Beach Shack

3 stars
205 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
30 reviews
Great Getaway

Great time had by ALL, WONDERFUL :) LOVED IT!!!! BEAUTIFUL!! AMAZING!! See full review

  • dolphin7
  • Sep 4, 2013
Great comfortable room.

We wanted beachfront because we are celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary, and my wife loves the... See full review

  • jlashef
  • Jun 11, 2013
Definitely beachfront, but shack it is not

Some might call the refurbished Beach Shack a Cape May "boutique motel." Owned by a hotel group with much ritzier properties, this seaside Cape May hotel has similar amenities with a bit of an edge on price. It's no five-star resort (expect air conditioning units and old-school bathrooms), but Beach Shack attracts families, singles and couples who love to vacation on the sand. Open only in the high season May through mid October, Beach Shack comes alive each summer with a pool, restaurant, beach service, live music and mingling around the fire pits.

Highlights
  • Across the street from Cape May Beach with 350 feet of unobstructed views of the Atlantic Ocean
  • Heated outdoor pool with sun loungers and water views
  • Local landmark Rusty Nail beach bar and restaurant sits on site for dining in, take out or beach chair delivery
  • Live entertainment Thursday through Monday until 9:30 pm
  • Complimentary beach service with towels, chairs and umbrella set up
Rooms

Most minimalist, beach-modern rooms at Beach Shack feature two double beds. Many add seating areas with pullout sofas. Soft orange walls, contemporary blinds, and sculptural retro lamps spruce up rooms that open to pool or ocean views from bistro chairs on the terrace. Flat-panel TVs, bathrobes and signature luxury bedding (the same used at posh Congress Hall Hotel in Cape May) give the simple surroundings a plush boost. Keep a stockpile of beach snacks on hand with an in-room refrigerator, microwave, plates and flatware. A handful of oversized suites accommodate groups of up to eight.

Features

Most guests find their way down to the indoor-outdoor Rusty Nail at least once during their stay, whether for dinner, drinks or just to take in the live music. Its lively yet easy-going scene appeals to all ages, from young singles and full families with children to seniors enjoying the sunset. Live music and clusters of chairs around fire pits in the sand could attract guests and locals all night long, if not for the 9:30 p.m. noise ordinance.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport (46 mi/ 74 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (99.3 mi/ 160 km)
  • The Cape May trolley runs a route through town late June through early September
Attractions
  • Cape May Beach (across the street)
  • Cape May Stage (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Downtown historic Cape May (1.4 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Cape May Lighthouse (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Historic Cold Spring Village (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Cape May County Historical Museum (14.4 mi/ 23.2 km)
  • Wildwood beach and Boardwalk (14.7 mi/ 23.7 km)
  • Gillian's Wonderland Pier in Ocean City (34.3 mi/55.2 km)
  • Historic Smithville (46.5 mi/ 74.8 km)
  • Atlantic City beach and Boardwalk (48.5 mi/ 78 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in rooms and public spaces

Hotel Map

38.9301 -74.9324
Area served
NYC-New York City
Nearby airports
ACY- Atlantic City International Airport, (ACY), 47.00, MI, N; PHL- Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 90.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Beachfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beach Shack also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Beach Shack Rooms

Family Efficiency
Non Smoking - Family Efficiency guest rooms feature 2 signature luxury queen beds, pull out sofa and flat screen TV's.
Standard Efficiency
Non Smoking - Standard Efficiency guest rooms feature 1 king bed, separate living room with pull out sofa and flat panel TV's
Standard Shack
Non Smoking - Standard Shack guest rooms feature 2 signature luxury queen beds and flat screen TV's.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Rusty Nail
The Rusty Nail - Cape Mays legendary hang out for life guards and surfers after hours will be revived with an indoor/outdoor ambiance live music and our own take on beach blanket comfort food.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Beach Shack

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Aug 23, 2010

Beach Shack, Cape May.

The hotel is in awesome location. We left our car parked the entire time we were there. (5 days) Walk to the beach, a stones throw away. Walk into town, 2-3 blocks. Restaurants galore. Rooms were average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants are BYOB, which is great. Come prepared from home and bring your own! Cuts down on the cost of the bill tremendously.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saratoga, NY
Aug 23, 2010

Terrific Mom/Daughter getaway

I found the hotel to be clean, hotel staff was fantastic, location was terrific. It was a great place to stay...I just wished that the room had had central air. I would recommend the Beach Shack to friends and family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
State College, PA
Jul 28, 2010

Perfect for Family Escape

When we checked in they gave us a choice of first or second floor, both with ocean view. We stayed on the second floor in what turned out to be a family suite with a separate bedroom and living room. It was perfect for two small children (8 and 3). The room was right above the "Rusty Nail" restaurant and bar so we could eat and then head up to put the kids to bed and sit on the patio and listen to the live music. The beach is right across the street and the hotel offers beach service where they set up chairs, towels, and umbrellas for you for free. They do a great job and deserve a tip. One thing I will mention is to get there early as umbrellas go really fast! The stay was beyond our expectations and I can't recommend the Beach Shack enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Don't worry about leaving the hotel area, the Rusty Nail is a great place to relax, enjoy dinner, music, and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morristown, NJ
Jul 28, 2010

3rd Anniversary weekend

The location was great... right on the beach. They set you up with chairs, umbrellas, and towels on the beach as well. Having the option to order food/drinks from the Rusty nail on the beach was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The grill entree at the Rusty Nail was great. Also dinner at Aleathea's was fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington Township, NJ
Jul 27, 2010

The Beach Shack

The good: Resort-like feeling with a fabulous location right across the street from the beach and within easy walking distance to the heart of Cape May. The on-beach services--lounge chairs, towels and food service made us feel like we were at an expensive resort. Each and every staff member we encountered could not have been any nicer or more accomodating. The pool is nice; my kids always love to take a dip after coming in from a day at the beach. The pool also has towel and food service. The Rusty Nail turned out to be terrific. At first I was concerned that having a bar/restaurant so close would be too noisy, but I was happily proved wrong. the food is great; drinks even better. It's a fun, social atmosphere with all kinds of people around--kids, adults, couples, singles. There a fun, festive atmospehre with a band playing, usually from 5-9. Was a little disappointed that they do not light the fire pit during the week, which is when we stayed there. The Beach Shack is unlike other places on Cape May. There is a definite resort feel to it and we loved it. But there were some disappointments that I hope the owners of the Shack will remedy. These are not deal breakers, but.....the rooms are hardly updated. They are a reasonably size (we had two queen size beds)but very little has been done to spruce wp the rooms. My biggest objection was the teeny, tiny bathroom where the only new item was the faucet. No exhaust fan in the bathroom; no hooks to hand wet bathing suits. In addition, the air conditioner sounded like a freight train and was working at about 50% capacity. One of the main reasons we chose to stay at the Shack was because it is owned and operated by the same people as Congress Hall (unbelievable, but also 2X the cost). Unfortunately, they spent tons of money fixing up Congress Hall; not nearly as much at the Beach Shack. However, the beds, pillows, linens and towels are the same as the ones at Congress Hall. They are top notch and comfy. With the great linens and the constant drone of the AC, we all slept like babies! All in all, we will be back, though I do hope the owners invest a bit more time and money into the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two GREAT restaurants--Freida's & Fresco's. BYOB and you will enjoy meals comparable to those in NYC, withoout NYC prices. And yes, we brought the kids--two 12 year old girls, who also loved both restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fancynancy1
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 25, 2010

Beach Shack, Cape May NJ

I wanted to take my mom to Cape May since I had spent many summers on the beaches there.[...]The location was awesome, directly across from the beach and next to a restuarant!The staff was helpful and courteous. The room was a nice size with 2 queen size beds,wonderful pillows on each bed and a small kitchenette area. The room included beach service with beach chairs, umbrellas and beach towels! There is a resturant next to the hotel with a diverse menu which will please everyone! I would definitely stay there again and hope to go to Cape May again very soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nic and Wendy
Business
Phila. PA
Jul 22, 2010

'Great girls weekend!)

The Beach Shack has a great location and the rooms are spotless. The water was perfect and the beach chair, towel, and umbrella service was great. We ordered lunch on the beach from the Rusty Nail so we could stay on the sand as long as we wanted!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

So close to all the major shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allentown Pa.
Jul 19, 2010

Nice place that still needs to work out

This was in a good location. The room was clean but small. No phone. No pens small pool but then you have the ocean. My room was situated with a poor view and the cool breeze was blocked. Small TV However you are at the shore so you shouldn't be spendong your time in room. No helpful list of food delivery places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Family
Business
PA
Jul 18, 2010

Excellent Trip

Excellent place to stay. Enjoyed all the options the Beach Shack had to offer. Would recommend and definitely will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Shack

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Telford PA Couple
Business
Telford, PA
Jul 18, 2010

Beach Shack - Cape May, NJ

The atmosphere at the Beach Shack is terific if you are looking for a casual fun place in Cape May. Food and drinks are very good, and the Rusty Nail is terrific for music and hanging out on the sand by the fire pit. The beach service can't be beat, they will set up your beach chair, umbrella, towels and have full lunch service on the beach. Staff was very nice and attentive. It's not a "quiet" place if you are looking for solitude since the bar is right there, but it's a really fun place. We didn't bring the kids, but saw lots of families and looks very kid-friendly. The only negative is that this is a somewhat expensive stay, but it's right across from the beach in a great location and Cape May is expensive in general. We had a great time and will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Get some conch fritters and a cocktail (or two) at the Rusty Nail. Spend the evening on the sand by the fire pit listening to music and relaxing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top