$150 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Beach Shack

3 stars
View map of 205 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beach Shack

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Telford PA Couple
Business
Telford, PA
Jul 18, 2010

Beach Shack - Cape May, NJ

The atmosphere at the Beach Shack is terific if you are looking for a casual fun place in Cape May. Food and drinks are very good, and the Rusty Nail is terrific for music and hanging out on the sand by the fire pit. The beach service can't be beat, they will set up your beach chair, umbrella, towels and have full lunch service on the beach. Staff was very nice and attentive. It's not a "quiet" place if you are looking for solitude since the bar is right there, but it's a really fun place. We didn't bring the kids, but saw lots of families and looks very kid-friendly. The only negative is that this is a somewhat expensive stay, but it's right across from the beach in a great location and Cape May is expensive in general. We had a great time and will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Get some conch fritters and a cocktail (or two) at the Rusty Nail. Spend the evening on the sand by the fire pit listening to music and relaxing.

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hillsborough, NJ
Jul 11, 2010

Fantastic Family Getaway!

Beach Shack is a great place to relax with the family. We parked the car upon arrival and never used it until we checked out. We actually extended our stay one day past the original two we booked. Our kids loved the Rusty Nail restaurant; my husband and I loved the proximity to the beach. The hotel supplies chairs, umbrellas and towels which was wonderful not to pack and carry. We plan to return again next year! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved dining at Cucina Rosa in the main Washington Mall area.

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Jul 8, 2010

Wonderful Vacation

Right across the street from the beach. Dining available for all meals. Food was good. Excellent entertainment at the restaurant/bar area. Very suitable for families as well as singles or couples. Beach chairs, umbrellas, and towels supplied by the hotel. This was the absolute best!!! Lots of fun shopping. Highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MotownFamily
Business
Morristown, NJ
Jun 22, 2010

Nice getaway

We were there for a family (two adults + one minor of age < 1 year) getaway for a week and really liked it a lot. The location was clean and not too noisy. Only thing a little bit noisy, as we had a bedroom towards the back of the hotel, was allegedly the washing machine of the hotel usually running early evenings. However, the times we were going to bed they were done with washing, so to us this was not disturbing at all (in contrary, it made our little one sleep like in heaven). The hotel is located next to the beach. Just cross the street and you're there. They provide a nice beach service, so they'll set up beach chairs wherever you like it and provide a parasol. They also provide service from the Rusty Nail (their restaurant/bar) at the beach. So you can order lunch or (non-alcoholic) drinks directly to the beach. The Rusty Nail also is set up as a nice beach bar and has live music on certain evenings making it a cool chill-out place around an open fire-place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port Jeff. Sta., NY
Jun 16, 2010

Long weekend with my girlfriend

Ok so when i booked this trip i take reviews very seriously so i shall tell you as much as i can. I loved the hotel right across the street from the beach, we got a 3rd floor room Beautiful view! but there was no elevator so big deal for me but take that into consideration when booking, rusty nail restaurant was on site and had great food and entertainment, there so much to do and so much to see! the town is so clean and peaceful they clean the beach every night and the streets every morning! we woke up to seeing dolphins swimming in the ocean and the next day we were at the beach and they were 30 feet away playing! so amazing! we did a couples massage at Calm effects for only 100$ i highly recommend them its only a 14 min drive but worth it for the price, also wine tasting and kayaking that was fun. also bring ur bike if u can or you can rent one there hope you enjoy your trip as much as we did! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster, PA
Jun 13, 2010

Wonderful Beach Front Hotel and Pool

This was one of our favorite vacations. We plan on making this trip annual so we shall see you next year! Thank you for the lovely time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaclyn72
Business
old forge, pa
Jun 8, 2010

Friendliest staff

The Beach Shack has probably the friendliest staff I've ever encountered. Rooms were clean and comfortable..bathrooms were a bit outdated as previous reviewers stated but clean..the Rusty Nail had excellent seafood and was a fun place to hang out in the evening. The free beach chairs/towels/umbrella were also a nice touch. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The rusty nail had excellent food..the bonfire was great..awesome place to watch the sunset.

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
buddylee
Business
New York, NY
Jun 3, 2010

Good Stay

It had a great oceanview and the rooms were pretty big.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Anniversary Weekend Away
Business
Haddon Twp, NJ
Jun 1, 2010

Memorial Day Weekend Away

This was a first visit for us, not our last! Clean rooms, the restaurant/bar was right on the premises, which made it very nice! They served food and beverages at the pool and the beach! (no alcohol on the beach). It was a perfect getaway for me and my husband!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All the food was great at the Rusty Nail, especially the fried shrimp and crabcakes! My husband was not in love with the wings though.

Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Handy Dude
Business
Silver Spring, MD
May 27, 2010

Beach Shack - good value and fun

The hotel was very clean and very comfortable. My only complaint was the AC fan needs a lower setting; it was a little loud. It was too cool to swim, but the pool looked really well kept and inviting and I could see getting a cold brew at the Rusty Nail Restaurant and sitting by it on a hot day. The rooms were somewhat small and didn't have a small dining or coffee table, but they did have almost new frig, microwave and coffee maker appliances. They did have two queen sized beds and they didn't feel cramped. I felt I got great value for the price. The hotel was better than I expected and the proximity to the ocean was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I was told Uncle Bill's Pancake House had great breakfasts. It probably does if pancakes are your thing. I was disappointed. I went for a hardy, clog an artery breakfast with plenty of meat and eggs! I didn't know chickens laid eggs that small and is there a bacon shortage I didn't hear about? Wasn't cheap either. The next day we went to the Ocean View Family Restaurant and I got that hardy breakfast. The Ocean View Family Restaurant is a nice, clean, reasonably priced place with a large menu, generous portions, good service. It is not fancy, but it is good value and quality and it's close to the Beach Shack Hotel. The Rusty Nail Bar/ Grille which was part of the hotel was popular, had indoor and outdoor seating. We didn't eat there, but the prices and menu were inline with what we found at similar places on Beach Ave. We ate at the newly opened Harry's Grille and found the food good. It has indoor and outdoor dining too and is slightly more upscale, but smaller than the Rusty Nail. The Rusty Nail seems like the place to kick back and enjoy a drink and summer evening.

Back to menu Return to top