$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

The Chelsea

4 stars
111 S. Chelsea Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
288 reviews
fantastic family getaway

the stuff is excellent and the food are good tge walk to the beach is nice over all is not bad See full review

  • just one
  • Jun 11, 2014
Excellent

I love every part of it from the moment we got there till we left suer clean smells good so... See full review

  • carmen lace
  • Jun 2, 2014
1940s Atlantic City meets chic, boutique hotel scene, day and night

The first non-gaming hotel to grace the Boardwalk since the 1960s wraps its guests in decor that captures the best of Art Deco, Art Nouveau and cutting-edge design. Fireplace lounges and chill-out bars create a cool boutique experience without the casino clutter. Kick back at the Chelsea's two signature restaurants, a spa and fitness center, two heated saltwater pools or beachside in the Chelsea's seasonal lounge chairs. The rooftop swimming pool is exclusive to Chelsea guests on weekends (and not those in rooms at the Annex next door).

Highlights
  • Glamorous, swanky Atlantic City hotel with direct Boardwalk access to restaurants, casinos, and shopping
  • Two pools and complimentary fitness center
  • 10,000-square-foot Sea Spa offers saltwater-inspired massage and body treatments
  • An intimate nightlife scene in atmospheric indoor and outdoor spaces with DJs, fireplaces and signature cocktails
Rooms

Eight tiers of rooms and suites in the 20-story Chelsea Luxe Tower start with an iPod docking station, flat-screen TV with On-Demand service, bathrobes, work desk and free Wi-Fi in every room. Upgrade from a city to a water view for invigorating scenery. An ocean-view sunroom and custom mini bar set a posh scene in the Chelsea Penthouse Suites. Teplitzky's classic diner downstairs provides room service.

Features

Guests at The Chelsea wake with the sun and hit the beach. Attendants bring towels and lounge chairs, and set up a sun umbrella. Workout-minded guests appreciate the weights, treadmills, cycles and stair climbers in the fitness center, along with towels and chilled water. Power shoppers enjoy a full-day of shopping at The Quarter at Tropicana streetscape. Secure valet parking available (fees apply).

Dining on the 5th offers continental cuisine and signature cocktails accompanied by live music from DJs. The bar is open during Fridays and Saturdays.

Dining

Sink into 1940s supper club ambiance at Dining on the 5th and cocktail lounge, where live entertainment twinkles from a white grand piano. Teplitzky's retro diner serves hearty comfort-food favorites for breakfast and lunch.

Nightlife

The fifth floor of The Chelsea is a self-contained destination for Atlantic City entertainment and nightlife, spilling right out to the pool. Sip champagne and cocktails to a DJ beat in the Living Room with an expansive outdoor terrace. Savvy diners reserve a Hollywood-style booth for dinner with a 1940s Atlantic City feel at Dining on the 5th. At The Chelsea's sophisticated C5, dance til dawn with a cocktail menu and bottle service. The Cabana Club lights up with a seasonal scene around the pool. Excitement along the Boardwalk lies right out the front door.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport  (12 mi/ 19 km))
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Quarter at the Tropicana (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (1 mi / 1.6 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (1.3 mi / 2.1 mi)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (1.4 mi / 2.3 km)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (2.2 mi / 3.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with Internet workstations and printing services (fees apply)
  • Reserve The Crystal Room, a 4,400-square-foot indoor banquet room with shining, tiered crystal chandeliers
  • Meeting rooms and outdoor pool available for private events
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Chelsea Prime Steakhouse will be closed for the winter season.
  • Parking fee is $15 USD plus tax.
  • Guests should be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.3517 -74.4476
Area served
Atlantic City.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport - 65 miles.
Area description
Atlantic City.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Chelsea Rooms

Chelsea Luxe - Luxe King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. City view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Bay View King
One king bed. Located on the Luxe Tower. Partial water views. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.
Chelsea Luxe - Ocean King
One king bed. Located in the Luxe Tower. Unobstructed ocean view. Desk. 37-inch flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless Internet access. iPod docking station. Clock radio. Minibar. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 0.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 0.2 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 0.9 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.9 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 2.1 mi

Dining

Teplitzky's
Diner-style venue with a cocktail lounge and coffee shop with original redwood walls, terrazzo floors, and cantilevered stools.
Cabana Club
Poolside open-air nightclub, featuring live DJs, landscaping, and an island bar shaded by a 25-foot umbrella. Cabanas include plasma TVs and minibars. Serving wine, champagne, and cocktails.
Dining on the 5th
LIVE IT UP THIS SUMMER as the Chelsea reopens its 5th Floor, an upscale dining and high energy lounge experience that features creative continental cuisine, signature cocktails and the sounds of the hottest DJs. Take it all in on the comfortable lounge seating, private cabanas and cozy bottle service platforms. For a more intimate conversation, visit the famed, snake skin Oval Bar for that private "VIP club within a club" feeling. Open Fridays and Saturdays 5pm - 10pm
C5
Nightclub, with a classic cocktail lounge look. Nightly DJs. Menu features house cocktails and bottle service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (288)

Ratings and reviews for The Chelsea

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luxorious stay
New Jersey
Oct 22, 2009

all i could say was WOW!

This trip was booked for my birthday at an amazing price of this website! Considering it listed as a 4star hotel i couldnt believe it! i would of thought of it as a 5star hotel no doubts about it! the decor and cleanliness of the hotel alone was fabolous! My shower could of fit 5 people the bed was huge and so comfortable me and my boyfriend didnt want to get up to check out in the morning! the view from our room was right in front of the ocean which we loved when we saw the sunrise at 6am! i would def. recomended and stay at the chelsea again anytime! Also it was located 1 block away from the tropicana but it was right on the boardwalk which made it perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arkport
Oct 12, 2008

Awesome service - Top notch

The atmosphere, staff, and area where the best. They made us feel like celebraties and the staff was so accomodating. It was a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several clubs that you can go to - right next door in the tropicana to our favorite that is a longer walk down the boardwalk.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AC HOPPERS
The Hamptons, NY
Feb 28, 2011

The Chelsea Hotel- WOW!

This place is perfect for couples that want to experience AC without all of the middle American tourists bumping into you and depressing you with their gambling habits! The hotel is so chic, almost retro- a-la- mad men. Rooms are funky, so well designed, NOT expensive, and the staff could NOT have been nicer! We can't wait to go back in the summer when we can sip mojitos by the pool or saunter right onto the boardwalk and beach. Who ever conceptualized this unique creation amidst the tacky Trump world of AC accommodations was simply brilliant. Thank you!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

FUN nightclub, not too crowded, right upstairs!

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daddy Daugther Weekend
New York, NY
Nov 21, 2010

Great quick get away from the city

- We were in AC for a concert - Had a great time, the room was clean and the bed was cozy - The diner was perfect for both kids and parents -- good food and a fun atmosphere, fun and friendly people - We didn't swim because it was a little cold, but the pool looked nice - I was surpsised that overnight valet parking was only $10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse, NY
Nov 15, 2010

One Nighters

Went out gambling and drinking, just looking for a good time. Parking and check in were a breeze the front desk was extremely competent, there was a diner on site for the morning. We will stay here again. Right next to the trop but the other casinos are a $10 cab ride away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Diner, waitresses were dresses like a 60's soda shop....really cool

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 30, 2010

Very satisfied

Overall a great hotel. I wasn't looking for fine dining, or any other amenities, only a nice room and proximity to the boardwalk. And in that respect, the hotel was very good. A leisurely 10 minute walk to Trump Plaza for some slots. For the Taj Mahal or Showboat, you can take a short ride on the Jitney, which runs very often, or a cab. Otherwise a 25 minute walk, and I didn't really feel unsafe, even walking down Pacific St. at 1AM. Parking at the Taj is only $5 so driving is also easy. The room was clean, warm, and had good atmosphere. The wallpaper and color choices worked for me. Very cozy yet elegant. There was an ironing board and iron in the closet, which was great for those crumpled up shirts. The entire staff was friendly and helpful, and I had no issues at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 25, 2008

Boutique Hotel

I can't say enough good things about this hotel! It was so nice to have a super-super-comfy hotel that's all non-smoking be so close to all the local attractions - yet peaceful. A non-gaming hotel was exactly what I was looking for, since the goal of my trip was rest and relaxation. The bed was cloud-like, the bathroom amenities were fabulous, and the hotel staff was superb all around. Free bikes for a morning boardwalk ride was the cherry on top! A few things to note, though. There's no self-parking here, and the valet prices go up on the weekend. The toilet and shower head didn't really operate at optimum levels (had only luke warm water for my Saturday morning shower), and a phone charger left behind was lost forever. With that said, I'd still stay again without hesitation, and once the hotel facilities (gym, spa, etc.). Did I mention how great the staff was?? Kudos on the customer service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining at the hotel was great, but a bit pricey. The Tropicana, next door, has a few more options.

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jorgecruza
Atlantic city nj
Dec 9, 2010

Great location good service

Its a Great place to relax and enjoy with somebody special

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything

Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robbin the Best sister in the World
West Haven, CT
May 17, 2009

I will be back for sure

Speedy valet. Easy check-in. Rooms upgrated without asking. Helpful bell person who gave us useful info. No annoying check-out papers at the dooor in the room. All staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
glenolden pa
Jun 30, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

the staff is very proffessional and they have answers for any question you ask. the location is perfect for anything you desire to do, the outlet stores are close enough to walk too and casinoes also, the ocean is right there with service on the beach, chairs, towels, anything you need, i recomend this hotel to my family and friend with or without children, we enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

every thing you want is there at the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top