$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 12, 2015 Check-out: Feb 13, 2015

Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

3 stars
Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
1,258 reviews
Awesome quick getaway

My fiance and I really enjoyed our quick getaway to Tropicana! The staff were professional, the... See full review

  • Shay
  • Jan 22, 2015
fun fun fun

I loved the room the hotel it self was beautiful. I will surely stay at this hotel again no... See full review

  • Tee. Tee
  • Jan 20, 2015
‘Round the clock action at Atlantic City’s largest resort

Grab a map to explore this immense complex of gaming and good times right on the beach and Atlantic City Boardwalk. Gamers can take a seat at one of 3,000 slot machines in the 148,256-square-foot casino, while picky eaters delight in choosing from among 21 restaurants. After dark, 13 bars, lounges and clubs cater to bachelor and bachelorette parties with great success, earning the resort six nightlife awards from Atlantic City Weekly. A mix of karaoke, dancing, IMAX movies, live comedy and DJs offers non-stop action until dawn.


Highlights
  • New Jersey's largest hotel teems with dining, shopping and a 24-hour casino
  • Live entertainment in 14 venues
  • The Quarter: three floors of Old Havana-themed streetscape with shops, restaurants, theaters and a spa
  • Book a private poker table for a private dealer and VIP treatment
  • Indoor pool plus seasonal beach club and outdoor pool
Rooms

A whopping 2,100 rooms in four towers open to views of the beach, boardwalk or city. Both the standard rooms and classic rooms in the North Tower deliver basic accommodations. For free Wi-Fi and the best views, request a classic room in the newer Havana Tower, with forest green carpet and a light floral motif.

Features

As part of the Tropicana, The Quarter shopping complex calls out with a brightly colored streetscape reminiscent of Old Havana, with palm trees, a Latin band and rooftop lounge. Stroll the shops or book some pampering at bluemercury spa. In summer, guests flock to the pool and beach bar. Rent beach chairs or a VIP cabana. Valet parking and self-parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (20 minutes)
  • Philadelphia International Airport  (1 hour, 15 minutes)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars  (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Atlantic City Outlets  (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade ( 1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse  (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Aquarium (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in some rooms
  • Staff of certified meeting professionals coordinates 600 meetings a year
  • Event venues include an IMAX theater and Comedy Stop Theatre
  • Business center with Internet workstations, facsimile, equipment rental, shipping, copying and printing services  (some fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old or older to check-in.
  • All adult guests must be registered with proper identification. Hotel key required to access hotel guest elevator.
  • Credit card required at check-in.
  • Tropicana does not permit coolers or excessive amounts of food and beverage to be brought into the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City Rooms

Standard
The Standard rooms are newly remodeled and come with 1 king or 2 double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.1 mi
  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.7 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 1.9 mi

Dining

Adam Good Crab Shack & Sports Bar
This restaurant offers guests an affordable menu of seasonal shellfish dishes, a rustic raw bar and an incredible crab selection including Dungeness, Blue Claw, Snow and King. Executive Chef and Culinary Institute of America graduate Kevin Couch has designed a menu to suit all palates. The 240-seat restaurant will feature an authentic crab shack atmosphere, complete with brown paper spread across tables, hammers for whacking shells, bibs and pitchers of frosty cold beer. A lively bar area will be the perfect place for sports fans to grab a bite and watch the game on big screen televisions.
Seaside Cafe
After a fabulous night out on the town, head to the Seaside Cafe to satisfy a late-night hunger. This 24-hour dining experience boasts a relaxed, casual atmosphere with a menu offering a taste for every appetite including an authentic Italian pizza oven.
FIN: A Seafood Experience
FIN features locally grown food and wine from New Jersey fishermen, farmers and vintners. It is the only seafood restaurant in Atlantic City with oceanfront seating. Signature dishes include Chef Demetrios' Dancing Shrimp made with onion panko crusted shrimp served with a lobster crab cake. There is also a sushi and raw bar. Come experience seafood with a splash. Open for dinner.
Golden Dynasty
Voted Best Chinese Restaurant in Atlantic City eight years in a row by Casino Player Magazine, Golden Dynasty elevates traditional Chinese cuisine to exquisite levels. Prepared by some of Atlantic City's most distinguished chefs, the succulent fare explores the Cantonese, Mandarin and Szechwan cuisines.
Food Court
Food Court - Hooters, Corky's Ribs & BBQ, Fire Waters, James Salt Water Taffy, Starbucks Coffee, Adam Good Deli, Boardwalk Favorites.
Fiesta Buffet
Enjoy panoramic views of surf and sand while dining in the stunning Fiesta Buffet. The food is classic and the menu changes daily at the all-you-can-eat breakfast, brunch and dinner buffets. Seafood buffet and carving stations available seven days a week. Fridays include lobster tail - 1 per person - for the same buffet price.
32 degreess
Chill out in 32 degrees, a chic new destination offering premium cocktails and liquor shots served in glasses made of solid ice. Sip cocktails of your own design with European bottle service where mixes, garnishes and entire bottles of spirits, champagne and wine are delivered to your table. Nibble from a full raw bar and a menu of sushi and other chilled seafood that is sure to satisfy. Rent a private locker to store your unfinished spirits for your next visit here!
II Verdi
A gourmet dining destination, Il Verdi features award-winning chefs that meticulously prepare Northern Italian cuisine in a superb setting. For tenderly prepared Osso Bucco or the perfect pan-seared Red Snapper, lool no further than Il Verdi. Nothing compares to the Chef's Table at Il Verdi, where guests can witness the chef's mastery close up at a dining table set amidst the action in the Il Verdi Gourmet kitchen.
The Marketplace at the Boardwalk
Featuring an assortment of eateries and entertainment including Corky's Ribs & BBQ, Hooters and Starbucks Coffee.
The Palm
The Palm's new restaurant in The Quarter at Tropicana is the legendary restaurant's first foray into New Jersey. Renowned as much for its A-List celebrity regulars and caricature adorned walls as it is for prime steaks, enormous lobsters and traditional Italian dishes. Known as the ultimate celebrity hang-out, the Palm has garnered the Wine Spectator Awards of Excellence award for its wine list and is known as the critics choice as The Classic American Steak House.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1258)

Ratings and reviews for Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1258 out of 1258
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HES
Business
Fort Washington, MD
Jun 20, 2009

Get me out of here

The bathroom had mold in it. Every time you took the elevator it will take 15 to 30 minutes for a elevator. The front Desk manager Mike said he will give me a free lunch for the bad experiences. sent me the restaurant waited 15 minutes they had no idea about the free lunch, went back to Mike he called them printer not working, Was told to go back and wait in line for another 20 minutes. I just left the place. I will never go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Matkalle
Business
NEW JERSEY
Apr 18, 2010

Management SUCKS

WHEN WE GOT THERE THEY GAVE ME A ROOM WITH SOMEONES BELONGINS THERE, MANAGEMENT CHANGED ROOM BUT INSTEAD OF TAKIN CARE OF IT PROMPTLY MADE ME WAIT IN LINE TO CHANGE IT. NOISY ALL THROUGH THE NIGHT.. EVEN AT 5 AM. SECURITY COULDNT CONTROL THE OTHER GUEST MAKING NOISE. I WILL NOW BE WILLING TO PAY THE EXTRA 50 BUCKS TO STAY AT A CLASSIER PLACE ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SVEGA
Business
NEW JERSEY
Aug 3, 2010

A BAD PLACE

We went on a Monday there was nothing really to do besides the casinos. The staff was not very friendly. And the hotel is to big with different ways to exist that can't get you lost at anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travellistaa
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 6, 2012

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE IN A CASINO HOTEL

This hotel had the absolute worst customer service that I have ever experienced in a casino hotel and I travel to Las Vegas and Atlantic City very regularly. I would not recommend and would not ever stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Johnny3
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Very Bad

The rooms were extreamly hot and uncomfortable. There were stains all over the walls and right about the bed. The bathroom had clumps of hair all over the floor and stuck to the wall. The staff was very rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pierce Macguillicutty
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Disgusting room, Overpriced

My expectations for Atlantic City hotels are usually pretty low in the room department. The Tropicana was a disappointment, however, because even though the casino and entertainment areas were enjoyable, the room itself was pretty filthy. The entire room smelled like old vomit, and at no point felt clean or comfortable. The televisions appear to be 20 years old, and there was not even a remote in the room. Again, all of this was expected, being in Atlantic City, but at expensive weekend rates, there are much nicer comparable alternatives down the boardwalk at Caesar's Palace or Taj Mahal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Hooter restaurant in the hotel is a great place to watch a game, and looks out over the Boardwalk/ ocean. Much more affordable and better service than the other sports bar in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Apparently not important
Business
Wyomissing, PA
Jul 7, 2012

Terrible!!!

I will never come here again! I was charged for parking more than once..(10$) each time I left because the hotel did not give me the proper receipt..an to get it was an obstacle that was never succeeded. But I can handle 30$ compare to the 300$ extra charge that I had called twice about. I have stayed at many casinos and understand the security deposit policy. What I don't understand is one that is taken out 3 diffent times at three different prices and a response of it was a mistake and will be refunded in 7 business days. I have money in my account for bills and because of this mistake am being charged 2 different overdrafts. But did they care? No..still waiting to be refunded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Never again at the trop
Business
Reading, pa
Jul 9, 2012

Terrible choice

Dirty room. We requested a new room and the carpet was wet and still dirty. Staff was rude and complaining about their jobs in earshot of guests. Pool bar was a disgrace. No selection, dirty and outrageous prices. It was very difficult to get to the correct parking garage as the area was poorly labeled. Will never stay here again. For what I paid for one night I expected at least a clean room and friendly staff. Will never recommend to any other people looking to say in Atlantic city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ashley.xtina
Business
Yardville, nj
Jul 22, 2012

I will be back at harrahs

we usually stay at harrahs, but wanted to try tropicana. First I did not like the fact that checkout is at 11,knowing we are going to be out late it's really to early to have to leave. I called the morning of to request a later checkout, the lady told me out of courtesy we can check out by 12 which I thought was great, when finally going to check in the lady told me no we have to leave by 11 there was no note that I talked to someone about the late checkout, and even doubted me about calling. The lady at check in then told me I can call at nine in the morning to see if we could have a late checkout. When I called in te morning they told me no way could they do a late checkout, when asking for a half hr or hr she said no were unable to and hung up. Terrible customer service! The elevators were so hot and took forever to get one from the room to the casino. Also the club "providence" was overly crowded 15 for girls to enter n 25 for guys, you couldn't even move. The dj was terrible, will definitely stick to the pool from now on. Very disappointed trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Also the club "providence" was overly crowded 15 for girls to enter n 25 for guys, you couldn't even move. The dj was terrible, will definitely stick to the pool from now on. The sports pub was the highlight of the night where we got our dinner. The food was very good, located upstairs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kmac17
Business
NYC
Jul 30, 2012

great location, rooms need updating

I never write a review but the hotel room at the tropicana are so dated. I felt like I was sleeping on a bed of nails. The room was so uncomfortable and needed updating. I would understand if I was at a cheesy NJ motel, but for the weekend rates the Tropicana charges. They have nerve. however the hotel is in a good location and has great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top