$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Congress Hall

4 stars
251 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
39 reviews
An awesome getaway

Just stayed overnight, but well worth it. Every aspect felt charming and welcoming, even at the... See full review

  • mithrndir
  • Oct 10, 2014
gorgeous hotel

this hotel was gorgeous and I had a very relaxing stay. everything was clean and in good shape. i... See full review

  • Traveler876
  • Oct 26, 2013
Our Historic hotel is a haven of relaxed elegance fun charm and luxury. Set amid landscaped grounds overlooking one of Cape Mays finest beaches Congress Hall is just steps from the ocean. We have a heated outdoor pool where you can enjoy a cocktail or meal delivered directly to your chaise lounge. Our four story property is home to 106 beautifully furnished rooms and three luxurious suites. Congress Hall is pleased to also have The Blue Pig Tavern serving breakfast lunch and dinner as well as the relaxing Brown Room cocktail lounge and the entertaining Boiler Room nightclub.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Hall also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Congress Hall Rooms

King Ocean View
King Ocean View is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy views of the great lawn & ocean from your room.
Queen Ocean View
Queen Ocean View offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy views of the great lawn & ocean from your room.
Two Bed Ocean View
Two Bed Ocean View is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy views of the great lawn & ocean from your room.
Queen Annex View
Queen Annex View overlooks an adjacent part of our hotel. Rooms offer deluxe bathrooms featuring Aveda products.
Two Bed Annex View
Two Bed Annex View overlooks an adjacent part of our hotel. Rooms offer deluxe bathrooms featuring Aveda products.
King Town View
King Town View is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy quaint views of victorian Cape May.
Queen Town View
Queen Town View offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy quaint views of victorian Cape May.
Two Bed Town View
Two Bed Town View is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy quaint views of victorian Cape May.
King Ocean View Balcony
King Ocean View Balcony is a spacious room which offers a deluxe bathroom featuring Aveda products. Enjoy views of the great lawn & ocean from the rocking chair on your balcony.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Hall

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrissy HD
Wilmington, DE
Sep 8, 2012

A great vacation!

I have been going to the Jersey shore my whole life, and I never knew I could feel like I was away on an island. Great service on the beach! Thanks for making us feel like we were on an island escape!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill Dickson
Business
Bethany Beach, DE
Dec 7, 2014

Congress Hall

Great for our Honeymoon! Awesome view, nice historic charm, good food from the pub below.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EASC
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 28, 2014

Very nice stay

Just an overnight but the room was comfortable, great location in front of the beach, nice view (oceanfront room). For the price, should include breakfast, even if basic option. Food at the Blue Pig was delicious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekend escaper
Business
Vienna, VA
Oct 20, 2014

Relaxing getaway with beautiful views

This is my second time at Congress Hall and I look forward to going again. This is a great facility for a number of reasons - it has old world charm with modern conveniences. We sat in the rocking chairs overlooking the lawn and the ocean and enjoyed a cocktail from the bar. It is a grand building with sweeping stairs that you can picture guests in the early 1900's gathering for the evening meal. The location is perfect - within walking distance of many restaurants, shops and the beach. We took a long walk up the beach to the lighthouse and state park where many migratory birds are seen. The food at the Blue Big Tavern was very tasty - I had fantastic caramelized scallops and a fresh salad made from ingredients at the local farm. My only complaint was the stains on the carpet in the bedroom and the mattress was sagging in the middle. The staff are pleasant and helpful and the management has succeeded in creating a relaxing and unique atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mithrndir
Business
Reading, PA
Oct 10, 2014

An awesome getaway

Just stayed overnight, but well worth it. Every aspect felt charming and welcoming, even at the lower end of this beautiful hotel's potential accommodations. You're adjacent to the beach on one side and the beautiful Cape May's town center on the other. Very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take time to walk around the neighborhood. The houses are quite quaint and beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Math Maven
Business
Ridgewood, NJ, USA
Sep 28, 2014

Love the Veranda!

We had a great time at the Congress. The rocking chairs are the best place for morning coffee, relaxing, and before dinner drinks! The valet parking is very convenient and fast too. Our queen room was very small, but the two window seats made up for the size. We will definitely return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bemily
Business
Philly
Jan 6, 2014

great wedding venue

Hotel staff did a fantastic job making a memorable experience for all involved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweet On Dallas
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Dec 30, 2013

perfect timing!

Quite festive and beautifully decorated for the holiday. The Blue Pig restaurant was amazing and the room was great though we had a handicapped room, shower only, so water traveled onto middle of bath. great location, most shops were still open and in true form, what makes Cape May always a special experience. We have found our winter holiday get away for next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Blue Pig was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYorker14
Business
NY, NY
Nov 4, 2013

Way overpriced!

The positives were the staff, location, and overall hotel feel. The room was AWFUL given the price point. They hotel is old and historic but the rooms are in desparate need of upgrades to be considered a 4 star property. At best this is a 3 star and even that might be a stretch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler876
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 26, 2013

gorgeous hotel

this hotel was gorgeous and I had a very relaxing stay. everything was clean and in good shape. i could easily walk to many shops and restaurants, or sit around at the hotel's pool or on the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pr1ncess
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 25, 2013

Lovely Weekend

Just one complaint, and that would be the shower - for the amount of money paid, one would expect a decent shower after coming up from the beach. Otherwise, it was a lovely weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top