$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

3 stars
Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
1,231 reviews
so-so

too old amenities for a casino. Buffet was so-so. i don't know what I can write See full review

  • Jiabi E. Wang
  • Dec 4, 2014
Bachelor Party

The room was very clean and great space for all of us. Bed was very comfortable. Easy to access the... See full review

  • ESU Time
  • Oct 20, 2014
‘Round the clock action at Atlantic City’s largest resort

Grab a map to explore this immense complex of gaming and good times right on the beach and Atlantic City Boardwalk. Gamers can take a seat at one of 3,000 slot machines in the 148,256-square-foot casino, while picky eaters delight in choosing from among 21 restaurants. After dark, 13 bars, lounges and clubs cater to bachelor and bachelorette parties with great success, earning the resort six nightlife awards from Atlantic City Weekly. A mix of karaoke, dancing, IMAX movies, live comedy and DJs offers non-stop action until dawn.


Highlights
  • New Jersey's largest hotel teems with dining, shopping and a 24-hour casino
  • Live entertainment in 14 venues
  • The Quarter: three floors of Old Havana-themed streetscape with shops, restaurants, theaters and a spa
  • Book a private poker table for a private dealer and VIP treatment
  • Indoor pool plus seasonal beach club and outdoor pool
Rooms

A whopping 2,100 rooms in four towers open to views of the beach, boardwalk or city. Both the standard rooms and classic rooms in the North Tower deliver basic accommodations. For free Wi-Fi and the best views, request a classic room in the newer Havana Tower, with forest green carpet and a light floral motif.

Features

As part of the Tropicana, The Quarter shopping complex calls out with a brightly colored streetscape reminiscent of Old Havana, with palm trees, a Latin band and rooftop lounge. Stroll the shops or book some pampering at bluemercury spa. In summer, guests flock to the pool and beach bar. Rent beach chairs or a VIP cabana. Valet parking and self-parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (20 minutes)
  • Philadelphia International Airport  (1 hour, 15 minutes)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars  (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Atlantic City Outlets  (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade ( 1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse  (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Aquarium (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in some rooms
  • Staff of certified meeting professionals coordinates 600 meetings a year
  • Event venues include an IMAX theater and Comedy Stop Theatre
  • Business center with Internet workstations, facsimile, equipment rental, shipping, copying and printing services  (some fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old or older to check-in.
  • All adult guests must be registered with proper identification. Hotel key required to access hotel guest elevator.
  • Credit card required at check-in.
  • Tropicana does not permit coolers or excessive amounts of food and beverage to be brought into the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City Rooms

Standard
The Standard rooms are newly remodeled and come with 1 king or 2 double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.1 mi
  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.7 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 1.9 mi

Dining

Adam Good Crab Shack & Sports Bar
This restaurant offers guests an affordable menu of seasonal shellfish dishes, a rustic raw bar and an incredible crab selection including Dungeness, Blue Claw, Snow and King. Executive Chef and Culinary Institute of America graduate Kevin Couch has designed a menu to suit all palates. The 240-seat restaurant will feature an authentic crab shack atmosphere, complete with brown paper spread across tables, hammers for whacking shells, bibs and pitchers of frosty cold beer. A lively bar area will be the perfect place for sports fans to grab a bite and watch the game on big screen televisions.
Seaside Cafe
After a fabulous night out on the town, head to the Seaside Cafe to satisfy a late-night hunger. This 24-hour dining experience boasts a relaxed, casual atmosphere with a menu offering a taste for every appetite including an authentic Italian pizza oven.
FIN: A Seafood Experience
FIN features locally grown food and wine from New Jersey fishermen, farmers and vintners. It is the only seafood restaurant in Atlantic City with oceanfront seating. Signature dishes include Chef Demetrios' Dancing Shrimp made with onion panko crusted shrimp served with a lobster crab cake. There is also a sushi and raw bar. Come experience seafood with a splash. Open for dinner.
Golden Dynasty
Voted Best Chinese Restaurant in Atlantic City eight years in a row by Casino Player Magazine, Golden Dynasty elevates traditional Chinese cuisine to exquisite levels. Prepared by some of Atlantic City's most distinguished chefs, the succulent fare explores the Cantonese, Mandarin and Szechwan cuisines.
Food Court
Food Court - Hooters, Corky's Ribs & BBQ, Fire Waters, James Salt Water Taffy, Starbucks Coffee, Adam Good Deli, Boardwalk Favorites.
Fiesta Buffet
Enjoy panoramic views of surf and sand while dining in the stunning Fiesta Buffet. The food is classic and the menu changes daily at the all-you-can-eat breakfast, brunch and dinner buffets. Seafood buffet and carving stations available seven days a week. Fridays include lobster tail - 1 per person - for the same buffet price.
32 degreess
Chill out in 32 degrees, a chic new destination offering premium cocktails and liquor shots served in glasses made of solid ice. Sip cocktails of your own design with European bottle service where mixes, garnishes and entire bottles of spirits, champagne and wine are delivered to your table. Nibble from a full raw bar and a menu of sushi and other chilled seafood that is sure to satisfy. Rent a private locker to store your unfinished spirits for your next visit here!
II Verdi
A gourmet dining destination, Il Verdi features award-winning chefs that meticulously prepare Northern Italian cuisine in a superb setting. For tenderly prepared Osso Bucco or the perfect pan-seared Red Snapper, lool no further than Il Verdi. Nothing compares to the Chef's Table at Il Verdi, where guests can witness the chef's mastery close up at a dining table set amidst the action in the Il Verdi Gourmet kitchen.
The Marketplace at the Boardwalk
Featuring an assortment of eateries and entertainment including Corky's Ribs & BBQ, Hooters and Starbucks Coffee.
The Palm
The Palm's new restaurant in The Quarter at Tropicana is the legendary restaurant's first foray into New Jersey. Renowned as much for its A-List celebrity regulars and caricature adorned walls as it is for prime steaks, enormous lobsters and traditional Italian dishes. Known as the ultimate celebrity hang-out, the Palm has garnered the Wine Spectator Awards of Excellence award for its wine list and is known as the critics choice as The Classic American Steak House.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1231)

Ratings and reviews for Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 1231
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 11, 2007

Unlimited Comfort

The Tropicana in Atlantic City exceeded my expectations of a hotel. Check-in was easy and took no time at all. All the hotel staff, from the valets to the desk clerks were very courteous and professional. The hotel in itself was very elegant and regal looking. The room was simply perfect. It had a wonderful view of the city which was breath-taking at night. The bathroom was lavish and the beds were very comfortable. If I ever go back to Atlantic City, the Tropicana will be my lounging destination. I have recomended it to everyone I have talked to. I really liked the fact that the casino, the restaurants and theater were all in close proximity to my room. Everything was so at-hand!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The variety of dining places were kind of over-whelming. We just couldn't decide where to eat. But it was very conveinient because all the restaurants, cafe's and buffets were all under one roof!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 16, 2007

nice overnight stay

The Tropicana was a nice hotel for our overnight stay in Atlantic City. Basically we only slept in the room, we were out and about all the time. The hotel is on the opposite end of the strip from the fancier hotels but we loved walking the Boardwalk. The rooms we OK, not elegant, but more than adequate. The staff was helpful and friendly. All in all we had a nice time and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

We went to The Comedy Club and really enjoyed the show

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mitten75
Business
chicago
Oct 12, 2011

excellent

Best hotel-casino on the boardwalk, great location, and plenty of restaurants and shops connected to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
momwithteen
Business
New Jersey
May 16, 2012

Mother's day

My kids and I love Carmine's restaurant at Tropicana, food was fantastic!! Service was the best!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

family dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Hutch
Business
Richmond Va
Jul 21, 2012

I have waited 3 yrs for a vacation - It was worth it..But

Almost everything was great . It was far from the other hotels , but the hotel is self contained .You really do not have to go anywhere else . It does take some time to find where you are going because it is SO big . Now for the one problem . We came in to check in and they did not have a reservation for J H .I thought I was OK because I had a print out of your first email . It had yours and theirs conformation number on it . The check in lady (very nice ) said that their conformation number was too long . So we read the e-mail and it said that a conformation e-mail was going to be sent later . I was getting very nerves. Someone had my money and I did not have a room. I do not carry a laptop and she said I could go to the business center to check my emails . OK. We went there and they had just closed for lunch and would not be back for another hour . I got more nerves. My wife tried to calm me down ( I do not get mad ,just wondered where my money went and being several hundred miles away from home..I needed a room after 3 yrs. )We went to get something to eat to pass the time for which I could not eat my meal. It was time the center was opened . We got the conformation email that had the same number. I downloaded it and by the time we got back to check in , the line was 4 times as long as when I tried to check in the first time . Oh well . We got the same lady and she said it was the same as before and it was too long .She finally went to a manager and he could not find it himself.So he gave her a phone number to call , after 10 minutes she said they had found it. Someone forgot to fax it somewhere . We got our room . Another thing happened . I bought a MP3 player for the beach and also had 2 business phones with me . When I plugged them in to recharge .....they were all zapped some how and all 3 were damaged . I asked the man at the business center that day what could have happened . He had no idea .Neither do I . So I have to get 2 new phones . I did not care about the MP3 player because I was only going to use it at the beach that week. But we both enjoyed every moment( After this stuff happened ) at the hotel P.S. I will not let 3 yrs. to go by again . I am saving up every penny so that me,my wife,my oldest son and his wife and my youngest son and a friend can spend a week together .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I do not have the money for high class eating ,but the places I could afford exceeded my expectations. You must go to the Seaside Inn (Thus. 1/2 price beer and home made pizza ,) RiRa's Great burgers ,Tango's great happy hour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alexoh
Business
NJ
Mar 18, 2013

Very Nice

Room was clean. Staff was super helpful. Location was super!! Recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shoced mom
Business
jacksonville
Apr 6, 2013

loved it

clean , fun comfortable bed, large room. noise in the hall at nihgt. but that is to be expected at a casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mikeman46
Business
Sound Beach, NY
Jun 27, 2013

Trop was tops

We had a great stay during the week at the Tropicana. The staff made everything go smoothly from valet to check in staff to the room comfort n cleanliness. THe price was right and the stay was terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brent Foster
Business
Willingboro, nj
Jul 5, 2013

Holiday getaway

I had no problems with this hotel, I had a comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
saly65
Business
Williamsburg Va.
Jun 12, 2013

Tropicana realy took my vacation to another level

We had a great time everything was very clean just an excellent place to stay.We are already planning to go again, the Tropicana is the only place we will stay.THANKS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the time to enjoy everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top