$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

3 stars
View map of Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1267 out of 1267
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billy tom
Couples
Rochester, NY
Aug 7, 2010

Summer getaway

Enjoyed our stay. Room was comfortable. Parking was a little confusing (4 garages) but the staff was very helpful. Long line at check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sign up for diamond club. The coupon book has great deals and even free parking

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beazy
Family
Ocean, NJ
Aug 6, 2010

"Saved by the Restaurants"

Location is a bit far the rest of the action! We had to take "rolling carts" to anywhere we wanted to go except the Hilton. Great choice of restaurants,i.e. Carmine's,PF Chang'g, The Palm, Red Square,etc. and beautiful walkways with good shopping available! Store such as Black/White, Brooks Brothers,Chicos, Svarvaski, Erwin Perl, etc. The outdoor pool was extremely small, terribly overcrowded & basically a mess! Checking out was probably the worst process we have ever experienced! Coming down the escalator to a sea of humanity was putting it mildly. We called for beelhop service at 9:45AM and were told it would be approximately 45 min., so we obviously attempted to condense our baggage and made our way to the elevator-another problem- we waited 10min & squeezed on. The line to process your ticket for the car was exceedingly long, only to be surpassed by the wait for your vehicle. Time wasted - 40 minutes!! Fortunately, we had prepaid, so we did not have to wait on yet another line - the check-out!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Great Lounge singer - Kelly who has been there five years, and sings them all!! Also, IMAX theatre.

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Lancaster,PA
Aug 6, 2010

Understaffed

Waited to check-in,at restaurant, even waited in long line to exit parking garage- severely understaffed !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Baltimore, MD
Aug 6, 2010

Great casino and hotel

Really enjoyed my stay. Shops and dinning were great. Room was neat and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Hotel is large...so if you are a senior like me...wear comfortable shoes.

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
silver spring MD
Aug 5, 2010

best for family

we come back home very please and happy, the hotel was more than we expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
usually not a complainer!
Couples
mount olive NJ
Aug 4, 2010

[...]

We went for a quick getaway,and could not wait to [get away from this place!] Check-in took 45 minutes.The place just screamed of disrepair. There was an ice machine on our floor which was obviously broken/leaking but was allowed to spew water all over the carpeted hallway. Someone's quick fix was to throw a room towel onto the floor, and set up a disgustingly worn road crew cone on the pond that grew daily. After the maid cleaned(?) our room it still felt dirty, and my wife and I were tempted to sleep in our clothes. The place just felt DIRTY! The gaming area , lobby, and The casino and public areas were better cared for, but still seemed in need of lots of TLC. Pretty much it was the kind of reception you would expect from a Motel 6, not a big name casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
getaway charlie
Couples
new york
Jul 30, 2010

beautiful

great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
bensalem PA
Jul 30, 2010

better than expected

I read reviews and was skeptical(long check in,elevator waits,bed bugs,dirty)but I was pleasantly surprised,check in 20 min.minor wait for elevators,no worse than other busy hotels,no bugs...and I looked!,roomadequately clean,beds made fresh towels and trash emptied daily.Outdoor pool nice,but rude guests who take up chairs with towels are not the hotels fault,only downside is poolbar,very limited and pricey 12.00/drink and you are not allowed to bring in your own(hide drinks in bag!)Indoor pool not my thing older folks doing exercise laps!Gym broken equipment and must be 18,would not let my 15 and 16 year olds in with me.Loved walking around hotel lots to see,shop,eat drink,imax theater,magic show.We stayed in havana tower which was a long walk to boardwalk/beach but a nice walk.Would definitely stay again and only recc. would be something for teens to do at night ie arcade,dance club for teens.Suggestfor food is PF Changs fresh and reasonable and beer drinkers love 5.00/40oz beers upstairs at a darn good sports bar,but food here just usual bar food.My advice always is dont have high expectations for vacations relax and enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reddytogoagain
Family
Clinton, ohio
Jul 29, 2010

Had a great time

Great hotel ,price not bad, would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

buy your coffee at the boardwalk cafe connected to the hotel and save a bunch of money.

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magstr
Couples
Fairfield, CA
Jul 28, 2010

Very Impressed

We stayed in the South Tower on the 12th floor. This room (1269) had a fantistic view of the beach and ocean. The room was very large with a separate area with a couch and tables. The TV was on a turn-table so we were able to watch it from either the couch area or the bed (king size). There was alot of room to walk around the room, too. We would highly recommend this hotel if you don't mind being away from the rest of the resorts/casinos. We don't gamble so it worked out great for us. The beach at this hotel was great. Every morning machines groom the sand and then cleaners come by to pick up any trash that was remaining. As a result the beach was very clean. The only negative was the walls seemed to be paper thin and there was a crying baby in the room next to ours. Fortunately that didn't last too long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We were told the Hilton buffet (next door to the Tropicana) has the best buffet, but it was closed when we were there. They close on Mondays and Tuesdays.

Back to menu Return to top