$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Beach Shack

3 stars
View map of 205 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
28 reviews
Great location! Outside fire pit, great staff, nice room

My husband and I had a great stay. The room had 2 Queen beds and a huge fold out couch. It could... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 24, 2012
Great Beach location!

There are different types of vacations. Although there are many B&Bs in Cape May, I was looking for... See full review

  • Razanne
  • Oct 23, 2011

Some might call the refurbished Beach Shack a Cape May "boutique motel." Owned by a hotel group with much ritzier properties, this seaside Cape May hotel has similar amenities with a bit of an edge on price. It's no five-star resort (expect air conditioning units and old-school bathrooms), but Beach Shack attracts families, singles and couples who love to vacation on the sand. Open only in the high season May through mid October, Beach Shack comes alive each summer with a pool, restaurant, beach service, live music and mingling around the fire pits.

Rooms

Most minimalist, beach-modern rooms at Beach Shack feature two double beds. Many add seating areas with pullout sofas. Soft orange walls, contemporary blinds, and sculptural retro lamps spruce up rooms that open to pool or ocean views from bistro chairs on the terrace. Flat-panel TVs, bathrobes and signature luxury bedding (the same used at posh Congress Hall Hotel in Cape May) give the simple surroundings a plush boost. Keep a stockpile of beach snacks on hand with an in-room refrigerator, microwave, plates and flatware. A handful of oversized suites accommodate groups of up to eight.

Property features

Most guests find their way down to the indoor-outdoor Rusty Nail at least once during their stay, whether for dinner, drinks or just to take in the live music. Its lively yet easy-going scene appeals to all ages, from young singles and full families with children to seniors enjoying the sunset. Live music and clusters of chairs around fire pits in the sand could attract guests and locals all night long, if not for the 9:30 p.m. noise ordinance.

Highlights
  • Across the street from Cape May Beach with 350 feet of unobstructed views of the Atlantic Ocean
  • Heated outdoor pool with sun loungers and water views
  • Local landmark Rusty Nail beach bar and restaurant sits on site for dining in, take out or beach chair delivery
  • Live entertainment Thursday through Monday until 9:30 pm
  • Complimentary beach service with towels, chairs and umbrella set up
Nearby attractions
  • Cape May Beach (across the street)
  • Cape May Stage (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Downtown historic Cape May (1.4 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Cape May Lighthouse (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Historic Cold Spring Village (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Cape May County Historical Museum (14.4 mi/ 23.2 km)
  • Wildwood beach and Boardwalk (14.7 mi/ 23.7 km)
  • Gillian's Wonderland Pier in Ocean City (34.3 mi/55.2 km)
  • Historic Smithville (46.5 mi/ 74.8 km)
  • Atlantic City beach and Boardwalk (48.5 mi/ 78 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in rooms and public spaces
Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport (46 mi/ 74 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (99.3 mi/ 160 km)
  • The Cape May trolley runs a route through town late June through early September

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beach Shack also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$229
4.0 / 5 45 reviews
★★
$200
4.3 / 5 12 reviews
★★★
$227
3.9 / 5 19 reviews
★★
$89
3.3 / 5 22 reviews
★★★
$334
4.0 / 5 9 reviews
★★★
$228
4.3 / 5 7 reviews
★★★★
$183
4.4 / 5 44 reviews
★★
$110
3.6 / 5 45 reviews
★★★
$110
4.2 / 5 35 reviews

Beach Shack Rooms

Family Efficiency
Non Smoking - Family Efficiency guest rooms feature 2 signature luxury queen beds, pull out sofa and flat screen TV's.
Standard Efficiency
Non Smoking - Standard Efficiency guest rooms feature 1 king bed, separate living room with pull out sofa and flat panel TV's
Standard Shack
Non Smoking - Standard Shack guest rooms feature 2 signature luxury queen beds and flat screen TV's.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Rusty Nail
The Rusty Nail - Cape Mays legendary hang out for life guards and surfers after hours will be revived with an indoor/outdoor ambiance live music and our own take on beach blanket comfort food.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Beach Shack

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 28
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bailey's Human Mom
Couples
Bethlehem, PA
Sep 12, 2014

Average Family Getawaw

The best thing I can say is that the location was good. Also, the beach service of chairs, umbrellas and towels was nice too. Other than that, the room was extremely musty and my husband and I are in our early 60's and we were put on the 3rd floor and they don't have an elevator. The Rusty Nail Restaurant was overpriced for what you got. We enjoyed our stay but would not book there again. Definitely not worth the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Carney's Restaurant was good.

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlashef
Couples
Walnutport,Pa
Jun 11, 2013

Great comfortable room.

We wanted beachfront because we are celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary, and my wife loves the beach. Accomodations were wonderful, location cannot be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York City
Sep 24, 2012

Great location! Outside fire pit, great staff, nice room

My husband and I had a great stay. The room had 2 Queen beds and a huge fold out couch. It could have slept 6 adults easily. It also had a mini kitchen, complete with plates/cups/utensils. This place would be awesome for a group of friends, however it was also perfect for us. We loved the hotel restaurant/bar, The Rusty Nail. Good food and cute bar staff. The outdoor fire pit was a huge hit. We loved drinking beer by the fire and hearing the waves crashing. Also, free w your hotel stay, the staff provides you with a beach lounge chair, umbrella and towel. It was heaven. No alcohol technically allowed on the actual beach... All in all, worth the price! Great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Razanne
Couples
Phila. PA
Oct 23, 2011

Great Beach location!

There are different types of vacations. Although there are many B&Bs in Cape May, I was looking for a place as close to the beach as possible. The Beach Shack was great. It was across the street from the beach, away from the center of town so that it almost seemed like a private beach. The complimentary beach chairs, towels and umbrella added the perfect touch. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were bright and very clean, and the beds were possibly the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The Rusty Nail, a bar/restaurant, is right on site and has great food and an inviting fire pit. The center of town with lots of great shopping was less than a ten minute ride away. We will definitely be going back to the Beach Shack.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hemingway's restaurant, in the Grand Hotel serves the best French Onion soup ever! The servers were ok. Our meal was not very hot. The steak was over-cooked and when I put butter on the mashed potatoes, it never melted. I did go back a week later for lunch, to have the French onion soup and a sandwich which was very good. I would definitely go again for the soup.

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Morristown, NJ
Jul 28, 2010

3rd Anniversary weekend

The location was great... right on the beach. They set you up with chairs, umbrellas, and towels on the beach as well. Having the option to order food/drinks from the Rusty nail on the beach was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The grill entree at the Rusty Nail was great. Also dinner at Aleathea's was fantastic.

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Telford PA Couple
Couples
Telford, PA
Jul 18, 2010

Beach Shack - Cape May, NJ

The atmosphere at the Beach Shack is terific if you are looking for a casual fun place in Cape May. Food and drinks are very good, and the Rusty Nail is terrific for music and hanging out on the sand by the fire pit. The beach service can't be beat, they will set up your beach chair, umbrella, towels and have full lunch service on the beach. Staff was very nice and attentive. It's not a "quiet" place if you are looking for solitude since the bar is right there, but it's a really fun place. We didn't bring the kids, but saw lots of families and looks very kid-friendly. The only negative is that this is a somewhat expensive stay, but it's right across from the beach in a great location and Cape May is expensive in general. We had a great time and will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Get some conch fritters and a cocktail (or two) at the Rusty Nail. Spend the evening on the sand by the fire pit listening to music and relaxing.

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Port Jeff. Sta., NY
Jun 16, 2010

Long weekend with my girlfriend

Ok so when i booked this trip i take reviews very seriously so i shall tell you as much as i can. I loved the hotel right across the street from the beach, we got a 3rd floor room Beautiful view! but there was no elevator so big deal for me but take that into consideration when booking, rusty nail restaurant was on site and had great food and entertainment, there so much to do and so much to see! the town is so clean and peaceful they clean the beach every night and the streets every morning! we woke up to seeing dolphins swimming in the ocean and the next day we were at the beach and they were 30 feet away playing! so amazing! we did a couples massage at Calm effects for only 100$ i highly recommend them its only a 14 min drive but worth it for the price, also wine tasting and kayaking that was fun. also bring ur bike if u can or you can rent one there hope you enjoy your trip as much as we did! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lancaster, PA
Jun 13, 2010

Wonderful Beach Front Hotel and Pool

This was one of our favorite vacations. We plan on making this trip annual so we shall see you next year! Thank you for the lovely time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Anniversary Weekend Away
Couples
Haddon Twp, NJ
Jun 1, 2010

Memorial Day Weekend Away

This was a first visit for us, not our last! Clean rooms, the restaurant/bar was right on the premises, which made it very nice! They served food and beverages at the pool and the beach! (no alcohol on the beach). It was a perfect getaway for me and my husband!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

All the food was great at the Rusty Nail, especially the fried shrimp and crabcakes! My husband was not in love with the wings though.

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Handy Dude
Couples
Silver Spring, MD
May 27, 2010

Beach Shack - good value and fun

The hotel was very clean and very comfortable. My only complaint was the AC fan needs a lower setting; it was a little loud. It was too cool to swim, but the pool looked really well kept and inviting and I could see getting a cold brew at the Rusty Nail Restaurant and sitting by it on a hot day. The rooms were somewhat small and didn't have a small dining or coffee table, but they did have almost new frig, microwave and coffee maker appliances. They did have two queen sized beds and they didn't feel cramped. I felt I got great value for the price. The hotel was better than I expected and the proximity to the ocean was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I was told Uncle Bill's Pancake House had great breakfasts. It probably does if pancakes are your thing. I was disappointed. I went for a hardy, clog an artery breakfast with plenty of meat and eggs! I didn't know chickens laid eggs that small and is there a bacon shortage I didn't hear about? Wasn't cheap either. The next day we went to the Ocean View Family Restaurant and I got that hardy breakfast. The Ocean View Family Restaurant is a nice, clean, reasonably priced place with a large menu, generous portions, good service. It is not fancy, but it is good value and quality and it's close to the Beach Shack Hotel. The Rusty Nail Bar/ Grille which was part of the hotel was popular, had indoor and outdoor seating. We didn't eat there, but the prices and menu were inline with what we found at similar places on Beach Ave. We ate at the newly opened Harry's Grille and found the food good. It has indoor and outdoor dining too and is slightly more upscale, but smaller than the Rusty Nail. The Rusty Nail seems like the place to kick back and enjoy a drink and summer evening.

Back to menu Return to top