$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
286 reviews
fantastic family getaway

the stuff is excellent and the food are good tge walk to the beach is nice over all is not bad See full review

  • just one
  • Jun 11, 2014
Excellent

I love every part of it from the moment we got there till we left suer clean smells good so... See full review

  • carmen lace
  • Jun 2, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.3517 -74.4476
Area served
Atlantic City.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport - 65 miles.
Area description
Atlantic City.

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelpets12
Teaneck, NJ
Jul 7, 2014

Ok hotel

The outside was horrific, looked old and ancient, but the inside was surprisingly nice and comfortable. Pool is small. Very nice lounge with library, great dining area with gorgeous view. No casino. Family friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KDW1215
New York, New York
Jul 1, 2014

good place

For this price I cannot complain, however it is obvious this place has taken a dive over the last 3-4 years. The service was slow with everything from valet, to the elevators, to check in being a hassle. However, that being said, for the price we paid I could not be happier with our room size and view. I would stay here again for the price bc the value is too good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to casino so an easy way to save money on room rates in AC.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marix
New York
Jun 27, 2014

good location, does not look hotel

it's pretty good location, that's why I made reservation here. there is no casino at this "Motel", so no smoking rooms here. I travel vegas pretty often. at this price point this Motel value is way less than "Hotels" in vegas. would not recommend, but ok for one night staying for gambling at tropicana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

near by Tropicana

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Ireland Fans
NY
Jun 12, 2014

Clean and Great Deal

This hotel was a great deal. We were right near the main strip and area of hotels. It was a clean room and quiet at night. I was satisfied with my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
just one
New york
Jun 11, 2014

fantastic family getaway

the stuff is excellent and the food are good tge walk to the beach is nice over all is not bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palm restaurant

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charitee
Cherry Hill, NJ
Jun 9, 2014

Relaxing AC getaway right on the Boardwalk!

This hotel was perfect for our weekend getaway. We literally stepped out of the entrance, turned left and walked right onto the Boardwalk! The amenities, although we didn't use them, were plentiful; pool parties on both Saturday and Sunday (The DJ was awesome and I know because the pool was below our window...but when the window was closed you could barely hear anything), happy hour on the fifth floor, beach umbrella and lounger rentals...basically tons to do. We booked a oceanview king non-smoking room on the 9th floor. I do feel that the pictures are a bit decieving as far as the size of the windows for the ocean view. The pictures show one very large window facing the ocean when in reality that window is a fourth of that size and set in the corner of the wall and on the adjacent wall is where the large window is set. Luckily we were still able to see the ocean but most of our view was of the hotel next to us. The only other thing that I was dissapointed in was the water pressure in the shower. It really was kind of annoying because it took a few extra minutes to try to get soap rinsed off. Oher than that this room was great. That staff was also very helpful, polite, and professional. We spent most of our time on the Boardwalk, in the casinos, and on the beach. We would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for some easy eats and cheap drinks the Tropicana has tons of Happy Hour specials Monday-Friday and our favorite was the Wild West (I think thats the name...across the boardwalk from the Pier Shops and the Boardwalk Bar) has $1 hot dogs and $3 beers outside and $2 beers and $2 shots inside.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carmen lace
yonkers ny
Jun 2, 2014

Excellent

I love every part of it from the moment we got there till we left suer clean smells good so comftable & awesome food nd drinks!!! it was amazingly fun romantic & very sophisticated !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food and view is amazingly beautiful

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie252014
Philadelphia, PA
May 27, 2014

Nice hotel; restaurants lacking

We stayed at The Chelsea Memorial Day weekend and it was a nice hotel; the rooms were clean and nicely decorated. We ate dinner at Dining on the Fifth and the food was ok- nothing exceptional and service wasn't very good; the view was nice though. We had brunch the next day at Teplitzsky's and the food was good, but service was horrible. We would definitely stay again, but dine at another location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BW from Jersey City
Jersey City, NJ
Apr 29, 2014

great value

We went there a couple weekends ago. We are a young couple with a small kid. The room is spacious and clean, however there is no bath tub. I booked a room facing ocean, but it turned out to be a tiny window towards the sea. It's kind of far from other hotels and resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobertS.
Nazareth, Pa.
Apr 28, 2014

Would Stay Again!

I was skeptical because there were some negative reviews posted..I am a picky customer and so is my wife and this hotel passed the test! It was a very good value on the boardwalk/beach..Would stay here in a minute. Clean, well appointed rooms with an old school , yet modern vibe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top