$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Chelsea

4 stars
View map of 111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Couple 3182012
Business
NJ
Mar 18, 2013

First Anniversary T&A

A weekend getaway for our first anniversary. Nice and clean hotel. Location way great. We had a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lets go baby lets go
Business
Atlantic City
May 7, 2013

great get away

the rooms are clean and the beds are so soft nice up to date rooms and furnished very well. location is the boardwalk .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MattyM
Business
Fort Lauderdale Fl
May 28, 2013

Good hotel, good location

I traveled to Atlantic City for a bachelor party, and the group of friends i was meeting were staying at the hotel. I arrived at the hotel at about midnight, and as I pulled into valet for parking (only Valet is available, at $10.00/day), I was greeted with a party style atmosphere in the lobby. There was a TON of people hanging out in the lobby, drinking etc. They did just open up their night club (Which is not bad either). I got checked in and made my way to the elevator to head up to my 16th floor room, and waited for almost 25 minutes to get an elevator. There is 3 elevators and each time the door would open, people would run in and squeeze to get in. That was probably my only complaint, was trying to get an elevator for guests to their room while the club is open. When I finally got to my room, the room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. When I went to check out, I had to walk down 16 flights of steps because the elevators were just as packed at 11am, as they were at midnight. All in all, I was pretty happy with the hotel, and the staff was very friendly. If The Chelsea offers some awesome rates, it would be a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You are directly next to the Tropicana, and minutes from the rest of the hotels directly on the boardwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cyntia and Jeff
Business
Ramsey NJ
Jul 8, 2013

Great Experience

Great Hotel! We had a great experience here. Smaller, much less crazy then the Huge casino hotels we normally stay in. Clean, up to date and well maintained room, great spa, friendly helpful staff. We will be staying here on future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
biggbrother
Business
Providence, RI
Aug 6, 2013

Modern and Conveniently Located

NOTE: This is a review of The Chelsea Hotel, NOT the Annex at the Chelsea which is a different section and has poor reviews. My fiance and I stayed here over a recent weekend Friday-Sunday and we were impressed with the Chelsea. I had read plenty of reviews so I told her what to expect as negatives, (i.e. slow elevators, overwhelmed valet, sub-par AC in-room). Sure enough, we experienced all three of these negatives, so I will start with the negatives. The main problem is that like any hotel, it gets busy at the standard check-in/out times or 11am and 3pm. The problem is that since The Chelsea is a small boutique hotel, they don't seem to have the staff to handle it effectivley. At these peak times you will stand in line for the elevator for 10-20 minutes, and the front desk for 20-40 minutes. We took the stairs down from the 9th floor. You will wait in line for a bell hop to appear for about 20 minutes, and you will need to hunt down a valet for about 15-20 minutes. It really is chaos at these times with almost every guest I saw complaining very vocally. I can only imagine hopw the staff feels since they encounter this chaos dailly. Overall, the staff was friendly to us and we had no issues with them. The Chelsea should consider staggering room checkouts if they don't want to hire the staff to handle the rush. We avoided most of this because we did express checkout and only had to wait in line the 20 minutes to check our bag with the disappearing bell hop while we ate breakfast and used the pool. Plus the concierge was very helpful because he left his post since he wasn't busy and helped get us checked out and he took our bags because the bell hop was MIA. Later we were able to get our car fairly quickly from the valet around 2pm, after hunting for the bell hop a bit (again). I would suggest you checkout by 10am to avoid the peak time of 11am. Our room air-conditioner was also noisy and not very consistent,. Fortunately it was in the mid 70s low 80s outside so it didn't have to work too hard. But it still got fairly warm in the room at times and the AC couldn't cool lower than 70. The room was very nicely decorated and furnished in a modern decor. It was clean but could have been cleaner because I noticed the carpet was noticably dirty somewhat in the corners and around the edges. The bathroom was beautiful with very nice tile and Kohler overhead shower spout and faucets. The ceiling had an ugly discolored patch though from a repair. They should have just painted the entire ceiling after the patch, since the bathroom is pretty small. Since it's an industry-wide problem, It's worth mentioning that we didn't see any evidence of bed bugs and we looked carefully because they are hard to find evidence of usually. My fiance is extremely allergic and develops huge hives when bitten at all by bed bugs, and she hasn't developed any hives so it's safe to say our room was bed bug free. The lower pool is nice and warm but kind of akward since you have to prance around in your bathing suit right next to the hotel restaurant which has outdoor seating a mere dozen feet from the pool and a full view of the pool. The main pool accessible from the 5th floor is also nice but it is FREEZING, so not many people were in it. Obviously it's not heated. They also have some pretty large speakers set up near the pool and a DJ. The music is pretty loud, so if you're thinking of relaxing by the pool to recover from your hangover from last night, you might not find it helps your headache. Overall, we were impressed with The Chelsea. They could instruct their housekeeping staff to do a better job cleaning the carpeting, and improve the efficiency of the check-out/in process. Overall, we found it was located perfecty next to the bustling Tropicana and the boardwalk, both of which we visited often. We never felf unsafe, even while returning to our room at 4:15 a.m. from a nightclub in the Tropicana. We would stay at The Chelsea again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Checkout well before 11am to avoid the hung-over rush, or use express checkout (just sign the log next to the front desk) and check your bags wit the bell hop so you can enjoy the pook or have breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fuzz
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 31, 2013

mini getaway

I was so pleased at the absolute cleanliness and decor of this room. so comfortable. everything you need right on premises. Pool, dining, nightlife. totally great. would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hfurudhdhddjdjjd
Business
NJ
Sep 24, 2013

Nice size room

The room was big, clean, and comfortable! Perfect for the Pack-n-Play!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jay decent friend
Business
NY
Dec 22, 2013

Girl's Night

Nice weekend with the girls. Would love to come back for the summer to use the book. Nice time I will try the spa services. Love that it is not a casino hotel. For that reason alone I will stay again. The beds are very comfy and the furniture very chic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to clubs and there is nightlife here as well

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie252014
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 27, 2014

Nice hotel; restaurants lacking

We stayed at The Chelsea Memorial Day weekend and it was a nice hotel; the rooms were clean and nicely decorated. We ate dinner at Dining on the Fifth and the food was ok- nothing exceptional and service wasn't very good; the view was nice though. We had brunch the next day at Teplitzsky's and the food was good, but service was horrible. We would definitely stay again, but dine at another location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charitee
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ
Jun 9, 2014

Relaxing AC getaway right on the Boardwalk!

This hotel was perfect for our weekend getaway. We literally stepped out of the entrance, turned left and walked right onto the Boardwalk! The amenities, although we didn't use them, were plentiful; pool parties on both Saturday and Sunday (The DJ was awesome and I know because the pool was below our window...but when the window was closed you could barely hear anything), happy hour on the fifth floor, beach umbrella and lounger rentals...basically tons to do. We booked a oceanview king non-smoking room on the 9th floor. I do feel that the pictures are a bit decieving as far as the size of the windows for the ocean view. The pictures show one very large window facing the ocean when in reality that window is a fourth of that size and set in the corner of the wall and on the adjacent wall is where the large window is set. Luckily we were still able to see the ocean but most of our view was of the hotel next to us. The only other thing that I was dissapointed in was the water pressure in the shower. It really was kind of annoying because it took a few extra minutes to try to get soap rinsed off. Oher than that this room was great. That staff was also very helpful, polite, and professional. We spent most of our time on the Boardwalk, in the casinos, and on the beach. We would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for some easy eats and cheap drinks the Tropicana has tons of Happy Hour specials Monday-Friday and our favorite was the Wild West (I think thats the name...across the boardwalk from the Pier Shops and the Boardwalk Bar) has $1 hot dogs and $3 beers outside and $2 beers and $2 shots inside.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top