$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

The Chelsea

4 stars
View map of 111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY VACATIONERS
Business
New York
Feb 17, 2009

Would not stay there again

When first arriving to the hotel the staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was nice, and the bathroom had a very modern and new look, after arriving we settled in and decided to take a walk to the outlets before our 7:30 dinner reservation...when we got back to the hotel I decided to take a shower and there was no cold water...I nearly burned to death trying to take a shower so I called the front desk to ask what was going on and she said she would send someone up...about 25 minutes passed and no one came so I called again and the first person I spoke to did not inform anyone about my problem, so the second person I spoke to said someone would be right up...about 5 minutes later the plumber finally came up and went into the bathroom and said there was a problem and he was going to have to get his tools to take some things apart...it was like 7:30 by then...so he called the front desk so they could move us to another room but nothing was available according to her...I cant believe that they would'nt have an extra available room just in case something like this happens! Well the plumber ended up coming to the room fixing the water and have us waiting in the room....we were late to our dinner reservation and wasted our time and no one at the hotel even seemed to care...I would not stay here again....and beware of the toilet it is very noisy and you can hear the rooms next to you when they flush... Also Valet Parking is $10 a day, and this is the only parking they have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very close to Tropicana

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jzimmerling
Business
Livermore, CA, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Could have been great

Excellent hotel and location right on the boardwalk and large room with great view, but there were several small things; bad lighting in bathroom, A/C had to be repaired upon arrival, sink was stopped up and no coffeemaker or frig; and one big thing a hotel sponsored DJ party at the pool 17 floors down which shook the windows until 2AM which turned what could have been a great experience into a bad impression..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Reading restaurant two blocks off the boardwalk and about a mile down, fantastic southern cooking, great prices and jazz at night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEw Jersey
May 26, 2009

Nice Stay

We stayed for a night at this hotel and was pretty good. its right next to the beach.. and very close to many casinos. rooms are still new as it was built in 2008. clean and nice. Staff was friendly.. bathroom is bit small and no bath tub just a shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beach and nearbuy shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bwtt
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 9, 2010

Does the trick

Stayed in an Ocean King in mid-November. Great view, as promised. Room was clean with new furnishings and bed was comfortable. Check-in was easy, as was check out. Teplitzky's restaurant is pleasant. The enitre experience was enjoyable and what I expected- you won't be awed by the hotel, but it definitely provides a nice room and good location for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phyrre56
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 16, 2009

A very average stay

The hotel decor is overly modern, but the actual room feels just like any other hotel. It's a dressed up Holiday Inn, but they want to portray a more luxury experience with style over substance. Our toilet was broken when we arrived. Instead of moving us to another room, they insisted on letting maintenance try to fix it. The hotel was not very full. They could have easily moved us instead of making us wait and feeling unsure about where we were staying. (In the end, they fixed it.) The valet was very slow. For a place that only offers valet parking and charges for it, the service needs to be a little quicker. Otherwise, the stay was fine. Staff was friendly. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is right near the Tropicana, if you're interested in gambling. An easy walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
connecticut
Nov 6, 2010

the chelsea

Hotel was nice but room kinda smelled when I came in and refrigerator didt work but room was comfortable. Did not like the fact that i had to have someone else park my car for a charge. Wasn't there long but it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pf changs was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marix
Business
New York
Jun 27, 2014

good location, does not look hotel

it's pretty good location, that's why I made reservation here. there is no casino at this "Motel", so no smoking rooms here. I travel vegas pretty often. at this price point this Motel value is way less than "Hotels" in vegas. would not recommend, but ok for one night staying for gambling at tropicana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

near by Tropicana

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KDW1215
Business
New York, New York
Jul 1, 2014

good place

For this price I cannot complain, however it is obvious this place has taken a dive over the last 3-4 years. The service was slow with everything from valet, to the elevators, to check in being a hassle. However, that being said, for the price we paid I could not be happier with our room size and view. I would stay here again for the price bc the value is too good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to casino so an easy way to save money on room rates in AC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelpets12
Business
Teaneck, NJ
Jul 7, 2014

Ok hotel

The outside was horrific, looked old and ancient, but the inside was surprisingly nice and comfortable. Pool is small. Very nice lounge with library, great dining area with gorgeous view. No casino. Family friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob 46
Business
Richmond, VA
Jul 9, 2014

THE CHELSEA

First off all the "Bayview Luxe Room" had no bay in view at all. Nice view of the giant hotel across from us. When I questioned that, they said that's what they call the "bay view". I guess they could have called it the Eiffel tower" view just as honestly. The room was OK and the bed was good. But save the extra dollars and take a regular "luce" room. Also the "cancellation policy" offered by O*z was an outright sham. A couple of hours later we decided to try to head home a day earlier and tried to cancel. The cancellation fee was greater than the room charge! It was $172 before noon and after, one full day's rental, which was $171.09! July 8, 2014

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top