape May Beach in the heart of the historic district
  • Swimming pool, private beach cabana rentals and food service at the pool and beach
  • Full-service Sea Spa and fitness center
  • On-site restaurant, nightclub and cocktail lounge with live piano jazz entertainment
  • Gracious service in a grand, historic setting
Nearby attractions
  • Cape May Beach (across the street)
  • Downtown historic Cape May (across the street)
  • Cape May Stage (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Cape May Lighthouse (2.9 mi/ 4.7 km)
  • Historic Cold Spring Village (3.9 mi/ 6.3 km)
  • Wildwood beach and Boardwalk (10.8 mi/ 17.4 km)
  • Cape May County Zoo (15 mi/ 24.1 km)
  • Cape May County Historical Museum (14.2 mi/ 22.9 km)
  • Historic Smithville (48.7 mi/ 78.4 km)
  • Atlantic City beach and Boardwalk (48.3 mi/ 77.7 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in rooms
  • Executive conferencing and multiple meeting rooms
  • Banqueting facilities for up to 250
Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport (46 mi/ 74 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (99.1 mi/ 139.5 km)
  • The Cape May trolley runs a route through town late June through early September

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Hall also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Congress Hall Rooms

King Ocean View
King Ocean View is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy views of the great lawn & ocean from your room.
Queen Ocean View
Queen Ocean View offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy views of the great lawn & ocean from your room.
Two Bed Ocean View
Two Bed Ocean View is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy views of the great lawn & ocean from your room.
Queen Annex View
Queen Annex View overlooks an adjacent part of our hotel. Rooms offer deluxe bathrooms featuring Aveda products.
Two Bed Annex View
Two Bed Annex View overlooks an adjacent part of our hotel. Rooms offer deluxe bathrooms featuring Aveda products.
King Town View
King Town View is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy quaint views of victorian Cape May.
Queen Town View
Queen Town View offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy quaint views of victorian Cape May.
Two Bed Town View
Two Bed Town View is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy quaint views of victorian Cape May.
King Ocean View Balcony
King Ocean View Balcony is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy views of the great lawn & ocean from the rocking chair on your balcony.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Congress Hall

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fall Trip
York, PA
Oct 12, 2012

Fall getaway

We had a wonderful time in Cape May. Congress Hall is located in the middle of town, easy access to everything. We loved our room, it was large, comfy and clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, dining and entertainment were all within walking distance!

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ABBP
Business
Bethesda
May 20, 2015

Beautiful Place but....

This old and charming hotel is truly beautiful but it needs sound proofing very badly! The rooms are extremely noisy. We were placed in a room with a lovely view of the sea. The room was connected through an internal door to another room. The insulation was so poor that you could hear every single noise through the door. The occupants of the room arrived late and we could not sleep for the whole time they kept talking. Mind there were just talking and laughing but we could here every single word.... The second night we asked for another room and this time it was better...There was no internal connecting door and the room next to ours was vacant. I guess we were fortunate it was April and the hotel was not very busy. They must sound-proof the internal doors..it will help... The restaurant in the hotel (The Blue Pig) is wonderful. We had breakfast and lunch and was truly an enjoyable culinary experience with excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marcia G.
Business
Hawthorne
Apr 29, 2015

Overnight for Wedding

We checked in a bit before official check in time, and because we were there for a wedding, really hoped for our room to be available so we could get ready. We only had to wait about 15 minutes. The room was really nice, big bathroom. Perfect location, as the wedding was in the same hotel. Bed was really comfortable, we had a king. Overall very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steven
Business
N/A
Apr 15, 2015

Fall trip

Always a great time at Congress Hall. We came for the Halloween Ball and had a blast! Going to the Beach Plum Farm was an added bonus. Just come here! You won't regret it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caroline G.
Business
N/A
Mar 23, 2015

Great!

Beautiful hotel with great Cape May charm. My husband and I were married there and enjoyed every moment of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeanette I.
Business
Branchburg
Feb 25, 2015

Great Romantic Getaway!

I booked my stay here as a surprise little getwaway birthday present for my husband. It was perfect because they have a resaurant and spa right there and very close to the beach! I got him an hour massage which he loved and I got my nails done while I waited. We parked our car and were able to do everything by foot or bike ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marian R.
Business
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

Coast Guard Graduation

The hotel was more than expected, but due to NO HEAT and the weather below freezing it was very difficult to be comfortable in either the rooms, spa, lounge or restaurant. I realize the transformer replacement was more of an inconvenience than the hotel thought it would be. Would have been very nice for the hotel to comp a service or meal for the frigid temp inside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Call hotel first to make sure, especially off season, if there are any limitations with the hotel. The heat had been turned off for electrical upgrade and turned on the day we arrived. Four days later, the hotel rooms, spa, and shops remained very cold.

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill Dickson
Business
Bethany Beach, DE
Dec 7, 2014

Congress Hall

Great for our Honeymoon! Awesome view, nice historic charm, good food from the pub below.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EASC
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 28, 2014

Very nice stay

Just an overnight but the room was comfortable, great location in front of the beach, nice view (oceanfront room). For the price, should include breakfast, even if basic option. Food at the Blue Pig was delicious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bradway
Business
Philadelphia Pa
Nov 2, 2014

Extraordinary

Beautiful seaside resort with an aristocratic aura. Staff couldn't have been nicer, lots of history with a "Grand Hotel" feel. Guest were like old friends relaxing in there living room. Worth the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekend escaper
Business
Vienna, VA
Oct 20, 2014

Relaxing getaway with beautiful views

This is my second time at Congress Hall and I look forward to going again. This is a great facility for a number of reasons - it has old world charm with modern conveniences. We sat in the rocking chairs overlooking the lawn and the ocean and enjoyed a cocktail from the bar. It is a grand building with sweeping stairs that you can picture guests in the early 1900's gathering for the evening meal. The location is perfect - within walking distance of many restaurants, shops and the beach. We took a long walk up the beach to the lighthouse and state park where many migratory birds are seen. The food at the Blue Big Tavern was very tasty - I had fantastic caramelized scallops and a fresh salad made from ingredients at the local farm. My only complaint was the stains on the carpet in the bedroom and the mattress was sagging in the middle. The staff are pleasant and helpful and the management has succeeded in creating a relaxing and unique atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top