Beach Shack

3 stars
205 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
30 reviews
Great Getaway

Great time had by ALL, WONDERFUL :) LOVED IT!!!! BEAUTIFUL!! AMAZING!! See full review

  • dolphin7
  • Sep 4, 2013
Great location! Outside fire pit, great staff, nice room

My husband and I had a great stay. The room had 2 Queen beds and a huge fold out couch. It could... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 24, 2012
Definitely beachfront, but shack it is not

Some might call the refurbished Beach Shack a Cape May "boutique motel." Owned by a hotel group with much ritzier properties, this seaside Cape May hotel has similar amenities with a bit of an edge on price. It's no five-star resort (expect air conditioning units and old-school bathrooms), but Beach Shack attracts families, singles and couples who love to vacation on the sand. Open only in the high season May through mid October, Beach Shack comes alive each summer with a pool, restaurant, beach service, live music and mingling around the fire pits.

Highlights
  • Across the street from Cape May Beach with 350 feet of unobstructed views of the Atlantic Ocean
  • Heated outdoor pool with sun loungers and water views
  • Local landmark Rusty Nail beach bar and restaurant sits on site for dining in, take out or beach chair delivery
  • Live entertainment Thursday through Monday until 9:30 pm
  • Complimentary beach service with towels, chairs and umbrella set up
Rooms

Most minimalist, beach-modern rooms at Beach Shack feature two double beds. Many add seating areas with pullout sofas. Soft orange walls, contemporary blinds, and sculptural retro lamps spruce up rooms that open to pool or ocean views from bistro chairs on the terrace. Flat-panel TVs, bathrobes and signature luxury bedding (the same used at posh Congress Hall Hotel in Cape May) give the simple surroundings a plush boost. Keep a stockpile of beach snacks on hand with an in-room refrigerator, microwave, plates and flatware. A handful of oversized suites accommodate groups of up to eight.

Features

Most guests find their way down to the indoor-outdoor Rusty Nail at least once during their stay, whether for dinner, drinks or just to take in the live music. Its lively yet easy-going scene appeals to all ages, from young singles and full families with children to seniors enjoying the sunset. Live music and clusters of chairs around fire pits in the sand could attract guests and locals all night long, if not for the 9:30 p.m. noise ordinance.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport (46 mi/ 74 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (99.3 mi/ 160 km)
  • The Cape May trolley runs a route through town late June through early September
Attractions
  • Cape May Beach (across the street)
  • Cape May Stage (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Downtown historic Cape May (1.4 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Cape May Lighthouse (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Historic Cold Spring Village (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Cape May County Historical Museum (14.4 mi/ 23.2 km)
  • Wildwood beach and Boardwalk (14.7 mi/ 23.7 km)
  • Gillian's Wonderland Pier in Ocean City (34.3 mi/55.2 km)
  • Historic Smithville (46.5 mi/ 74.8 km)
  • Atlantic City beach and Boardwalk (48.5 mi/ 78 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in rooms and public spaces

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beach Shack also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Beach Shack Rooms

Family Efficiency
Non Smoking - Family Efficiency guest rooms feature 2 signature luxury queen beds, pull out sofa and flat screen TV's.
Standard Efficiency
Non Smoking - Standard Efficiency guest rooms feature 1 king bed, separate living room with pull out sofa and flat panel TV's
Standard Shack
Non Smoking - Standard Shack guest rooms feature 2 signature luxury queen beds and flat screen TV's.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Rusty Nail
The Rusty Nail - Cape Mays legendary hang out for life guards and surfers after hours will be revived with an indoor/outdoor ambiance live music and our own take on beach blanket comfort food.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Beach Shack

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Razanne
Business
Phila. PA
Oct 23, 2011

Great Beach location!

There are different types of vacations. Although there are many B&Bs in Cape May, I was looking for a place as close to the beach as possible. The Beach Shack was great. It was across the street from the beach, away from the center of town so that it almost seemed like a private beach. The complimentary beach chairs, towels and umbrella added the perfect touch. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were bright and very clean, and the beds were possibly the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The Rusty Nail, a bar/restaurant, is right on site and has great food and an inviting fire pit. The center of town with lots of great shopping was less than a ten minute ride away. We will definitely be going back to the Beach Shack.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hemingway's restaurant, in the Grand Hotel serves the best French Onion soup ever! The servers were ok. Our meal was not very hot. The steak was over-cooked and when I put butter on the mashed potatoes, it never melted. I did go back a week later for lunch, to have the French onion soup and a sandwich which was very good. I would definitely go again for the soup.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Sep 24, 2012

Great location! Outside fire pit, great staff, nice room

My husband and I had a great stay. The room had 2 Queen beds and a huge fold out couch. It could have slept 6 adults easily. It also had a mini kitchen, complete with plates/cups/utensils. This place would be awesome for a group of friends, however it was also perfect for us. We loved the hotel restaurant/bar, The Rusty Nail. Good food and cute bar staff. The outdoor fire pit was a huge hit. We loved drinking beer by the fire and hearing the waves crashing. Also, free w your hotel stay, the staff provides you with a beach lounge chair, umbrella and towel. It was heaven. No alcohol technically allowed on the actual beach... All in all, worth the price! Great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dolphin7
Business
ewing nj
Sep 4, 2013

Great Getaway

Great time had by ALL, WONDERFUL :) LOVED IT!!!! BEAUTIFUL!! AMAZING!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
State College, PA
Jul 28, 2010

Perfect for Family Escape

When we checked in they gave us a choice of first or second floor, both with ocean view. We stayed on the second floor in what turned out to be a family suite with a separate bedroom and living room. It was perfect for two small children (8 and 3). The room was right above the "Rusty Nail" restaurant and bar so we could eat and then head up to put the kids to bed and sit on the patio and listen to the live music. The beach is right across the street and the hotel offers beach service where they set up chairs, towels, and umbrellas for you for free. They do a great job and deserve a tip. One thing I will mention is to get there early as umbrellas go really fast! The stay was beyond our expectations and I can't recommend the Beach Shack enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Don't worry about leaving the hotel area, the Rusty Nail is a great place to relax, enjoy dinner, music, and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Family
Business
PA
Jul 18, 2010

Excellent Trip

Excellent place to stay. Enjoyed all the options the Beach Shack had to offer. Would recommend and definitely will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Anniversary Weekend Away
Business
Haddon Twp, NJ
Jun 1, 2010

Memorial Day Weekend Away

This was a first visit for us, not our last! Clean rooms, the restaurant/bar was right on the premises, which made it very nice! They served food and beverages at the pool and the beach! (no alcohol on the beach). It was a perfect getaway for me and my husband!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All the food was great at the Rusty Nail, especially the fried shrimp and crabcakes! My husband was not in love with the wings though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ava J's Mom
Business
New jersey
Jul 11, 2012

Great little family getaway!!

The beach shack is a cozy clean hotel for families! The staff was very accommodating & super nice! It's nothing fancy but the rooms had exactly what I needed to tend to my 2 year old! Walking distance from restaurants & shops! I will definitely be going back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ray on the road.
Business
South Hackensack, NJ
Sep 24, 2012

Business Trip

Nice size rooms. The rooms were very clean. The hotel staff was freindly and accomodating. The location was ideal for me, right on the beach and attached to a nice restuarant. Coud not be easier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlashef
Business
Walnutport,Pa
Jun 11, 2013

Great comfortable room.

We wanted beachfront because we are celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary, and my wife loves the beach. Accomodations were wonderful, location cannot be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fancynancy1
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 25, 2010

Beach Shack, Cape May NJ

I wanted to take my mom to Cape May since I had spent many summers on the beaches there.[...]The location was awesome, directly across from the beach and next to a restuarant!The staff was helpful and courteous. The room was a nice size with 2 queen size beds,wonderful pillows on each bed and a small kitchenette area. The room included beach service with beach chairs, umbrellas and beach towels! There is a resturant next to the hotel with a diverse menu which will please everyone! I would definitely stay there again and hope to go to Cape May again very soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top