$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
187 reviews
fantastic family getaway

the stuff is excellent and the food are good tge walk to the beach is nice over all is not bad See full review

  • just one
  • Jun 11, 2014
Excellent

I love every part of it from the moment we got there till we left suer clean smells good so... See full review

  • carmen lace
  • Jun 2, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.3517 -74.4476
Area served
Atlantic City.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport - 65 miles.
Area description
Atlantic City.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hbCG
Brooklyn, New York
Jan 21, 2014

Nice rooms, no available pool in winter

The room was stylishly decorated and comfortable. We had an oceanfront king and the view of the ocean was nice to wake up to. Free wifi was a bit slow. The hallways smelled like cigarette smoke. I was under impression when I booked that there was a pool we would be able to use, but when we called the front desk to inquire, we were told this was not the case. We did have the option of paying $15 per person to use the spa which had a saltwater jacuzzi. Had breakfast at Teplitzky's, the decor was cool and retro. The food was slightly below average, orange juice was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Innovator2014
Philadelphia
Mar 25, 2014

Pleasant experience

I had a pleasent experience. Everything was good. The hotel met my expectations, especially its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cereza
Delaware
Mar 30, 2014

Nice hotel

I stay at the Chelsea quite a bit. The rooms are very clean and worth the money spent! However, the diner located in the Annex sucks. The customer service is poor, they hv plenty of staff but the seem so distant doing other things. The resturant on the 5th is great! This was the first time I experienced an emergency situation where all the staff had to leave their rooms and come to the lobby. We couldn't use the elevator, we had to take the stairs. Hence, we were on the 17th floor! My legs were hurting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Located right next to the Tropicana, Tropicana has everything inside such as mall, movies, casino, nigh club, etc

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dimitri the traveler
Brooklyn
Apr 27, 2014

average hotel

Experience was average, not as glamorous as the other big name hotels. my only complain is the WiFi was dreadful. if driving, there is parking available at a $10 cost per night at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobertS.
Nazareth, Pa.
Apr 28, 2014

Would Stay Again!

I was skeptical because there were some negative reviews posted..I am a picky customer and so is my wife and this hotel passed the test! It was a very good value on the boardwalk/beach..Would stay here in a minute. Clean, well appointed rooms with an old school , yet modern vibe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fatmama
Harlem, NY
Apr 28, 2014

Birthday Weekend

It was great nice and clean. I've stayed at a The Chelsea once before and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Try the Sauna.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BW from Jersey City
Jersey City, NJ
Apr 29, 2014

great value

We went there a couple weekends ago. We are a young couple with a small kid. The room is spacious and clean, however there is no bath tub. I booked a room facing ocean, but it turned out to be a tiny window towards the sea. It's kind of far from other hotels and resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tterp
brick, nj
Oct 12, 2009

relax and have fun

We were nervous after reading all of the reviews, but we had a great time. the decor was funky and fun. Our room was clean, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We loved the 4am diner on Saturday night. After dancing our butts off, the diner was great filled with friendly waiters and fun people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacy Nicole
NJ
Feb 17, 2010

Great hotel for the money

I had a great experience at this hotel. Very clean and the staff was very friendly. The room was clean and very modernly decorated. There is a club on one of the floors, so I was concerned about noise. It was very quiet. We ate breakfast at the restaurant downstairs, excellent food and great service. The hotel was located within walking distance to the beach and the Tropicana casino. My only complaint would be there was not bathtub in the room, only a shower. They also do not have a parking area. You have a choice to park elsewhere or valet for $5 a day or $10 on weekends. I valeted my car and had no problems. Overall good experience and will visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
argmarcela
New York
Jul 28, 2010

nice hotel!!

my husband and l stayed in these nice hotel x 3 nights. it was so great experience. the room at the 12 floor was big, nice and clean. the outdoor pool was excelent, very friendly the workers who help you at the pool as the securities. nice lounge party at night in the pool, on saturdays! However, the bartenders and some of the waitress who are in the outdoor bar were so rude and unfriendly with us and other customers, it seemed that they did not care about us as customers or they did not work for tips. same was with the waitress in the restaurant on first floor, but the food was great!!it is better to go to the liqueur store around the corner and make your own drinks because these bartenders make you waiting for more than 5 minutes until they can serve you not really good cocktels!when l asked for a margarita it was poor juice, not really good cocktels!! the hotels is in a nice area right ate the beach!! we will come back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

great restaurnat on the first floor, food was so great!! and outdoor pool lounge at night was excelent!!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search