$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

3 stars
View map of Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1286 out of 1286
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riko
Business
Long Island,NY
Jul 8, 2010

The real deal!

I was very nervous about staying at the Tropicana because of the mixed reviews I had read. They went from worst stay EVER to Fantastic. Didn't know what to expect. Well I was pleased with my stay. Most of the staff were very nice. (Promotions not great) Waited in line to register on a Tuesday at 3 O'Clock for about 1\2 hour. Many people and they did a fine job getting through the line. I would suggest arriving around 4 O'Clock as the line went down quickly. Went to room (Classic Havana tower and the rug was disgusting) (room 628 I think). Called housekeeping and they gave us another number to call. Ended up getting another room in about 20 minutes. (Much better (5817) but the mattress had a stain on the side (looked like coffee) but the rest of the room was good. Casino and restaurants were all good. Great location on boardwalk. I would stay there again although I think they need to get a handle on the stains on everything. Staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you go to Carmines have at least 3-4 people. Way too much food for 2 people. Was tasty but overwhelming!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 8, 2010

really loved it

I honestly liked the tropicana alot! Its right on the boardwalk, and it also has an indoor and outdoor pool if you're not really into the beach. The tower we stayed in was the West Tower which was really nice, had sort of a nautical theme inside the room, a very clean looking room. It is also just a short taxi ride to the Borgata or the Harrah (best places to party) We took a cab from The Tropicana to the Harrah and it was like $14.00 and $13.00 on the way back. I would definitely stay at The Tropicana again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jul 7, 2010

Fun place

There's a lot to do at the Trop-shows, an IMAX theater, fun shopping. In addition to quite a few restaurants, I like that they had many places where you could just grab a quick(inexpensive) meal. I do not gamble, but the Casinos are a lot of fun, anyway. And the location is close to many other places-just a walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, md
Jul 7, 2010

Good deal for the price.

Hotel was nice for the price but it was not very kid friendly. How ever for a couple or single people it would be great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There is a lot of stuff to do within the hotel, and the casino is great.Plenty of food options and shops in the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerseyLady
Business
Jersey
Jul 7, 2010

Location Location Location

My stay at Tropicana over the 4th of July weekend was great. We got an upgrade to a suite which was excellent. Many dining and nightlife options. The pool although a bit on the small side was fun and the DJ played good music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
troppy
Business
New jersey
Jul 7, 2010

Ordinary stay!

The location and cost of this hotel is the reason why we chose it. It was an average stay. The only real negative was the late check in time. We didn't get into the room until 3pm..however they originally stated 4pm. They have a late check in and an early 11am check out..which sucks, but that's everywhere I suppose. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. The only disappointment was the lack of upgrading. It had a regular tv (not that we were there to watch it.) I felt the room needed upgrading. Overall it was a positive stay. A plus was the room had a little fridge in it. I brought extra water down and our friends brought beer. Hotel is right on the boardwalk which was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sheema
Business
Paterson NJ
Jul 7, 2010

Hotel

I visited the boardwalk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
brick, nj
Jul 7, 2010

family getaway

Horrible staff. Besides the cleaning people and the nurse only good exp. and bell hop. All other have no respect including management. The managers train there employees to be the way they are and that is not saying much. HORRIBLE management!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Missy GoGambles
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 7, 2010

Affordable and convenient

I chose the Tropicana primarily for the price. I was very happy with everything that was available to us. Check in was quick and easy. The casino is through the Quarter, making you pause to get goodies on your way to gamble. I got lost a few times while going from the parking garage to the casino to the room and so on and so forth. It would have been more convenient to have a map of all of Tropicana's area. The room was clean. Not immaculate, but if I wanted a blow my socks off type of room, I wouldn't have spent such little money. All in all, the stay was extremely enjoyable. Very convenient, easy to get to, right on the boardwalk yet far enough down you don't get all the commotion. I would go again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville NC
Jul 6, 2010

A Good Time and a Great Deal

The mattresses at this hotel were fantastic!!! We took an extended vacation and had to transition to three different locations and therefore three different places to stay. This one was by far the most comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

P.F. Chang's is so good and you can get healthy food there. Also convenient were the many snack-type shops that offered quick foods. I liked how the hotel had the menus and lists of establishments within in the casino right in the rooms.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top