Beach Shack

3 stars
205 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
30 reviews
Great Getaway

Great time had by ALL, WONDERFUL :) LOVED IT!!!! BEAUTIFUL!! AMAZING!! See full review

  • dolphin7
  • Sep 4, 2013
Great location! Outside fire pit, great staff, nice room

My husband and I had a great stay. The room had 2 Queen beds and a huge fold out couch. It could... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 24, 2012
Definitely beachfront, but shack it is not

Some might call the refurbished Beach Shack a Cape May "boutique motel." Owned by a hotel group with much ritzier properties, this seaside Cape May hotel has similar amenities with a bit of an edge on price. It's no five-star resort (expect air conditioning units and old-school bathrooms), but Beach Shack attracts families, singles and couples who love to vacation on the sand. Open only in the high season May through mid October, Beach Shack comes alive each summer with a pool, restaurant, beach service, live music and mingling around the fire pits.

Highlights
  • Across the street from Cape May Beach with 350 feet of unobstructed views of the Atlantic Ocean
  • Heated outdoor pool with sun loungers and water views
  • Local landmark Rusty Nail beach bar and restaurant sits on site for dining in, take out or beach chair delivery
  • Live entertainment Thursday through Monday until 9:30 pm
  • Complimentary beach service with towels, chairs and umbrella set up
Rooms

Most minimalist, beach-modern rooms at Beach Shack feature two double beds. Many add seating areas with pullout sofas. Soft orange walls, contemporary blinds, and sculptural retro lamps spruce up rooms that open to pool or ocean views from bistro chairs on the terrace. Flat-panel TVs, bathrobes and signature luxury bedding (the same used at posh Congress Hall Hotel in Cape May) give the simple surroundings a plush boost. Keep a stockpile of beach snacks on hand with an in-room refrigerator, microwave, plates and flatware. A handful of oversized suites accommodate groups of up to eight.

Features

Most guests find their way down to the indoor-outdoor Rusty Nail at least once during their stay, whether for dinner, drinks or just to take in the live music. Its lively yet easy-going scene appeals to all ages, from young singles and full families with children to seniors enjoying the sunset. Live music and clusters of chairs around fire pits in the sand could attract guests and locals all night long, if not for the 9:30 p.m. noise ordinance.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport (46 mi/ 74 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (99.3 mi/ 160 km)
  • The Cape May trolley runs a route through town late June through early September
Attractions
  • Cape May Beach (across the street)
  • Cape May Stage (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Downtown historic Cape May (1.4 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Cape May Lighthouse (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Historic Cold Spring Village (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Cape May County Historical Museum (14.4 mi/ 23.2 km)
  • Wildwood beach and Boardwalk (14.7 mi/ 23.7 km)
  • Gillian's Wonderland Pier in Ocean City (34.3 mi/55.2 km)
  • Historic Smithville (46.5 mi/ 74.8 km)
  • Atlantic City beach and Boardwalk (48.5 mi/ 78 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in rooms and public spaces

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beach Shack also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Beach Shack Rooms

Family Efficiency
Non Smoking - Family Efficiency guest rooms feature 2 signature luxury queen beds, pull out sofa and flat screen TV's.
Standard Efficiency
Non Smoking - Standard Efficiency guest rooms feature 1 king bed, separate living room with pull out sofa and flat panel TV's
Standard Shack
Non Smoking - Standard Shack guest rooms feature 2 signature luxury queen beds and flat screen TV's.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Rusty Nail
The Rusty Nail - Cape Mays legendary hang out for life guards and surfers after hours will be revived with an indoor/outdoor ambiance live music and our own take on beach blanket comfort food.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Beach Shack

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hillsborough, NJ
Jul 11, 2010

Fantastic Family Getaway!

Beach Shack is a great place to relax with the family. We parked the car upon arrival and never used it until we checked out. We actually extended our stay one day past the original two we booked. Our kids loved the Rusty Nail restaurant; my husband and I loved the proximity to the beach. The hotel supplies chairs, umbrellas and towels which was wonderful not to pack and carry. We plan to return again next year! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved dining at Cucina Rosa in the main Washington Mall area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Jul 8, 2010

Wonderful Vacation

Right across the street from the beach. Dining available for all meals. Food was good. Excellent entertainment at the restaurant/bar area. Very suitable for families as well as singles or couples. Beach chairs, umbrellas, and towels supplied by the hotel. This was the absolute best!!! Lots of fun shopping. Highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MotownFamily
Business
Morristown, NJ
Jun 22, 2010

Nice getaway

We were there for a family (two adults + one minor of age < 1 year) getaway for a week and really liked it a lot. The location was clean and not too noisy. Only thing a little bit noisy, as we had a bedroom towards the back of the hotel, was allegedly the washing machine of the hotel usually running early evenings. However, the times we were going to bed they were done with washing, so to us this was not disturbing at all (in contrary, it made our little one sleep like in heaven). The hotel is located next to the beach. Just cross the street and you're there. They provide a nice beach service, so they'll set up beach chairs wherever you like it and provide a parasol. They also provide service from the Rusty Nail (their restaurant/bar) at the beach. So you can order lunch or (non-alcoholic) drinks directly to the beach. The Rusty Nail also is set up as a nice beach bar and has live music on certain evenings making it a cool chill-out place around an open fire-place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port Jeff. Sta., NY
Jun 16, 2010

Long weekend with my girlfriend

Ok so when i booked this trip i take reviews very seriously so i shall tell you as much as i can. I loved the hotel right across the street from the beach, we got a 3rd floor room Beautiful view! but there was no elevator so big deal for me but take that into consideration when booking, rusty nail restaurant was on site and had great food and entertainment, there so much to do and so much to see! the town is so clean and peaceful they clean the beach every night and the streets every morning! we woke up to seeing dolphins swimming in the ocean and the next day we were at the beach and they were 30 feet away playing! so amazing! we did a couples massage at Calm effects for only 100$ i highly recommend them its only a 14 min drive but worth it for the price, also wine tasting and kayaking that was fun. also bring ur bike if u can or you can rent one there hope you enjoy your trip as much as we did! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster, PA
Jun 13, 2010

Wonderful Beach Front Hotel and Pool

This was one of our favorite vacations. We plan on making this trip annual so we shall see you next year! Thank you for the lovely time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaclyn72
Business
old forge, pa
Jun 8, 2010

Friendliest staff

The Beach Shack has probably the friendliest staff I've ever encountered. Rooms were clean and comfortable..bathrooms were a bit outdated as previous reviewers stated but clean..the Rusty Nail had excellent seafood and was a fun place to hang out in the evening. The free beach chairs/towels/umbrella were also a nice touch. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The rusty nail had excellent food..the bonfire was great..awesome place to watch the sunset.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
buddylee
Business
New York, NY
Jun 3, 2010

Good Stay

It had a great oceanview and the rooms were pretty big.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Anniversary Weekend Away
Business
Haddon Twp, NJ
Jun 1, 2010

Memorial Day Weekend Away

This was a first visit for us, not our last! Clean rooms, the restaurant/bar was right on the premises, which made it very nice! They served food and beverages at the pool and the beach! (no alcohol on the beach). It was a perfect getaway for me and my husband!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All the food was great at the Rusty Nail, especially the fried shrimp and crabcakes! My husband was not in love with the wings though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Handy Dude
Business
Silver Spring, MD
May 27, 2010

Beach Shack - good value and fun

The hotel was very clean and very comfortable. My only complaint was the AC fan needs a lower setting; it was a little loud. It was too cool to swim, but the pool looked really well kept and inviting and I could see getting a cold brew at the Rusty Nail Restaurant and sitting by it on a hot day. The rooms were somewhat small and didn't have a small dining or coffee table, but they did have almost new frig, microwave and coffee maker appliances. They did have two queen sized beds and they didn't feel cramped. I felt I got great value for the price. The hotel was better than I expected and the proximity to the ocean was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I was told Uncle Bill's Pancake House had great breakfasts. It probably does if pancakes are your thing. I was disappointed. I went for a hardy, clog an artery breakfast with plenty of meat and eggs! I didn't know chickens laid eggs that small and is there a bacon shortage I didn't hear about? Wasn't cheap either. The next day we went to the Ocean View Family Restaurant and I got that hardy breakfast. The Ocean View Family Restaurant is a nice, clean, reasonably priced place with a large menu, generous portions, good service. It is not fancy, but it is good value and quality and it's close to the Beach Shack Hotel. The Rusty Nail Bar/ Grille which was part of the hotel was popular, had indoor and outdoor seating. We didn't eat there, but the prices and menu were inline with what we found at similar places on Beach Ave. We ate at the newly opened Harry's Grille and found the food good. It has indoor and outdoor dining too and is slightly more upscale, but smaller than the Rusty Nail. The Rusty Nail seems like the place to kick back and enjoy a drink and summer evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Getaway Needed!
Business
Rhode Island
May 17, 2010

Beach Shack Hotel

A perfect plave to enjoy and relax. I plan on returing with my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I loved the breakfast at the Pancake house it is worth an visit. The Ocean view food was not as pleasant tasting. It looked more appealing on pictures. Their hasbrowns were basically mashed potatoes..way over cooked. The pancake house is the place to eat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top