$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
191 reviews
Great rooms and amazing views

Staying at the Chelsea was a great experience , rooms were clean and stylish and waking up to the... See full review

  • Ralohy
  • Sep 14, 2014
fantastic family getaway

the stuff is excellent and the food are good tge walk to the beach is nice over all is not bad See full review

  • just one
  • Jun 11, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.3517 -74.4476
Area served
Atlantic City.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport - 65 miles.
Area description
Atlantic City.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Utica, NY
Jul 19, 2009

"overpriced and overated"

pictures on orbitz were very misleading. Not sure if you are aware but I could have stayed at a casino (Tropicana, Ceasers)in what they consider a standard room which is equivalent to your tower room which I believe it was you advertise on Orbitz for half of the price of what you charged me. As I visit Atlantic City quite often, I am familiar with the different hotels and casinos. I gave your hotel the chance as it was advertised as new and from the pictures it looked great. As I said very misleading. The casinos offer a bigger room with more comfortable beds than your standard room. The tower room was nice. However, I would never consider staying in one of the standard rooms again for the price that you charge. To me, this was equivalent to a room that I would get at a Motel 6 or Super 8 which I believe should be priced at around $45.00 per night for your standard room. Also, the walkways leading from the boardwalk to your hotel was dark and creepy. The staff was helpful, polite and courteous but I was not at all satisfied with the price of the hotel for what it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
a night away from baby
York, PA
Sep 15, 2013

Room was almost 80 and would not cool down!

We have a baby so were really looking forward to getting away and being able to sleep in for at least one morning but instead we woke up at 7 because our room was 78 , humid and would not cool down! I talked to the lady at the desk and she gave us free parking and late check out but sine I paid almost $200 for the room a was not really happy with this. Just trying to pack up and leave we were sooo hot. We also paid more to get an ocean king room and they gave us a corner room that only had a tiny window looking out onto the ocean. I was not happy! Other then all of that the hotel seemed to be nice and clean. Our room did have a musty smell but I think that was just because it was hot. The people that worked at the Chelsea were very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tifanyr
Newburgh new york
Jul 29, 2014

Okay get away

It was okay I didn't like the the fact that there's no parking you have to pay valet parking in order to be close to hotel . House keeping we're still cleaning 3/4 in the afternoon got off the elevator and saw good trays on floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice that it's on the broad walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Summer sauna
Brooklyn ny
Jul 15, 2014

Room discomfort

Checkin was supposed to be at 4pm however our room was not ready until 5 because they were still cleaning which wasn't bad but a little annoying. What really made the experience negative was the discomfort of the temp in the room. After checking in my sister and I showered and got ready to go to a concert. When we returned the room was 80 degrees so I called the front desk. A maintanence man came did something to the thermostat in the room and said he would be back in 10-15 mins. We waited over an hour then feel asleep waiting for him to return which he never did. About three hours later we awoke again because we were so hot. I called the front desk and they said I should have informed them sooner and they would have switched our room but now there was nothing they could do for us. My sister and I had planned to stay and go swimming at the pool and go to the boardwalk. However because we couldn't even bare to stay in our room any longer we decided to just go back home. I was disappointed that we couldn't stay and that the front desk offered nothing to us. We paid over 300 to spend 4 hours in a room that felt like a sauna. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
once in a lifetime
New York, NY
May 30, 2009

Chelse

The room overall was not bad and very clean. However, the water in the shower was initially brown and it's taken for it quite a while to warm up. The heating thermostat was broken and thus it was pretty cold in the room (despite the early summer). Check in was very fast and the staff nice. It was right around the corner from the Tropicana, which was convenient. I would not come back to the Chelsea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Nov 14, 2009

Guest

We had a nice time at the gym. The spa was not free. Nice bed and room view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY VACATIONERS
New York
Feb 17, 2009

Would not stay there again

When first arriving to the hotel the staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was nice, and the bathroom had a very modern and new look, after arriving we settled in and decided to take a walk to the outlets before our 7:30 dinner reservation...when we got back to the hotel I decided to take a shower and there was no cold water...I nearly burned to death trying to take a shower so I called the front desk to ask what was going on and she said she would send someone up...about 25 minutes passed and no one came so I called again and the first person I spoke to did not inform anyone about my problem, so the second person I spoke to said someone would be right up...about 5 minutes later the plumber finally came up and went into the bathroom and said there was a problem and he was going to have to get his tools to take some things apart...it was like 7:30 by then...so he called the front desk so they could move us to another room but nothing was available according to her...I cant believe that they would'nt have an extra available room just in case something like this happens! Well the plumber ended up coming to the room fixing the water and have us waiting in the room....we were late to our dinner reservation and wasted our time and no one at the hotel even seemed to care...I would not stay here again....and beware of the toilet it is very noisy and you can hear the rooms next to you when they flush... Also Valet Parking is $10 a day, and this is the only parking they have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very close to Tropicana

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jzimmerling
Livermore, CA, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Could have been great

Excellent hotel and location right on the boardwalk and large room with great view, but there were several small things; bad lighting in bathroom, A/C had to be repaired upon arrival, sink was stopped up and no coffeemaker or frig; and one big thing a hotel sponsored DJ party at the pool 17 floors down which shook the windows until 2AM which turned what could have been a great experience into a bad impression..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Reading restaurant two blocks off the boardwalk and about a mile down, fantastic southern cooking, great prices and jazz at night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bronx, NY
Oct 13, 2009

Could have been better

Pros: -The hotel is about a 15 minute walk away from the Atlantic City Convention Cente which is good because that way you don't have to take a taxi that costs $10 or more everytime you want to go some where. - The room was nice and clean and the sheet were soft and warm (the bed had a down comforter on it). -There is a club and a cafe in the hotel. The food at the cafe is descent. The Egg your Way and the Omlets were both very good. CONs: -I stayed on the 7th floor and the club in the hotel is located on the 5th floor and even though I didn't mind, you could hear the music all the way upstairs. -The lady at the concierge desk was rude. Apparently the person who was suppose to relieve her for the night was running late so she was frustrated but you know what I say to that, when you come to work, you check your frustrations at the door. I thought she could have been more cordial. Overall, while the nightly cost to stay at the Chelsea isn't ridiculously expense, I think it could be a little cheaper. I would have preferred to pay $100 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are outlets (very similar to Woodbury Commons) near the Atlantic City Convention Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NEw Jersey
May 26, 2009

Nice Stay

We stayed for a night at this hotel and was pretty good. its right next to the beach.. and very close to many casinos. rooms are still new as it was built in 2008. clean and nice. Staff was friendly.. bathroom is bit small and no bath tub just a shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beach and nearbuy shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search