$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
200 reviews
4th of July Trip

My boyfriend and I wanted to try a different hotel in AC this summer so we decided to stay at The... See full review

  • Jaimie N.
  • Dec 24, 2014
Everything was great A ++

Everything about the hotel was great. The only thing I didn't like is that for Peking, the only... See full review

  • John 348
  • Dec 8, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cyntia and Jeff
Business
Ramsey NJ
Jul 8, 2013

Great Experience

Great Hotel! We had a great experience here. Smaller, much less crazy then the Huge casino hotels we normally stay in. Clean, up to date and well maintained room, great spa, friendly helpful staff. We will be staying here on future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
biggbrother
Business
Providence, RI
Aug 6, 2013

Modern and Conveniently Located

NOTE: This is a review of The Chelsea Hotel, NOT the Annex at the Chelsea which is a different section and has poor reviews. My fiance and I stayed here over a recent weekend Friday-Sunday and we were impressed with the Chelsea. I had read plenty of reviews so I told her what to expect as negatives, (i.e. slow elevators, overwhelmed valet, sub-par AC in-room). Sure enough, we experienced all three of these negatives, so I will start with the negatives. The main problem is that like any hotel, it gets busy at the standard check-in/out times or 11am and 3pm. The problem is that since The Chelsea is a small boutique hotel, they don't seem to have the staff to handle it effectivley. At these peak times you will stand in line for the elevator for 10-20 minutes, and the front desk for 20-40 minutes. We took the stairs down from the 9th floor. You will wait in line for a bell hop to appear for about 20 minutes, and you will need to hunt down a valet for about 15-20 minutes. It really is chaos at these times with almost every guest I saw complaining very vocally. I can only imagine hopw the staff feels since they encounter this chaos dailly. Overall, the staff was friendly to us and we had no issues with them. The Chelsea should consider staggering room checkouts if they don't want to hire the staff to handle the rush. We avoided most of this because we did express checkout and only had to wait in line the 20 minutes to check our bag with the disappearing bell hop while we ate breakfast and used the pool. Plus the concierge was very helpful because he left his post since he wasn't busy and helped get us checked out and he took our bags because the bell hop was MIA. Later we were able to get our car fairly quickly from the valet around 2pm, after hunting for the bell hop a bit (again). I would suggest you checkout by 10am to avoid the peak time of 11am. Our room air-conditioner was also noisy and not very consistent,. Fortunately it was in the mid 70s low 80s outside so it didn't have to work too hard. But it still got fairly warm in the room at times and the AC couldn't cool lower than 70. The room was very nicely decorated and furnished in a modern decor. It was clean but could have been cleaner because I noticed the carpet was noticably dirty somewhat in the corners and around the edges. The bathroom was beautiful with very nice tile and Kohler overhead shower spout and faucets. The ceiling had an ugly discolored patch though from a repair. They should have just painted the entire ceiling after the patch, since the bathroom is pretty small. Since it's an industry-wide problem, It's worth mentioning that we didn't see any evidence of bed bugs and we looked carefully because they are hard to find evidence of usually. My fiance is extremely allergic and develops huge hives when bitten at all by bed bugs, and she hasn't developed any hives so it's safe to say our room was bed bug free. The lower pool is nice and warm but kind of akward since you have to prance around in your bathing suit right next to the hotel restaurant which has outdoor seating a mere dozen feet from the pool and a full view of the pool. The main pool accessible from the 5th floor is also nice but it is FREEZING, so not many people were in it. Obviously it's not heated. They also have some pretty large speakers set up near the pool and a DJ. The music is pretty loud, so if you're thinking of relaxing by the pool to recover from your hangover from last night, you might not find it helps your headache. Overall, we were impressed with The Chelsea. They could instruct their housekeeping staff to do a better job cleaning the carpeting, and improve the efficiency of the check-out/in process. Overall, we found it was located perfecty next to the bustling Tropicana and the boardwalk, both of which we visited often. We never felf unsafe, even while returning to our room at 4:15 a.m. from a nightclub in the Tropicana. We would stay at The Chelsea again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Checkout well before 11am to avoid the hung-over rush, or use express checkout (just sign the log next to the front desk) and check your bags wit the bell hop so you can enjoy the pook or have breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fuzz
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 31, 2013

mini getaway

I was so pleased at the absolute cleanliness and decor of this room. so comfortable. everything you need right on premises. Pool, dining, nightlife. totally great. would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hfurudhdhddjdjjd
Business
NJ
Sep 24, 2013

Nice size room

The room was big, clean, and comfortable! Perfect for the Pack-n-Play!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jay decent friend
Business
NY
Dec 22, 2013

Girl's Night

Nice weekend with the girls. Would love to come back for the summer to use the book. Nice time I will try the spa services. Love that it is not a casino hotel. For that reason alone I will stay again. The beds are very comfy and the furniture very chic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to clubs and there is nightlife here as well

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Away from stress
Business
Pa
Jan 19, 2014

Nice hotel. Really friendly staff!

I enjoyed my stay. Love the beach location. Had some loud talking in hallways throughout night but room itself was good site and beautiful view of ocean! Great food at their restaurant! Love the crab cakes!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SixFootFive
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 21, 2014

Great Getaway

Had a fabulous time and the hotel room was excellent. Would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Harrahs Buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hbCG
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Jan 21, 2014

Nice rooms, no available pool in winter

The room was stylishly decorated and comfortable. We had an oceanfront king and the view of the ocean was nice to wake up to. Free wifi was a bit slow. The hallways smelled like cigarette smoke. I was under impression when I booked that there was a pool we would be able to use, but when we called the front desk to inquire, we were told this was not the case. We did have the option of paying $15 per person to use the spa which had a saltwater jacuzzi. Had breakfast at Teplitzky's, the decor was cool and retro. The food was slightly below average, orange juice was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Innovator2014
Business
Philadelphia
Mar 25, 2014

Pleasant experience

I had a pleasent experience. Everything was good. The hotel met my expectations, especially its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cereza
Business
Delaware
Mar 30, 2014

Nice hotel

I stay at the Chelsea quite a bit. The rooms are very clean and worth the money spent! However, the diner located in the Annex sucks. The customer service is poor, they hv plenty of staff but the seem so distant doing other things. The resturant on the 5th is great! This was the first time I experienced an emergency situation where all the staff had to leave their rooms and come to the lobby. We couldn't use the elevator, we had to take the stairs. Hence, we were on the 17th floor! My legs were hurting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Located right next to the Tropicana, Tropicana has everything inside such as mall, movies, casino, nigh club, etc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top