$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

3 stars
View map of Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
1,415 reviews
Fantastic & Fun Vacation!!

We stayed 4 nights at the Tropicana Casino and Resort in Atlantic City, NJ. Everything was... See full review

  • Marcy Lynn
  • Jun 30, 2015
Fantastic & Fun Vacation!!

We stayed 4 nights at the Tropicana Casino and Resort in Atlantic City, NJ. Everything was... See full review

  • Marcy Lynn
  • Jun 30, 2015

The Tropicana Casino and Resort is located on Atlantic City's beach-front boardwalk. It is one of the largest hotels in all of New Jersey and offers 2,079 stylish guest rooms and suites among their four different towers. This Atlantic City resort is known for its on-site destination known as The Quarter, where the streets of Old Havana are brought to life. This three-story, open air streetscape features palm trees and gorgeous fountains as well as plenty of dining, shopping, spa and entertainment options.

Rooms

A whopping 2,100 rooms in four towers open to views of the beach, boardwalk or city. Both the standard rooms and classic rooms in the North Tower deliver basic accommodations. For free Wi-Fi and the best views, request a classic room in the newer Havana Tower, with forest green carpet and a light floral motif.

Property features

As part of the Tropicana, The Quarter shopping complex calls out with a brightly colored streetscape reminiscent of Old Havana, with palm trees, a Latin band and rooftop lounge. Stroll the shops or book some pampering at bluemercury spa. In summer, guests flock to the pool and beach bar. Rent beach chairs or a VIP cabana. Valet parking and self-parking are available (fees apply).

Highlights

The Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City, located next door to a variety of additional casinos, boasts more than 2,500 slot machines and 130 gaming tables, making it one of the largest casinos in all of Atlantic City. In addition to playing blackjack and roulette, players can visit The Poker Room, featuring tournaments every day of the week. Grab a bite to eat at one of 24 restaurants located on-site. The Il Verdi is a fine dining gourmet restaurant featuring award-winning Italian cuisine. Other top spots to eat include the Fiesta Buffet, The Palm, A Dam Good Sports Bar and the Seaside Café. The Quarter and The Marketplace provide guests with nightlife entertainment like the popular Boogie Nights at Tropicana and Cuba Libre. With its boardwalk location, guests can enjoy a wide range of activities off-site such as the Atlantic City beach, nearby gift shops and even outlet shopping. 

Nearby attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars  (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Atlantic City Outlets  (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade ( 1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse  (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Aquarium (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in some rooms
  • Staff of certified meeting professionals coordinates 600 meetings a year
  • Event venues include an IMAX theater and Comedy Stop Theatre
  • Business center with Internet workstations, facsimile, equipment rental, shipping, copying and printing services  (some fees apply)
Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (20 minutes)
  • Philadelphia International Airport  (1 hour, 15 minutes)
Policies
  • Guests must be 21 years old or older to check-in.
  • All adult guests must be registered with proper identification. Hotel key required to access hotel guest elevator.
  • Credit card required at check-in.
  • Tropicana does not permit coolers or excessive amounts of food and beverage to be brought into the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City Rooms

Standard
The Standard rooms are newly remodeled and come with 1 king or 2 double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.1 mi
  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.7 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 1.9 mi

Dining

The Palm
The Palm's new restaurant in The Quarter at Tropicana is the legendary restaurant's first foray into New Jersey. Renowned as much for its A-List celebrity regulars and caricature adorned walls as it is for prime steaks, enormous lobsters and traditional Italian dishes. Known as the ultimate celebrity hang-out, the Palm has garnered the Wine Spectator Awards of Excellence award for its wine list and is known as the critics choice as The Classic American Steak House.
Adam Good Crab Shack & Sports Bar
This restaurant offers guests an affordable menu of seasonal shellfish dishes, a rustic raw bar and an incredible crab selection including Dungeness, Blue Claw, Snow and King. Executive Chef and Culinary Institute of America graduate Kevin Couch has designed a menu to suit all palates. The 240-seat restaurant will feature an authentic crab shack atmosphere, complete with brown paper spread across tables, hammers for whacking shells, bibs and pitchers of frosty cold beer. A lively bar area will be the perfect place for sports fans to grab a bite and watch the game on big screen televisions.
Seaside Cafe
After a fabulous night out on the town, head to the Seaside Cafe to satisfy a late-night hunger. This 24-hour dining experience boasts a relaxed, casual atmosphere with a menu offering a taste for every appetite including an authentic Italian pizza oven.
FIN: A Seafood Experience
FIN features locally grown food and wine from New Jersey fishermen, farmers and vintners. It is the only seafood restaurant in Atlantic City with oceanfront seating. Signature dishes include Chef Demetrios' Dancing Shrimp made with onion panko crusted shrimp served with a lobster crab cake. There is also a sushi and raw bar. Come experience seafood with a splash. Open for dinner.
Golden Dynasty
Voted Best Chinese Restaurant in Atlantic City eight years in a row by Casino Player Magazine, Golden Dynasty elevates traditional Chinese cuisine to exquisite levels. Prepared by some of Atlantic City's most distinguished chefs, the succulent fare explores the Cantonese, Mandarin and Szechwan cuisines.
Food Court
Food Court - Hooters, Corky's Ribs & BBQ, Fire Waters, James Salt Water Taffy, Starbucks Coffee, Adam Good Deli, Boardwalk Favorites.
Fiesta Buffet
Enjoy panoramic views of surf and sand while dining in the stunning Fiesta Buffet. The food is classic and the menu changes daily at the all-you-can-eat breakfast, brunch and dinner buffets. Seafood buffet and carving stations available seven days a week. Fridays include lobster tail - 1 per person - for the same buffet price.
32 degreess
Chill out in 32 degrees, a chic new destination offering premium cocktails and liquor shots served in glasses made of solid ice. Sip cocktails of your own design with European bottle service where mixes, garnishes and entire bottles of spirits, champagne and wine are delivered to your table. Nibble from a full raw bar and a menu of sushi and other chilled seafood that is sure to satisfy. Rent a private locker to store your unfinished spirits for your next visit here!
II Verdi
A gourmet dining destination, Il Verdi features award-winning chefs that meticulously prepare Northern Italian cuisine in a superb setting. For tenderly prepared Osso Bucco or the perfect pan-seared Red Snapper, lool no further than Il Verdi. Nothing compares to the Chef's Table at Il Verdi, where guests can witness the chef's mastery close up at a dining table set amidst the action in the Il Verdi Gourmet kitchen.
The Marketplace at the Boardwalk
Featuring an assortment of eateries and entertainment including Corky's Ribs & BBQ, Hooters and Starbucks Coffee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1415 out of 1415
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jose
Business
N/A
Jul 2, 2015

Great overnight stay

The room was a little outdated. However, it was clean and spacious making for a great last minute trip to Atlantic City. Wouldn't mind staying there again for the great price and location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marcy Lynn
Business
Delran
Jun 30, 2015

Fantastic & Fun Vacation!!

We stayed 4 nights at the Tropicana Casino and Resort in Atlantic City, NJ. Everything was wonderful, our rooms were beautiful, entertainment was exciting and a whole lot of fun. We had so many restaurants to pick from. The food was so good and the service all around was fantastic. We highly recommend the Tropicana Resort in Atlantic City, NJ!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marcy Lynn
Business
Delran
Jun 30, 2015

Fantastic & Fun Vacation!!

We stayed 4 nights at the Tropicana Casino and Resort in Atlantic City, NJ. Everything was wonderful, our rooms were beautiful, entertainment was exciting and a whole lot of fun. We had so many restaurants to pick from. The food was so good and the service all around was fantastic. We highly recommend the Tropicana Resort in Atlantic City, NJ!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
30inSF
Business
San Francisco
Jun 27, 2015

Ok, but gets the job done

The fridge did not work, but the price was right. Easy to check in and check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Eleanor
Business
N/A
Jun 26, 2015

Overall hotel was great, room not so good

The hotel has lots of things to do, with great shops and restaurants, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room, however, which I had to pay an upgrade fee for, was sub-standard. The carpeting was stained and old, the furniture was peeling and had graffiti cut into it, and the room lacked sufficient lighting. The amenities were minimal for a casino hotel: a bar of soap, one shampoo and one conditioner. The air conditioner barely functioned and we were unable to cool it to a satisfactory temperature. I wouldn't recommend this hotel until they improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paris C.
Business
Camden
Jun 23, 2015

Great Hotel!!

Tropicana is the go to place in Atlantic City. Its the heart and soul of the boardwalk and doesn't take that for granted by way of the price as it usually has an affordable price compared to other hotels like Borgata and Caesars. Loved it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sally B.
Business
N/A
Jun 23, 2015

Saturday Stay

The room was good. Got what we paid for. When we got there we were sent to the wrong tower. We went up to the 50th floor and found that the 55th did not exist, so we had to walk all the way back to the desk and they were not very apologetic. The staff was also rude when we tried to go to our room later that night. Made me go all the way up to my room and get the other key that we left behind to prove that the person I was with was a registered guest...very inconvenient and it was annoying and rather unnecessary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ben129
Business
NEW JERSEY
Jun 23, 2015

Great stay

Great experience room was more then we expected. Love the Tropicana......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gem Jupiter
Business
STATEN ISLAND
Jun 22, 2015

Certainly Worst Hotel Stay Ever

Where do I begin? Went to AC for a concert at the Borgata and wanted to save a couple hundred bucks by staying at the Trop. I knew going in that it wasn't going to be pleasant, but this was just a bed to sleep for the night. Upon check in, I was told I needed to buy a third key for $28. I had two others with me, sister and girlfriend, and explained we only needed two keys. But due to new security measures, every single person needs a key to get upstairs. I bit the bullet and paid. Ironically, we met up with friends at the Borgata and one key got 6 of us into the room. Elevators in this place function similarly to the ones in Boardwalk Empire. Lines upon lines to get up or down every single time. This morning, we left the room at 10:15 AM and walked to the elevator. After waiting on line for 15 minutes, we finally got into separate elevators, squeezing in with a dozen other people. The elevator then stopped at every floor before finally reaching the ground floor. A half hour after leaving our room, we reached the ground floor! Then we walked to the parking garage elevators and waited another 15 minutes. Then we sat in traffic in the garage just to pay where there was one person collecting money from at least a hundred cars! Will never stay here again and I really don't know how this dump stays in business. Over an hour to get from your room and out of this disgrace of a hotel! Pay the extra money and stay somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N/A
Jun 19, 2015

Friendly trip

Hotel was great! Stayed for one night and met all my requirements. I would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top