$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
286 reviews
fantastic family getaway

the stuff is excellent and the food are good tge walk to the beach is nice over all is not bad See full review

  • just one
  • Jun 11, 2014
Excellent

I love every part of it from the moment we got there till we left suer clean smells good so... See full review

  • carmen lace
  • Jun 2, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.3517 -74.4476
Area served
Atlantic City.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport - 65 miles.
Area description
Atlantic City.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
connecticut
Nov 6, 2010

the chelsea

Hotel was nice but room kinda smelled when I came in and refrigerator didt work but room was comfortable. Did not like the fact that i had to have someone else park my car for a charge. Wasn't there long but it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pf changs was awesome.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bwtt
Washington, DC
Nov 9, 2010

Does the trick

Stayed in an Ocean King in mid-November. Great view, as promised. Room was clean with new furnishings and bed was comfortable. Check-in was easy, as was check out. Teplitzky's restaurant is pleasant. The enitre experience was enjoyable and what I expected- you won't be awed by the hotel, but it definitely provides a nice room and good location for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Upstate New York
Aug 22, 2010

The Chelsea

Found this hotel online but called in the reservation. Told there was nothing extra--wrong, parking is 10.00 a day extra,and it's valet parking only--can you say TIPS.Don't forget anything in your car-they have to bring it to you-TIPS.Don't check in early,they keep your luggage in storage, then bring it to your room TIPS again.Not to mention when you leave-- TIPS to get your car.I have no problem tipping when it's expected [dining etc.]The hotel should add extra to the cost of the room and offer the parking as part of the package.One other thing-- management should train ALL employees to SMILE--it costs nothing and sets the tone for the rest of the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bally's buffet

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phyrre56
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 16, 2009

A very average stay

The hotel decor is overly modern, but the actual room feels just like any other hotel. It's a dressed up Holiday Inn, but they want to portray a more luxury experience with style over substance. Our toilet was broken when we arrived. Instead of moving us to another room, they insisted on letting maintenance try to fix it. The hotel was not very full. They could have easily moved us instead of making us wait and feeling unsure about where we were staying. (In the end, they fixed it.) The valet was very slow. For a place that only offers valet parking and charges for it, the service needs to be a little quicker. Otherwise, the stay was fine. Staff was friendly. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is right near the Tropicana, if you're interested in gambling. An easy walk.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Teaneck, NJ
Jun 15, 2009

"still in the past"

The bed was great but the bathroom was old, bad shower, no fan, pink color and to top it off, the tv did not work even after the tv guy changed it twice. I would not stay here for longer then one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
CT
May 10, 2010

Great bed; location - so so

Very comfortable bed and clean room, but a little far away from hotels that have casinos

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel doesn't have casino, so you need to walk 1 mile to the hotels that do

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tap1011
Latrobe pa
Nov 18, 2013

Chelsea

This hotel is almost on the boardwalk that is a plus but our room was not so good. When the furnace turned on it sounded like a helicopter landing and did not stop Til it kicked off so we found our self turning it off manually because we were getting a headache. There is no refrigerator or coffee pot in the room, the shower pressure is awful I was in the shower for an hour trying to get the soap out of my hair! They charge you to park which was never disclosed to us until the bill at check out. The bar on the fifth floor was very mellow not for young people that want to have fun. The rooms lack and soundproofing we could hear everything that was going on in the room next to us. The room was suppose to be modern but it was just old and dirty with paint chipping from every peice of furniture! One good thing is they have flat screen tv in the room but what hotel doesn't?! We would never stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

They charge for parking and place a hold on your credit card for a deposit

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY VACATIONERS
New York
Feb 17, 2009

Would not stay there again

When first arriving to the hotel the staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was nice, and the bathroom had a very modern and new look, after arriving we settled in and decided to take a walk to the outlets before our 7:30 dinner reservation...when we got back to the hotel I decided to take a shower and there was no cold water...I nearly burned to death trying to take a shower so I called the front desk to ask what was going on and she said she would send someone up...about 25 minutes passed and no one came so I called again and the first person I spoke to did not inform anyone about my problem, so the second person I spoke to said someone would be right up...about 5 minutes later the plumber finally came up and went into the bathroom and said there was a problem and he was going to have to get his tools to take some things apart...it was like 7:30 by then...so he called the front desk so they could move us to another room but nothing was available according to her...I cant believe that they would'nt have an extra available room just in case something like this happens! Well the plumber ended up coming to the room fixing the water and have us waiting in the room....we were late to our dinner reservation and wasted our time and no one at the hotel even seemed to care...I would not stay here again....and beware of the toilet it is very noisy and you can hear the rooms next to you when they flush... Also Valet Parking is $10 a day, and this is the only parking they have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very close to Tropicana

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Warminster, PA
Jul 24, 2010

Unexpected Expenses

For the price I would have expected to have responsive staff and not as many additional expenses. 1. The parking is an additional during the week and even more on the weekends. 2.The safe in the room was broken and the maintenance staff said that is a common problem. 3.There is no hand soap - after 2 hours of calling down to the front desk I was finally given some shower gel to wash my hands and told they is all they offer. 4. The fridge I was promised in my room (to hold my food for the week) was a mini wine fridge, full of the hotels food, much of which would perish if removed. (This caused me to pay for more expensive takeout food than expected). It was not a bad hotel, but for the price and the promises, one would expect more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The outlits are great!

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelpets12
Teaneck, NJ
Jul 7, 2014

Ok hotel

The outside was horrific, looked old and ancient, but the inside was surprisingly nice and comfortable. Pool is small. Very nice lounge with library, great dining area with gorgeous view. No casino. Family friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top