Beach Shack

3 stars
205 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
30 reviews
Great Getaway

Great time had by ALL, WONDERFUL :) LOVED IT!!!! BEAUTIFUL!! AMAZING!! See full review

  • dolphin7
  • Sep 4, 2013
Great location! Outside fire pit, great staff, nice room

My husband and I had a great stay. The room had 2 Queen beds and a huge fold out couch. It could... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 24, 2012
Definitely beachfront, but shack it is not

Some might call the refurbished Beach Shack a Cape May "boutique motel." Owned by a hotel group with much ritzier properties, this seaside Cape May hotel has similar amenities with a bit of an edge on price. It's no five-star resort (expect air conditioning units and old-school bathrooms), but Beach Shack attracts families, singles and couples who love to vacation on the sand. Open only in the high season May through mid October, Beach Shack comes alive each summer with a pool, restaurant, beach service, live music and mingling around the fire pits.

Highlights
  • Across the street from Cape May Beach with 350 feet of unobstructed views of the Atlantic Ocean
  • Heated outdoor pool with sun loungers and water views
  • Local landmark Rusty Nail beach bar and restaurant sits on site for dining in, take out or beach chair delivery
  • Live entertainment Thursday through Monday until 9:30 pm
  • Complimentary beach service with towels, chairs and umbrella set up
Rooms

Most minimalist, beach-modern rooms at Beach Shack feature two double beds. Many add seating areas with pullout sofas. Soft orange walls, contemporary blinds, and sculptural retro lamps spruce up rooms that open to pool or ocean views from bistro chairs on the terrace. Flat-panel TVs, bathrobes and signature luxury bedding (the same used at posh Congress Hall Hotel in Cape May) give the simple surroundings a plush boost. Keep a stockpile of beach snacks on hand with an in-room refrigerator, microwave, plates and flatware. A handful of oversized suites accommodate groups of up to eight.

Features

Most guests find their way down to the indoor-outdoor Rusty Nail at least once during their stay, whether for dinner, drinks or just to take in the live music. Its lively yet easy-going scene appeals to all ages, from young singles and full families with children to seniors enjoying the sunset. Live music and clusters of chairs around fire pits in the sand could attract guests and locals all night long, if not for the 9:30 p.m. noise ordinance.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport (46 mi/ 74 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (99.3 mi/ 160 km)
  • The Cape May trolley runs a route through town late June through early September
Attractions
  • Cape May Beach (across the street)
  • Cape May Stage (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Downtown historic Cape May (1.4 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Cape May Lighthouse (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Historic Cold Spring Village (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Cape May County Historical Museum (14.4 mi/ 23.2 km)
  • Wildwood beach and Boardwalk (14.7 mi/ 23.7 km)
  • Gillian's Wonderland Pier in Ocean City (34.3 mi/55.2 km)
  • Historic Smithville (46.5 mi/ 74.8 km)
  • Atlantic City beach and Boardwalk (48.5 mi/ 78 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in rooms and public spaces

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beach Shack also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Beach Shack Rooms

Family Efficiency
Non Smoking - Family Efficiency guest rooms feature 2 signature luxury queen beds, pull out sofa and flat screen TV's.
Standard Efficiency
Non Smoking - Standard Efficiency guest rooms feature 1 king bed, separate living room with pull out sofa and flat panel TV's
Standard Shack
Non Smoking - Standard Shack guest rooms feature 2 signature luxury queen beds and flat screen TV's.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Rusty Nail
The Rusty Nail - Cape Mays legendary hang out for life guards and surfers after hours will be revived with an indoor/outdoor ambiance live music and our own take on beach blanket comfort food.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Beach Shack

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 30
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bailey's Human Mom
Business
Bethlehem, PA
Sep 12, 2014

Average Family Getawaw

The best thing I can say is that the location was good. Also, the beach service of chairs, umbrellas and towels was nice too. Other than that, the room was extremely musty and my husband and I are in our early 60's and we were put on the 3rd floor and they don't have an elevator. The Rusty Nail Restaurant was overpriced for what you got. We enjoyed our stay but would not book there again. Definitely not worth the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Carney's Restaurant was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dolphin7
Business
ewing nj
Sep 4, 2013

Great Getaway

Great time had by ALL, WONDERFUL :) LOVED IT!!!! BEAUTIFUL!! AMAZING!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlashef
Business
Walnutport,Pa
Jun 11, 2013

Great comfortable room.

We wanted beachfront because we are celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary, and my wife loves the beach. Accomodations were wonderful, location cannot be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Sep 24, 2012

Great location! Outside fire pit, great staff, nice room

My husband and I had a great stay. The room had 2 Queen beds and a huge fold out couch. It could have slept 6 adults easily. It also had a mini kitchen, complete with plates/cups/utensils. This place would be awesome for a group of friends, however it was also perfect for us. We loved the hotel restaurant/bar, The Rusty Nail. Good food and cute bar staff. The outdoor fire pit was a huge hit. We loved drinking beer by the fire and hearing the waves crashing. Also, free w your hotel stay, the staff provides you with a beach lounge chair, umbrella and towel. It was heaven. No alcohol technically allowed on the actual beach... All in all, worth the price! Great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Razanne
Business
Phila. PA
Oct 23, 2011

Great Beach location!

There are different types of vacations. Although there are many B&Bs in Cape May, I was looking for a place as close to the beach as possible. The Beach Shack was great. It was across the street from the beach, away from the center of town so that it almost seemed like a private beach. The complimentary beach chairs, towels and umbrella added the perfect touch. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were bright and very clean, and the beds were possibly the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The Rusty Nail, a bar/restaurant, is right on site and has great food and an inviting fire pit. The center of town with lots of great shopping was less than a ten minute ride away. We will definitely be going back to the Beach Shack.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hemingway's restaurant, in the Grand Hotel serves the best French Onion soup ever! The servers were ok. Our meal was not very hot. The steak was over-cooked and when I put butter on the mashed potatoes, it never melted. I did go back a week later for lunch, to have the French onion soup and a sandwich which was very good. I would definitely go again for the soup.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Aug 23, 2010

Beach Shack, Cape May.

The hotel is in awesome location. We left our car parked the entire time we were there. (5 days) Walk to the beach, a stones throw away. Walk into town, 2-3 blocks. Restaurants galore. Rooms were average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants are BYOB, which is great. Come prepared from home and bring your own! Cuts down on the cost of the bill tremendously.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morristown, NJ
Jul 28, 2010

3rd Anniversary weekend

The location was great... right on the beach. They set you up with chairs, umbrellas, and towels on the beach as well. Having the option to order food/drinks from the Rusty nail on the beach was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The grill entree at the Rusty Nail was great. Also dinner at Aleathea's was fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Telford PA Couple
Business
Telford, PA
Jul 18, 2010

Beach Shack - Cape May, NJ

The atmosphere at the Beach Shack is terific if you are looking for a casual fun place in Cape May. Food and drinks are very good, and the Rusty Nail is terrific for music and hanging out on the sand by the fire pit. The beach service can't be beat, they will set up your beach chair, umbrella, towels and have full lunch service on the beach. Staff was very nice and attentive. It's not a "quiet" place if you are looking for solitude since the bar is right there, but it's a really fun place. We didn't bring the kids, but saw lots of families and looks very kid-friendly. The only negative is that this is a somewhat expensive stay, but it's right across from the beach in a great location and Cape May is expensive in general. We had a great time and will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Get some conch fritters and a cocktail (or two) at the Rusty Nail. Spend the evening on the sand by the fire pit listening to music and relaxing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port Jeff. Sta., NY
Jun 16, 2010

Long weekend with my girlfriend

Ok so when i booked this trip i take reviews very seriously so i shall tell you as much as i can. I loved the hotel right across the street from the beach, we got a 3rd floor room Beautiful view! but there was no elevator so big deal for me but take that into consideration when booking, rusty nail restaurant was on site and had great food and entertainment, there so much to do and so much to see! the town is so clean and peaceful they clean the beach every night and the streets every morning! we woke up to seeing dolphins swimming in the ocean and the next day we were at the beach and they were 30 feet away playing! so amazing! we did a couples massage at Calm effects for only 100$ i highly recommend them its only a 14 min drive but worth it for the price, also wine tasting and kayaking that was fun. also bring ur bike if u can or you can rent one there hope you enjoy your trip as much as we did! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster, PA
Jun 13, 2010

Wonderful Beach Front Hotel and Pool

This was one of our favorite vacations. We plan on making this trip annual so we shall see you next year! Thank you for the lovely time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top