$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
288 reviews
fantastic family getaway

the stuff is excellent and the food are good tge walk to the beach is nice over all is not bad See full review

  • just one
  • Jun 11, 2014
Excellent

I love every part of it from the moment we got there till we left suer clean smells good so... See full review

  • carmen lace
  • Jun 2, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.3517 -74.4476
Area served
Atlantic City.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport - 65 miles.
Area description
Atlantic City.

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (288)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 288
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
newark, de
Oct 11, 2009

a few good and alot bad

there is no sound barrier from down the hall and around the corner you can hear the elevator, you can hear everything room to room there is a club on the 5th floor and on the 11th floor you can still hear the music and feel vibrations . the noise carries from outside and to get into your hotel room at night you get to wait inline for an elevator as they let clubgoers ahead of hotel patrons and the staff allows their friends to bypass the line ahead of you aswell. If you did venture to the club you get overcharged by extreme amounts for drinks and are charged with a luxury tax...this hotel is priced decent enough for the room but the noise food and drinks that you have to buy while there are ridiculous you might as well put out the money for the bigger hotels where you actually get what you pay for. I do NOT recommend this hotel and its privately owned so they don't really care about the inconvenience. the only good thing was the rooms were clean and the valet staff is great. it also takes forever and a day to check in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
newark, de
Oct 11, 2009

a few good and alot bad

there is no sound barrier from down the hall and around the corner you can hear the elevator, you can hear everything room to room there is a club on the 5th floor and on the 11th floor you can still hear the music and feel vibrations . the noise carries from outside and to get into your hotel room at night you get to wait inline for an elevator as they let clubgoers ahead of hotel patrons and the staff allows their friends to bypass the line ahead of you aswell. If you did venture to the club you get overcharged by extreme amounts for drinks and are charged with a luxury tax...this hotel is priced decent enough for the room but the noise food and drinks that you have to buy while there are ridiculous you might as well put out the money for the bigger hotels where you actually get what you pay for. I do NOT recommend this hotel and its privately owned so they don't really care about the inconvenience. the only good thing was the rooms were clean and the valet staff is great. it also takes forever and a day to check in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Summer sauna
Brooklyn ny
Jul 15, 2014

Room discomfort

Checkin was supposed to be at 4pm however our room was not ready until 5 because they were still cleaning which wasn't bad but a little annoying. What really made the experience negative was the discomfort of the temp in the room. After checking in my sister and I showered and got ready to go to a concert. When we returned the room was 80 degrees so I called the front desk. A maintanence man came did something to the thermostat in the room and said he would be back in 10-15 mins. We waited over an hour then feel asleep waiting for him to return which he never did. About three hours later we awoke again because we were so hot. I called the front desk and they said I should have informed them sooner and they would have switched our room but now there was nothing they could do for us. My sister and I had planned to stay and go swimming at the pool and go to the boardwalk. However because we couldn't even bare to stay in our room any longer we decided to just go back home. I was disappointed that we couldn't stay and that the front desk offered nothing to us. We paid over 300 to spend 4 hours in a room that felt like a sauna. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelpets12
Teaneck, NJ
Jul 7, 2014

Ok hotel

The outside was horrific, looked old and ancient, but the inside was surprisingly nice and comfortable. Pool is small. Very nice lounge with library, great dining area with gorgeous view. No casino. Family friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
littlemango1
ny ny
Dec 9, 2012

promises much, delivers little less

people very friendly. room fine, no tub, just shower. big problem is I booked it primiarly for spa, and it was not functional. The nightlcub was closed as well. Has potential, but didn't live up. The gym was small and the music blaring. I complained and spa attendant said she couldn't change the level of sound. So even though there was a tv for the treadmill, u couldn't hear it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms.Carried Away
Virginia
May 30, 2012

Kind & Cute, but HOT!!!

The lobby area is trendy and chic. The staff was professional and friendly. However, the rooms are just average (vintage Hollywood feel). I recently stayed there over the Memorial Day weekend and my room did NOT have air conditioning the entire time. :( Nonetheless, the hotel director compensated me for the inconvenience. All in all, I would give them ONE more try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
CT
Jun 25, 2011

Great Time!

Loved the location of the hotel and their courtesy at all hours. It would have been good to have a little more information about their nightlife and hotel club beforehand but other than that a great stay! Plus, their steakhouse was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, pa
Aug 20, 2010

loved it

It was a beautiful hotel. Friendly staff. Nice deck/party area. Very trendy and luxurious. It was my 21st birthday, so I came for the party scene. I really enjoyed myself. The only thing I didn't like was that the iHome in my room was missing the cord and they didn't have any spare ones. Other than that, everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The fifth floor at the Chelsea has an outdoor deck with a bar,pool, and dance floor.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
CT
Jun 25, 2011

Great Time!

Loved the location of the hotel and their courtesy at all hours. It would have been good to have a little more information about their nightlife and hotel club beforehand but other than that a great stay! Plus, their steakhouse was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, pa
Aug 20, 2010

loved it

It was a beautiful hotel. Friendly staff. Nice deck/party area. Very trendy and luxurious. It was my 21st birthday, so I came for the party scene. I really enjoyed myself. The only thing I didn't like was that the iHome in my room was missing the cord and they didn't have any spare ones. Other than that, everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The fifth floor at the Chelsea has an outdoor deck with a bar,pool, and dance floor.

Back to menu Return to top