Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

3 stars
Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
1,202 reviews
Great getaway to relax!

Beautiful hotel I love that Wet Willies is down stairs! See full review

  • Chyrstal
  • Sep 11, 2014
Bachelorette party

Awesome room overlooking the ocean on the top floor. Perfect place to stay in ac!! Everything under... See full review

  • Lauren g
  • Sep 8, 2014
The Tropicana Casino and Resort is Atlantic City's premier destination and New Jersey's largest hotel. With over 2,100 luxury oceanview accommodations, 21 restaurants, round-the-clock casino gaming in a 148,256 square foot casino, 14 venues offering live entertainment, the nearby beach and Boardwalk, and a wealth of shopping at 34 stores, a world-class experience awaits you at the Tropicana. Plus Tropicana is home to The Quarter, a brand new complex featuring three floors of shopping, dining, theater and spa services, not to mention over 500 beautiful new hotel rooms.

**PLEASE NOTE: Guests must be 21 years old to check in. A credit card is required upon check-in.** Check-in time starts in the afternoon based on room availability. Guests should inquire with the front desk upon arrival.

All adult guests must be registered with proper identification. Hotel key required to access hotel guest elevator. Credit card required at check-in. Tropicana does not permit coolers or excessive amounts of food and beverage to be brought into the hotel.

Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City Rooms

Standard
The Standard rooms are newly remodeled and come with 1 king or 2 double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

39.3518 -74.4446
Area served
Atlantic City, NJ
Nearby airports
AIY - Atlantic City International and PHL - Philadelphia International
Area description
World famous Beach and boardwalk.

Nearby points of interest

  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.1 mi
  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.7 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 1.9 mi

Dining

Adam Good Crab Shack & Sports Bar
This restaurant offers guests an affordable menu of seasonal shellfish dishes, a rustic raw bar and an incredible crab selection including Dungeness, Blue Claw, Snow and King. Executive Chef and Culinary Institute of America graduate Kevin Couch has designed a menu to suit all palates. The 240-seat restaurant will feature an authentic crab shack atmosphere, complete with brown paper spread across tables, hammers for whacking shells, bibs and pitchers of frosty cold beer. A lively bar area will be the perfect place for sports fans to grab a bite and watch the game on big screen televisions.
Seaside Cafe
After a fabulous night out on the town, head to the Seaside Cafe to satisfy a late-night hunger. This 24-hour dining experience boasts a relaxed, casual atmosphere with a menu offering a taste for every appetite including an authentic Italian pizza oven.
FIN: A Seafood Experience
FIN features locally grown food and wine from New Jersey fishermen, farmers and vintners. It is the only seafood restaurant in Atlantic City with oceanfront seating. Signature dishes include Chef Demetrios' Dancing Shrimp made with onion panko crusted shrimp served with a lobster crab cake. There is also a sushi and raw bar. Come experience seafood with a splash. Open for dinner.
Golden Dynasty
Voted Best Chinese Restaurant in Atlantic City eight years in a row by Casino Player Magazine, Golden Dynasty elevates traditional Chinese cuisine to exquisite levels. Prepared by some of Atlantic City's most distinguished chefs, the succulent fare explores the Cantonese, Mandarin and Szechwan cuisines.
Food Court
Food Court - Hooters, Corky's Ribs & BBQ, Fire Waters, James Salt Water Taffy, Starbucks Coffee, Adam Good Deli, Boardwalk Favorites.
Fiesta Buffet
Enjoy panoramic views of surf and sand while dining in the stunning Fiesta Buffet. The food is classic and the menu changes daily at the all-you-can-eat breakfast, brunch and dinner buffets. Seafood buffet and carving stations available seven days a week. Fridays include lobster tail - 1 per person - for the same buffet price.
32 degreess
Chill out in 32 degrees, a chic new destination offering premium cocktails and liquor shots served in glasses made of solid ice. Sip cocktails of your own design with European bottle service where mixes, garnishes and entire bottles of spirits, champagne and wine are delivered to your table. Nibble from a full raw bar and a menu of sushi and other chilled seafood that is sure to satisfy. Rent a private locker to store your unfinished spirits for your next visit here!
II Verdi
A gourmet dining destination, Il Verdi features award-winning chefs that meticulously prepare Northern Italian cuisine in a superb setting. For tenderly prepared Osso Bucco or the perfect pan-seared Red Snapper, lool no further than Il Verdi. Nothing compares to the Chef's Table at Il Verdi, where guests can witness the chef's mastery close up at a dining table set amidst the action in the Il Verdi Gourmet kitchen.
The Marketplace at the Boardwalk
Featuring an assortment of eateries and entertainment including Corky's Ribs & BBQ, Hooters and Starbucks Coffee.
The Palm
The Palm's new restaurant in The Quarter at Tropicana is the legendary restaurant's first foray into New Jersey. Renowned as much for its A-List celebrity regulars and caricature adorned walls as it is for prime steaks, enormous lobsters and traditional Italian dishes. Known as the ultimate celebrity hang-out, the Palm has garnered the Wine Spectator Awards of Excellence award for its wine list and is known as the critics choice as The Classic American Steak House.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1202)

Ratings and reviews for Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1202 out of 1202
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tropical Macaw
northern, NJ
Jul 26, 2014

Lots of pros....lots of cons

Room needed a refresher. Rust in shower, holes in curtains in bed sheets, missing and peeling wallpaper ect. Walls are paper thing and could hear everything going on in the hallways, nearby rooms, and elevator. Elevators are also impossible to get when checking out. Not all work and we had to wait for 20 minutes to get an elevator that went up to the 50th floor and stopped at every floor on the way down, in totall is took 47 minutes to get from room to Casino. Lots of great options for gambling, food and drink! Casino and promenade area does get kind of sketchy after bar/club closing. My friend and I were approached several times to buy drugs. Hotel is located on boardwalk, cannot beat the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JB blackjack
Morristown, NJ
Jul 26, 2014

Not a bad value

When we checked in and went directly to our room, the toilet was still dirty and a dirty towel was on the floor. They let us switch rooms though and other room was fine, except that it didn't have a fridge. Otherwise everything was ok for this one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Carmine's is great for a party of 4 or more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shellyjx
Cranston, RI
Jul 25, 2014

Our Atlantic City Getaway at the Tropicana!

My husband and I went for a two-night stay at the Tropicana and we were treated extremely well. We didn't have any "comp" from casinos, in fact, we booked online ourselves just days before. The staff was more than helpful. The room was kept impeccably clean by staff! There was so much to see and so many restaurants of all kinds to choose from. All sorts of entertainment was available. My husband and I both highly recommend this hotel, casino, resort in Atlantic City, NJ!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on the Boardwalk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tmaxxcwv
New York new York
Jul 25, 2014

Quick get away

Clean family friendly. Plenty to do in hotel lobby I traveled with my 4 year old and 1 year old. The hotel has 2 pools not to big but enough to cool down. I always have good luck at tropicana or taj. Next best hotel with this many amenities is ceasars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peyton0018
New York City
Jul 22, 2014

Not a relaxation destination

Was our first time to Tropicana. Definitely a great casino and a fun spot but my wife and I were sober and its definitely not the right hotel for a relaxing night. We tried to go to bed around 1am and the walls are paper thin so we had to deal with noise pretty much the enter night/morning. This is not necessarily a knock considering its AC and its a casino but I would not go here if you are looking for sleep. The walls are literally paper thin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Calculus
Mahopac, New York
Jul 21, 2014

Couples getaway

The restaurants and shops are great. The rooms in the Havana tower need to be redone. The noise from the bachelor and bachelorette parties at 3:00 in the morning is horrible,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make a reservation. Food is good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Santripulis
Delaware
Jul 21, 2014

Not What Was Expected

The staff was kind and helpful. The casino, restaurants, shops and bars are nice and enjoyable. The Quarter is a nice place to hang out, eat and do some shopping. However, our room in the North Tower left something to be desired. The hotel is clearly in need of some TLC. It was large and fairly clean, but dated, run down and dreary. There appeared to have been a water leak above our room at some point which left the wallpaper in the seating area peeling and the ceiling discolored. The controls for the jacuzzi in the tub appeared to be broken and the knob to control the water temperature in the shower was starting to fall off, though it did work. I am not sure that all of the rooms are as rough. There seemed to be another area of the hotel that was more recently renovated. Had we been staying longer, we would have requested a room change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the light show after dark at the convention center on the boardwalk. It is really neat and free!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ Joey
New Jersey
Jul 21, 2014

Smoking Room

I selected "non-smoking" as my room preference. I arrived at the hotel around 7pm. I did not think I arrived too late, but the only rooms they had available at the time were "smoking". Everything else at the hotel/casino was nice but the smoking room made my stay very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoyceinTexas
Uvalde, TX
Jul 21, 2014

Clean and great shore access

This hotel is right on the shore. It has great shops in it and reasonable table buy-ins in the casino. It was convenient on the boardwalk to a few other popular hotels. So location is great. The hotel is starting to show a little wear and tear with older room furnishings and carpet and baths, but the great news it was clean! The beds were very comfortable as was the bedding. We had a great view of the beach and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on the shore for a beautiful walk or for surfing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lskg
NY
Jul 21, 2014

Birthday weekend

Good but value was too much Hardwood floors were nice Beds comfortable Plain room tho Nice view Fridge was too small and size was awkward

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top