$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

3 stars
View map of Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1412 out of 1412
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 15, 2010

Crowded and Overrated

The Tropicana is too large for its own good. I went with some friends to Atlantic City for my sisters birthday and was very disappointed in the Tropicana. While they had a ton of amenities in the hotel, the place was so big it took forever to walk everywhere. The wait for an elevator was also absolutely ridiculous. The casino was also massive and practically impossible to get a drink. And to top it off the servers were rude and unfriendly. Of course it was fun, but it would have been nice to get a better level of service considering how expensive it was to stay there for the weekend. The Tropicana would probably be a good place on a less crowded weekend. I've been to Atlantic City a number of times now, and this was my first time at the Tropicana and I would be hesitant to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenixville, PA
Aug 14, 2010

had a wonderful time

We had a very pleasant stay at the Toopicana. When I checked in, they didn't have a room with a king size bed in my booked price, so they comped me an upgrade so we could get one. We enjoyed dinner there twice and saw the Brett Danials magic show... all-in-all a great stay and very close to the beach and not far to walk to other places on the boardwalk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Ripley's Believe It or Not museum... much bigger than we expected and we had a great time there... spent over an hour reviewing the museum.

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hicksville, ny
Aug 13, 2010

FAMILY GETAWAY

We booked a mini vacation to atlantic city through [...] for the 1st time, and it was awesome, we usually booked with other sites but this was by far the best experience and for a much better price! So glad my son told us about [...]. To make matters better we got and upgrade to a beautiful suite. Thank you [...]!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

stay for longer than 3 days. You will want to!

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honey Bunch
Business
Tampa Bay, FL
Aug 12, 2010

My Atlantic City Trip

My only problem was the fact that a non-smoking room was requested prior to my visit, but the hotel gave us a smoking room. They said a non-smoking room was unavailable at the time of check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honey Bunch
Business
Tampa Bay, FL
Aug 12, 2010

My Atlantic City Trip

My only problem was the fact that a non-smoking room was requested prior to my visit, but the hotel gave us a smoking room. They said a non-smoking room was unavailable at the time of check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pisctaway,NJ
Aug 9, 2010

Nice room, good price

The bathroom was very clean and so was the room except for some spots on the rugs. The check in and check out was time consuming. Overall I would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Aug 8, 2010

Family Vacation

The check in process was terrible, we had to stand in line to check in for over thirty minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristen D.
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 7, 2010

Great Location/ amenities

I've stayed at the Tropicana a couple times before. Granted, it had been a couple of years, thus I was very impressed with the Quarter--a good selections of restaurants/bars for any taste, and also high-end shopping options. On a less-impressive note, my partner and I were becoming bored with the beach and opted to hang by the pool (and more importantly, pool bar :) ). Though the area is large, the pool is quite small, and was overrun with children. Hence, not the most relaxing scenario. All this aside, you can't beat the cheap rates- $100 a night. AWESOME! All in all, it was a great night, and if you have the chance, book a room in the Havana Tower- it's as close to the action as you can get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Fin Bar has an excellent selection of FRESH sushi rolls and sashimi. Also great and refreshing cocktail menu.

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 7, 2010

Beautiful and fun hotel!

Many good restaurants, cafes and snack places. Helpful staff and friendly cleaning personnel. Pool not too big but there is also an indoor one. Steps to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Many breakfast places in hotel with reasonable prices. Burger King next door and Dunkin Donuts across the street.

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
white plains ny
Aug 7, 2010

very good hotel

Very nice hotel. Lavish lobby and shops and plenty of restaurants. Rooms should be closer to the boardwalk. Better than many of our pther stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top