$1,333 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Beach Shack

3 stars
205 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
49 reviews
Great Getaway

Great time had by ALL, WONDERFUL :) LOVED IT!!!! BEAUTIFUL!! AMAZING!! See full review

  • dolphin7
  • Sep 4, 2013
Great comfortable room.

We wanted beachfront because we are celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary, and my wife loves the... See full review

  • jlashef
  • Jun 11, 2013
Definitely beachfront, but shack it is not

Some might call the refurbished Beach Shack a Cape May "boutique motel." Owned by a hotel group with much ritzier properties, this seaside Cape May hotel has similar amenities with a bit of an edge on price. It's no five-star resort (expect air conditioning units and old-school bathrooms), but Beach Shack attracts families, singles and couples who love to vacation on the sand. Open only in the high season May through mid October, Beach Shack comes alive each summer with a pool, restaurant, beach service, live music and mingling around the fire pits.

Highlights
  • Across the street from Cape May Beach with 350 feet of unobstructed views of the Atlantic Ocean
  • Heated outdoor pool with sun loungers and water views
  • Local landmark Rusty Nail beach bar and restaurant sits on site for dining in, take out or beach chair delivery
  • Live entertainment Thursday through Monday until 9:30 pm
  • Complimentary beach service with towels, chairs and umbrella set up
Rooms

Most minimalist, beach-modern rooms at Beach Shack feature two double beds. Many add seating areas with pullout sofas. Soft orange walls, contemporary blinds, and sculptural retro lamps spruce up rooms that open to pool or ocean views from bistro chairs on the terrace. Flat-panel TVs, bathrobes and signature luxury bedding (the same used at posh Congress Hall Hotel in Cape May) give the simple surroundings a plush boost. Keep a stockpile of beach snacks on hand with an in-room refrigerator, microwave, plates and flatware. A handful of oversized suites accommodate groups of up to eight.

Features

Most guests find their way down to the indoor-outdoor Rusty Nail at least once during their stay, whether for dinner, drinks or just to take in the live music. Its lively yet easy-going scene appeals to all ages, from young singles and full families with children to seniors enjoying the sunset. Live music and clusters of chairs around fire pits in the sand could attract guests and locals all night long, if not for the 9:30 p.m. noise ordinance.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport (46 mi/ 74 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (99.3 mi/ 160 km)
  • The Cape May trolley runs a route through town late June through early September
Attractions
  • Cape May Beach (across the street)
  • Cape May Stage (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Downtown historic Cape May (1.4 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Cape May Lighthouse (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Historic Cold Spring Village (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Cape May County Historical Museum (14.4 mi/ 23.2 km)
  • Wildwood beach and Boardwalk (14.7 mi/ 23.7 km)
  • Gillian's Wonderland Pier in Ocean City (34.3 mi/55.2 km)
  • Historic Smithville (46.5 mi/ 74.8 km)
  • Atlantic City beach and Boardwalk (48.5 mi/ 78 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in rooms and public spaces
Policies and fees

The Beach Shack is a pet-friendly hotel.  Dogs 50lbs and under are welcome for a per night fee of $35.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9301 -74.9324
Area served
Cape May.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 90.00, NW, Mile. Atlantic City International Airport, (ACY), 47.00, N, Mile
Area description
Premier location on beach Avenue in Cape May, NJ Claim your front row view of the beach. The street name says it all. The beach Shack faces the beautiful Cape May beach overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. There is no better address.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beach Shack also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Beach Shack Rooms

Standard Shack
Non smoking - Standard Shack guest rooms feature 2 signature luxury queen beds and flat screen TV's. Room also furnished with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Standard Family
Non smoking - Standard Family guest rooms feature 2 signature luxury queen beds, pull out sofa bed and flat screen TV's. Room also furnished with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Cable/Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities. like Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Family Efficiency
Non smoking - Family Efficiency guest rooms feature 1 queen bed and pull out sofa in separate living room. Room also furnished with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Cable/Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities. like Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Rusty Nail
The Rusty Nail famed iconic surfer bar and restaurant that made a name for itself in the 70s. And it's right here on the grounds of The Beach Shack. From lifeguards and surfers to the beautiful beach bunnies, they all gathered around the wood bar that was rumored to be the longest in all of Cape May. Now it's your turn to join in on the fun-for breakfast, lunch, dinner or the famed happy hour. Indoor spaces spill into outdoor seating, sand bar, fire pit and shuffleboard. Young and old are invited in from the beach for live entertainment and Rusty Nail's beach blanket comfort food that can also be wrapped up to go.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Beach Shack

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fancynancy1
Atlanta, GA
Jul 25, 2010

Beach Shack, Cape May NJ

I wanted to take my mom to Cape May since I had spent many summers on the beaches there.[...]The location was awesome, directly across from the beach and next to a restuarant!The staff was helpful and courteous. The room was a nice size with 2 queen size beds,wonderful pillows on each bed and a small kitchenette area. The room included beach service with beach chairs, umbrellas and beach towels! There is a resturant next to the hotel with a diverse menu which will please everyone! I would definitely stay there again and hope to go to Cape May again very soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nic and Wendy
Phila. PA
Jul 22, 2010

'Great girls weekend!)

The Beach Shack has a great location and the rooms are spotless. The water was perfect and the beach chair, towel, and umbrella service was great. We ordered lunch on the beach from the Rusty Nail so we could stay on the sand as long as we wanted!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

So close to all the major shopping

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nic and Wendy
Phila. PA
Jul 22, 2010

'Great girls weekend!)

The Beach Shack has a great location and the rooms are spotless. The water was perfect and the beach chair, towel, and umbrella service was great. We ordered lunch on the beach from the Rusty Nail so we could stay on the sand as long as we wanted!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

So close to all the major shopping

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Allentown Pa.
Jul 19, 2010

Nice place that still needs to work out

This was in a good location. The room was clean but small. No phone. No pens small pool but then you have the ocean. My room was situated with a poor view and the cool breeze was blocked. Small TV However you are at the shore so you shouldn't be spendong your time in room. No helpful list of food delivery places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Allentown Pa.
Jul 19, 2010

Nice place that still needs to work out

This was in a good location. The room was clean but small. No phone. No pens small pool but then you have the ocean. My room was situated with a poor view and the cool breeze was blocked. Small TV However you are at the shore so you shouldn't be spendong your time in room. No helpful list of food delivery places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Family
PA
Jul 18, 2010

Excellent Trip

Excellent place to stay. Enjoyed all the options the Beach Shack had to offer. Would recommend and definitely will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Telford PA Couple
Telford, PA
Jul 18, 2010

Beach Shack - Cape May, NJ

The atmosphere at the Beach Shack is terific if you are looking for a casual fun place in Cape May. Food and drinks are very good, and the Rusty Nail is terrific for music and hanging out on the sand by the fire pit. The beach service can't be beat, they will set up your beach chair, umbrella, towels and have full lunch service on the beach. Staff was very nice and attentive. It's not a "quiet" place if you are looking for solitude since the bar is right there, but it's a really fun place. We didn't bring the kids, but saw lots of families and looks very kid-friendly. The only negative is that this is a somewhat expensive stay, but it's right across from the beach in a great location and Cape May is expensive in general. We had a great time and will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Get some conch fritters and a cocktail (or two) at the Rusty Nail. Spend the evening on the sand by the fire pit listening to music and relaxing.

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Family
PA
Jul 18, 2010

Excellent Trip

Excellent place to stay. Enjoyed all the options the Beach Shack had to offer. Would recommend and definitely will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Telford PA Couple
Telford, PA
Jul 18, 2010

Beach Shack - Cape May, NJ

The atmosphere at the Beach Shack is terific if you are looking for a casual fun place in Cape May. Food and drinks are very good, and the Rusty Nail is terrific for music and hanging out on the sand by the fire pit. The beach service can't be beat, they will set up your beach chair, umbrella, towels and have full lunch service on the beach. Staff was very nice and attentive. It's not a "quiet" place if you are looking for solitude since the bar is right there, but it's a really fun place. We didn't bring the kids, but saw lots of families and looks very kid-friendly. The only negative is that this is a somewhat expensive stay, but it's right across from the beach in a great location and Cape May is expensive in general. We had a great time and will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Get some conch fritters and a cocktail (or two) at the Rusty Nail. Spend the evening on the sand by the fire pit listening to music and relaxing.

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hillsborough, NJ
Jul 11, 2010

Fantastic Family Getaway!

Beach Shack is a great place to relax with the family. We parked the car upon arrival and never used it until we checked out. We actually extended our stay one day past the original two we booked. Our kids loved the Rusty Nail restaurant; my husband and I loved the proximity to the beach. The hotel supplies chairs, umbrellas and towels which was wonderful not to pack and carry. We plan to return again next year! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved dining at Cucina Rosa in the main Washington Mall area.

Back to menu Return to top